Spam prevention
Rainmaker
605,070
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

Only if you are actually representing the buyer...not just using the label of buyers agent, like many of the responses show.

The best interest of the homebuyer is never served if the agent does not stay.

Lets not miss the point...

Buyer agents don't need to attend inspections in order to keep the buyer busy or just let the inspector in.

They need be there to clearly understand WHAT THE ISSUES ARE so that they can speak intelligentally when asking for repairs or re-negotiating the contract.

There is NO liability in being there but there is always liability if you claim to represent the buyer and then disappear. 

Try taking that to court.  "But your honor, I was too busy...I did not want to get in the way...I am not an inspector...I did not want to be accused of influencing the inspector...OMG! 

Excuses, excuses, excuses.  Buyer agents need to start doing their jobs!

Eve

Apr 13, 2015 02:44 AM
Rainmaker
1,624,272
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

At every inspection, you bet. We as agents are representing the best interests of our clients at all times.

Apr 13, 2015 01:23 AM
Rainmaker
379,489
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

I think buyer's agents should indeed be present for inspections. They are an important part of the discovery process about the home.

Apr 13, 2015 12:35 AM
Rainmaker
832,098
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

The buyers agent and buyer should be there, and many inspectors prefer that the buyer be there so he can explain his findings. All first time buyers should attend home inspections. It's a great way to learn about the working of their soon to be new house.

Apr 12, 2015 10:44 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,483
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I am always present at the home inspection. I am sure home owners would not like the buyers there with just the inspector.

Apr 12, 2015 10:10 PM
Ambassador
947,717
Frank Rubi
Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC - Metairie, LA
FrankRubiRealEstate.com

I will only attend if I representing the buyer. 

Apr 13, 2015 11:50 AM
Rainer
12,441
Holly Biltz
Charles Rutenberg Realty - Saint Cloud, FL
I sell the dream of Home Ownership!

Absolutley I always attend my buyers inspections

Apr 13, 2015 03:45 AM
Rainmaker
291,029
Kathleen Lordbock
Keller Williams Realty Professionals - Baxter, MN
Keller Williams Realty Professionals

The Home Inspectors in our area schedule their own inspection appointments and have an EKey. They do their inspection ( which takes 3-4 hours) and then the Buyer comes for 1/2 an hour or so and the Inspector takes them around the home going through their report. We all get an detailed email report with photos. I do not attend the inspections- the buyer and I already went through the home and I pointed out items that could be a potential problem, in my opinion.

This is their time with an Expect that they are paying for. If they needed me to be there because they can not or want an interpreter, I am happy to oblige.

Some of you mentioned hanging aroung in the kitchen while the inspection is happening. You must have much shorter inspections.

Apr 13, 2015 03:25 AM
Rainmaker
90,443
Debra Peters
Referral Realty - Manorville, NY
NY Real Estate Salesperson

In my opinion, yes.  Whether or not you are working for the buyer or seller, you are getting paid to represent them. There is no need to be at the inspector's heels throughouth the inspection, but if an issue arises, I don't think it hurts to have an extra set of eyes and ears. Why woulsn't you want to know beforehand if there might be a problem?  I don't like the element of surprise. 

Apr 12, 2015 11:40 PM
Rainmaker
175,464
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

Here in AZ, yes.  We need to let them in and we can't allow accesss to the listing if we are not there.  I attend them all, helps to write the BINSR if I am there with the buyer, see first hand what needs to be repaired/replaced.

Apr 12, 2015 11:40 PM
Ambassador
1,565,445
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

I drop in but don't normally stay.  The inspector has a job to do and doesn't need me in the way.  IF my client goes (I encourage this) and stays then I stay.

Apr 12, 2015 10:50 PM
Rainmaker
3,531,338
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Never been there.  I don't want anyone saying I tried to influence the inspector.  

Apr 12, 2015 10:10 PM
Rainmaker
3,333,274
Sally K. & David L. Hanson
EXP Realty 414-525-0563 - Brookfield, WI
WI Real Estate Agents - Luxury - Divorce

Yes...we require it..how else could you amend a contract for issues found that may require replacement or repair ?

Apr 15, 2015 10:15 PM
Rainmaker
1,730,350
Rob Thomas
Prestige Homes of The Tri Cities, Inc. CALL....423-341-6954 - Bristol, TN
Bristol TN-VA & Tri Cities Agent, ABR, GRI, e-Pro

I personally think you should never attend a home inspection ....you never want to be seen as trying to influence the inspector ...It should be between the buyer and the inspector ....you should get involved after the fact.

Apr 14, 2015 11:20 AM
Rainmaker
1,562,074
Carla Muss-Jacobs, RETIRED
RETIRED / State License is Inactive - Portland, OR

I may not be there for the duration -- especially if it's a vacant home.  I am there the entirety if my client is present however.

Apr 13, 2015 08:10 AM
Rainer
66,214
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

I feel very differently about going to the home inspection!  I have gone to home inspections with my buyers for the last 25 years.  I have started not going because this is the time for the buyer to interact with the inspection.  I noticed they really ask more questions of the home inspector when I am not there. As I have heard from the home inspector after the appointment.   

Apr 13, 2015 03:44 AM
Rainmaker
3,959,325
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Adrian -- I do.

I also attend at least a part if not the entire inspection of my listings.  I am there to protect my sellers interests.  

Apr 13, 2015 03:10 AM
Rainmaker
869,251
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

The reasons are limitless and profound. So, I'll go with the less obvious,

"To tell war stories to the buyer so the inspector can go about their work."

Apr 12, 2015 10:16 PM
Rainmaker
1,445,027
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Adrian Colon I've attended all home inspections and stayed in the kitchen with the buyers until the inspection was over. Could have liability issues following the inspector around.

Apr 12, 2015 10:15 PM
Rainmaker
4,799,356
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Not necessarily.  Depends on the circumstances.

Sep 24, 2018 05:57 AM
Rainmaker
629,951
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

Not necessary.

Apr 16, 2018 10:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,069,684
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Mike & Eve nailed this one!

Sep 13, 2017 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
509,529
Michele Connors
The Overton Group, LLC Pitt & Carteret County - Greenville, NC
Your Eastern North Carolina Realtor

i agree with Mike and Eve... the buyer agent needs to attend on behalf of understanding any findings and to also protect the security of sellers home if it is furnished etc... If it is a vacant home, I typically bring a few tailgate chairs to sit and stay out of the way but be avail should I be needed. SOme buyers prefer to follow inspector around others want to simply be there to make sure nothing substantial standing in way of getting to closing. 

Apr 22, 2015 11:44 PM
Rainer
318,460
Mihir Gandhi
First Team Real Estate - Placentia, CA
Real Estate in Placentia - North O.C. CA

As a buyers's agent I am always there to know first-hand what the findings are and based on which I prepare the RR

Apr 22, 2015 02:10 AM
Rainmaker
183,405
James (Jim) Lawson, DBA
DomainRealty.com LLC - Bonita Springs, FL
Broker Associate, RSPS, BPOR, HI & PE

As an HI I don't want the inspection to turn into a tutorial about every item inspected. I would never get done. Let me do my work and provide an onsite wrapup of the critical issues found. Also, I prefer the principals to the transactions to be be there along with their agents. This way I can help clear up any miscommunication and avoid an excessive number of follow-up telephone calls or emails.

As a buyer or listing agent I want to be there to clearly understand any issues that impact the contract and the transaction process. I also do my best to have my client(s) attend the inspection.

BTW-I don't do HIs for any deals my agency is involved in for obvious reasons.

Apr 21, 2015 02:33 PM
Rainmaker
359,272
Debra B Albert, PA - Keyes Realty
Keyes Realty Treasure Coast, 34986 - Port St Lucie, FL
Ron and Debbie 772.708.3292

I can not speak for every realtor, but I can say Ron and I attend our inspections before close every time.  Often the buyer can not be present and we feel we know more when we see more.  If we are there, there are no questions we can not answer truthfully and completely when a buyer/seller has a question on the report.  To us, it is a matter of giving the best service to our clients.

Apr 21, 2015 12:13 AM
Rainer
21,445
Leslie Campos
Tierra Antigua Realty - Safford, AZ
The Only CRS in Graham County

I have a material interest in making sure the deal happens so to remove that cloud I rarely go. If I am there, I only participate the extent to be sure that the inspector is doing his or her job. If I don't understand elements of the report that are important regarding the home's condition or the inspection uncovers something I didn't already see, I will return with the report to review the property before advising the buyers. 

Apr 20, 2015 04:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,965,319
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

This is a frequent question.  Buyer agent should be there  to understand what is going on in the inspection and be able to advocate for the buyers later

Apr 19, 2015 03:17 AM
Ambassador
1,444,801
Richard Iarossi
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Crofton, MD
Crofton MD Real Estate, Annapolis MD Real Estate

I do attend when I'm representing a buyer, but not generally when representing a seller.

Apr 19, 2015 03:06 AM
Ambassador
1,705,766
Tammie White, Broker
Franklin Homes Realty LLC - Franklin, TN
Franklin TN Homes for Sale

We aren't present for the entire inspection but we do make an appearance with our client the last hour. When the inspector is finished, he can then go over his findings while we're there. An official report follows but it's always good to get the inspector's assessment while on site.

Apr 18, 2015 02:45 PM
Rainer
50,104
James Hoff
Century 21 Award - Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Real Agents Work

I always attend the home inspection, even if I am representing the seller. Why you ask?

If I represent the buyers, I like to be there to do my visual inspection and usually the selling side opens the door for the inspector anyway. It's good to point out the things that concern you as the agent and ask the inspector questions as well. Sometimes it's nice to put a buyer's mind at ease because they may make a big deal out of something that isn't one and you can simply take control by asking the inspector "is this a common find on home inspections" or "would you say this is 'out of the norm'" ... the summary is important and you can help your EMOTIONAL buyer determine what they should REALLY be fighting for on the request for repairs (if anything) so they don't start a battle that they will never win.

If you represent the sellers: First, in California, both agents are required to do an Agent Visual Inspection Disclosure (AVID) and it has to be done at some point, so why not while everyone else is there anyway? I like to be present to be an ear for the seller. I usually stay out of everyone's way and do some work on my laptop while I am there if I finish my visual inspection before everyone else is done. But I ALWAYS make sure the seller has some representation from me or my team with the inspectors go over their inspection summary. Again, same as the selling agent, you want to know what the inspector says is "normal" or "common" so when the buyers and their agent comes asking for a bunch of stuff, you are prepared to respond appropriately. It's not about liability or being an inspector ... but we had a buyer that asked for a valve to be replaced on the water line to the refrigerator and thank goodness I was there because HE was the one that broke the crazy thing to begin with so we said "no way" ... the home inspector put it on the report ... as he had to but the buyer was the one that physically broke it and you'll never see that on the inspection report. PROTECT your sellers too and be present.

Last, it's nice for you to be able to report back to the sellers how the actual inspection went at the end so if you can't be there for the whole thing ... show up for the last 15 minutes and listen to the summary.

Real Estate is a JOB not a vacation ... I think it's okay if an agent actually "shows up" to get paid ...

Apr 17, 2015 06:38 AM
Rainer
242,137
Richard Robibero, e-Pro, ABR, SRS
Panorama R.E. Limited - Toronto, ON
Selling Your Home as if it were My Own!

I like Mike & Eve Alexander 's answer. Couldn't have said it better my self.

Apr 15, 2015 10:14 PM
Rainmaker
48,636
Shuchi Agrawal
Kanam Realty Group/Kanam Commercial - Flower Mound, TX
Serving Dallas / Ft. Worth

I try to attend almost all - generally learn something new I didn't know... also helps me understand all the issues related to a house, what's significant and what's not so I can better negotiate repairs.  Great question, Adrian Colon.

Apr 15, 2015 01:57 PM
Rainmaker
1,144,182
David Shamansky
US Mortgages - David Shamansky - Highlands Ranch, CO
Creative, Aggressive & 560 FICO - OK, Colorado Mtg

I guess I am lost on this... Why wouldnt the BUYER be there to be with the inspector and review the property themselves?

Apr 15, 2015 02:58 AM
Ambassador
4,494,582
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I always attend my buyers' inspections, plus I have to do my own visual inspection required here in CA. Buyers are usually there to hear the summary of issues and walk around with inspector to ask questions.

Apr 15, 2015 02:45 AM
Rainer
214,335
Marla Yost
Marla Yost Team- Keller Williams Realty - Arlington, TX
The Marla Yost Team

I go toward the end of it so I can hear what the inspector has to say.

Apr 15, 2015 02:06 AM
Ambassador
2,058,377
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

I always get there at the beginning and I am there at the end to talk to the inspector about the findings and if necessary, have him/her show me the problem areas.  Whether I stay for the duration of the inspection depends on whether the house is vacant or occupied or whether the buyer is attending or not.  

Apr 14, 2015 09:24 PM
Rainmaker
513,596
Marie Story
Coldwell Banker - Pinecrest (Miami) - Pinecrest, FL
Broker Associate, Pinecrest (Miami) Specialist

Whether I'm working with a Buyer or a Seller - I'm there.

Apr 14, 2015 11:10 AM
Ambassador
2,224,067
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

In my area we feel there is too much liability for the buyer's agent to be there during the inspection. 

Apr 13, 2015 02:47 PM
Ambassador
4,312,167
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Adrian Colon - for my buyers, yes, I do.

However, I do not follow them with inspector. I ask for summary of concerns at the end of the inspection and sure enough look at what's wrong and how that can be fixed so we can check with the sellers later on.

Apr 13, 2015 01:16 PM
Rainmaker
262,086
Lynn Afton
Greenridge Realty Oakmont - Big Rapids, MI
REALTOR® Near Big Rapids, MI, Mecosta County

Seeing firsthand what the inspector is reporting on is very important, so you can discuss it with your client.

Apr 13, 2015 08:18 AM
Rainmaker
5,570,682
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

the listing agent should be there to make sure he/she has first hand info of the issues.... the buyer's agent should be there because it's his/her job....

Apr 13, 2015 06:15 AM
Ambassador
3,986,518
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

What about representing the seller? Agents need to do what their clients want and many of my agents do not want to attend and want to deal direct with the home inspector. 

Apr 13, 2015 03:57 AM