Spam prevention
Rainmaker
302,229
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

Absa-friggin-lutely!!!! Even with brand new construction, I have my buyers get a home inspection. There is never an excuse not to get a home inspection.

Apr 01, 2015 11:17 AM
Ambassador
4,297,809
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Yes, Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - you never know what else is discovered at the home inspection. It's better to carry out a home inspection, new home or home with warranties.

Apr 01, 2015 11:17 AM
Rainmaker
4,796,309
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Yes.

Aug 11, 2018 06:36 AM
Rainmaker
629,057
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

Yes.

Mar 27, 2018 09:33 PM
Ambassador
2,188,589
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

We don't have condos in my area, and I always recommend a home inspection 

Apr 03, 2015 04:20 PM
Rainer
369,411
Keith Lawrence
RE/MAX Properties - Mahwah, NJ
ABR, CDPE, SFR, 203K Specialist

It is the buyers choice what they want to do and I have had this situation.  I personally do not see the need for a home inspection for Condos with a home warranty.  However the warranty is only for a year.  If, it expires and the hot water heater goes then you may have an issue since you recommend no home inspection.

 

I let they buyer decided the need for a home inspection and do not give my opionion since it can always come back to bit you.

 

Apr 01, 2015 11:53 PM
Rainmaker
191,931
Temple Callahan
Connect Real Estate - REALTOR / BROKER - Ventura, CA
Search Ventura County Homes For Sale CA

Hi Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - great question.  Yes I do.  I think it's good business, to recommend the buyer find out all they can up front about the property.  This way - for risk management purposes - we might avoid any future lawsuits where the buyer's accuse us of negligence.  Also, what's the harm in getting a home inspection even if everything seems good?  The buyers can always decide not to do it, but at least then you've made the recommendation to them.. :-)  

 

Apr 01, 2015 11:35 PM
Rainmaker
256,286
Susan Jackson
America's Network Realty Group, Inc - Sandy Springs, GA

Yes, always a Home Inspection.  New construction or old, a home inpsection is necessary.  New construction: an inspection prior to the walls going in would be great.

Apr 01, 2015 11:29 PM
Rainmaker
333,523
Brenda J. Andrew
ULTIMA REAL ESTATE - Corpus Christi, TX
Professional Realtor in Corpus Christi, TX

I always recommend a home inspection.  When I purchased a new construction loan prior to being a realtor, we did not have a home inspection.  The realtor did not recommend it.  I later found out all kinds of things that were wrong with the house.  I hate for someone to find out something after they move that could have been found prior to - it is for the buyers protection as well as my own.

Apr 01, 2015 11:05 PM
Ambassador
1,487,722
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

Yes... Yes...Yes... Always highly suggest a home inspection. 

Apr 01, 2015 10:21 PM
Rainmaker
2,923,951
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

A big YES.  A warranty does not cover everything and most have deductibles, a buyer should know first hand the condition of the property before buying it,. 

Apr 01, 2015 10:21 PM
Rainmaker
976,217
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

They're always recommended Wanda Kubat-Nerdin. They establish a baseline for the new owner that can alleviate misunderstandings when the realities of home ownership and mechanical or structural issues rear their head. It pays to be informed! 

Apr 01, 2015 09:43 PM
Rainmaker
2,934,043
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Absolutely, Wanda. There are lots of things home warranty plans do not cover and some don't cover certain things if there was no inspection. I have been on the receiving end of some really surprising inspection results and feel that an inspection is "cheap" insurance for a home buyer.

Apr 01, 2015 09:15 PM
Rainmaker
724,374
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Home inspection is probably best money a buyer can spend.

Apr 01, 2015 09:00 PM
Rainmaker
315,431
Robert Smith
Preview Properties, PC - http://www.RealEstateMich.com - Brighton, MI
SRES, Search for Homes Brighton-Howell-SE Michigan

I tell my clients that an inspection is the cheapest 'insurance' they will ever buy.

Apr 01, 2015 08:09 PM
Rainmaker
3,210,712
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Yes.

YES

Apr 01, 2015 07:26 PM
Rainmaker
1,675,236
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

Yes,  Even though you have car insurance, it's always good to have a mechanic lokk over the used car your about to buy.  The home is no different.  It starts the homeowners off right, knowing that everything has been checked.

Apr 01, 2015 01:24 PM