Adrian Colon (Zap Home Inspections,LLC)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,491,665
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

It's nice when an inspector can access a vacant home.  I'm meeting one Friday to let him in.  Makes for a 60 mile round trip for me. 

Apr 14, 2015 10:59 PM
Rainmaker
3,245,605
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Hi Adrian -- I meet the inspector, the appraiser and anyone beyond an agent who has electronic access who needs entry to a property.  

Apr 14, 2015 10:44 PM
Rainer
508,770
S. Leanne Paynter ☼ Broward County, FL
United Realty Group, Inc. - Davie, FL
Davie, Plantation, Cooper City & Weston Specialist

I know some inspection companies don't have an electronic key but it usually doesn't matter much because my policy is to attend the inspection.  If the inspector gets there early, they usually start by inspecting what they can on the outside of the property.

Apr 14, 2015 10:24 PM
Rainmaker
2,831,063
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Very few inspectors around here do not have the key.  I have had to let in around 2-3 inspectors in my time as an agent. 

Apr 14, 2015 09:11 PM
Rainmaker
2,980,513
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Here in Charlotte, to top inspection companies all belong to the mls and have supra key access to properties. When I select inspectors, having supra key access is one of the criteria I use to select them.

Apr 14, 2015 09:01 PM
Rainmaker
4,796,551
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Many inspectors in my area have joined the local board of Realtors and have an electronic key.

Oct 01, 2018 07:47 AM
Rainmaker
629,063
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

Yes.

Apr 19, 2018 10:35 PM
Rainmaker
3,049,971
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Here it is part of the tools

Sep 17, 2017 06:10 AM
Rainmaker
3,977,717
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Well, I know the inspectors in my area have the key.  If they do't they may get passed over .

Apr 15, 2015 07:48 AM
Rainmaker
730,520
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

A one day code can be used, or what i usually do it put a combo lock on for inspectors and contractors to use.

Apr 15, 2015 12:59 AM
Rainmaker
175,264
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

Course.  It is my responsibility to be there anytime we expect someone to be at the property, and lock up when they are done.  

Apr 14, 2015 11:50 PM
Rainmaker
744,672
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Not every real estate professional is a REALTOR and will not have a electronic key also. These agents would not be called your 'main stream' agents. They are cowboys doing their own thing.

Why should those who DO pay be required to accommodate those who choose not to be members, to not pay, to keep the fees we pay in their pocket?  Nice gig, but at some point the free loader will be required to pay.

You choose the situation, you kept the fees in your pocket, now you need to live with the results.

Some REALTORS NEVER attend an inspection or appraisal or even a showing. Yet you want special treatment. Sorry Adrian, you need to own the situation you choose to create. Pay the fee, like the rest of us, and things balance out better. Otherwise you may be REQUIRED to meet the agents schedule.

PS: When you do get that electronic key, don't even think of doing that inspection without scheduling with the listing agent.

PS2: Licensed agents also could choose not to join the MLS and not pay for the eKey, but making a living would be much different and often more difficult. An agent without a Key would be in the same boat you are in. They can't get in.  Pay the fee, but schedule the inspection with the listing agent.

Apr 14, 2015 09:22 PM