Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,739,733
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Like others -- no way!    He can make suggestions on what to repair/replace, but think it should be up to the buyer to get the exact cost.

Apr 15, 2015 11:47 AM
Rainmaker
967,303
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

The answer is NO on both accounts. If the buyer wants a cost estimate then they should get one from a qualified contractor. Opinions are like ........ everyone has one. Opinions are not qualified judgements

Apr 15, 2015 08:37 PM
Ambassador
2,759,387
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 No! I did not give an estimated cost of repairs nor do I give a personal opinion.

Apr 15, 2015 08:07 PM
Rainmaker
1,080,497
Sharon Parisi
United Real Estate Dallas - Dallas, TX
Dallas Homes

No to both questions.  They should not lead the buyer. 

Apr 15, 2015 03:16 PM
Rainer
215,563
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL
Your Real Estate Partner

If we could only use duct tape on their mouths sometimes!  I do not have a problem if they give them a ballpark range, but as long as it is reasonable.  As to their personal opinion, most inspectors would withhold that unless they find nothing wrong on the property.  Most usually keep a tight lip on things, but every once in a while you get a thorn in your side. 

Apr 15, 2015 03:04 PM
Ambassador
4,312,167
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Adrian Colon - one word answers is 'NO'!

And in short - it's none of their business to give the opinion on whether the buyer should buy or not - unless there is a special relationship with the buyers - and if so, it will be personal - and not professional.

Apr 15, 2015 12:21 PM
Ambassador
3,986,518
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

No way. If he is wrong then he has misled the buyer or seller. He is there to inspect and not to do repairs or have opinions on whether the house is a good deal for the buyer or not.

Apr 15, 2015 11:45 AM
Rainmaker
379,589
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

No to both questions!

Apr 15, 2015 11:40 AM
Rainmaker
3,297,674
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Absolutely NO WAY. Stick toi the facts and leave estimates to the professional in that field that actually does repair or replace it

Apr 15, 2015 10:18 PM
Rainer
242,237
Richard Robibero, e-Pro, ABR, SRS
Panorama R.E. Limited - Toronto, ON
Selling Your Home as if it were My Own!

Is this a trick question? The answer seems too obvious.

Apr 15, 2015 09:59 PM
Rainmaker
3,532,333
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

No as Jack Webb would say "Just the facts".  otherwise it is none of his/her business

Apr 15, 2015 09:08 PM
Ambassador
1,565,545
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

NO! NO!

Apr 15, 2015 08:56 PM
Rainmaker
3,911,008
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

No, he/she should not! It's up to buyer and seller to get their quotes. I've seen inspectors who do this come up with extremely wacky numbers!

Apr 15, 2015 08:45 PM
Ambassador
3,021,427
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I have no problem with an estimate of cost from a qualified inspector.  A quote for repairs however from an inspector would get them on my "do not use" list with a quickness.

Apr 15, 2015 02:35 PM
Rainmaker
1,683,050
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

If a buyer is paying for an inspection, it is important that he gets his money's worth.  That includes his opinions and maybe some recommendtions along the way.  Informtion doesn't hurt snybody.  I call it education.

Apr 15, 2015 01:40 PM
Ambassador
2,224,067
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I don't believe the home inspection should be giving out information on costs of repairs. That's not the point of a home inspection, and unless the inspector is an expert in area that needs repairs...what good is the information. 

Apr 15, 2015 12:07 PM
Rainmaker
4,799,356
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

No

Oct 04, 2018 06:43 AM
Rainmaker
629,951
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

No.

Apr 20, 2018 09:41 PM
Rainmaker
3,069,684
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Doug nailed this one.

Sep 18, 2017 06:11 AM
Ambassador
2,794,938
Ed Silva
Mapleridge Realty, CT 203-206-0754 - Waterbury, CT
Central CT Real Estate Broker Serving all equally

Only of that have good insurance coverage.  That is well beyond their responsibilities as well as ours

Apr 16, 2015 12:35 PM
Rainer
26,764
Beatrice Briseno
RE/MAX Unlimited - San Antonio, TX
Beatrice M. Briseno, GRI, CDPE, San Antonio, TX

NO!! Their job is to inspect and produce the report. 

Apr 16, 2015 05:58 AM
Rainer
66,214
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

One of my inspector does give cost on some repairs.  Buyer really like he does give price on repairs.  He does not give his personal opinion on the home.  

Apr 16, 2015 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
1,445,127
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Adrian Colon No, I think the inspector's job is to make the buyer aware of potential repairs and have them get costs from a contractor. Your personal opinion is just that an opinion and should be kept to your self.

Apr 15, 2015 11:27 PM
Rainmaker
140,518
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

I guess I'm an outlier.  The inspectors I usually recommend have done a good job calming buyer's fears about issues and have actually saved a couple of transactions from falling apart.  Inspection reports can scare the pants off buyers.  I always recommend a second opinion about concerns, but at least the buyers don't go into it in a panic.

Apr 15, 2015 11:14 PM
Rainer
442,794
Raul Rodriguez
Covenant Partners Realty - San Antonio, TX
Looking out for the client's interest and not my p

I once had an inspector ask me why I would buy a dump like this, I replied that I was the agent, not the buyer. Hadn't even been introduced yet and making comments like that! Buyer bought it and has been very pleased.

Apr 15, 2015 10:42 PM
Rainmaker
1,707,347
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

That is required in Oklahoma to give estimates. However it comes with restrictions especially on structural unless they are engineers.

Apr 15, 2015 10:25 PM
Rainmaker
869,401
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Absolutely!

Then when they find they can't get access to other homes after giving opinion and repair costs, the Ghost of Christmas Past may advise him/her accordingly.

Repentance, however, that will not remove that inspector from the prohibited list. Why? Because home sellers will not want rogue elements in their house.

Providing opinion and estimates should get you out of the business quickly. Does HOMETEAM still do this? 

Apr 15, 2015 10:24 PM
Rainmaker
364,161
Joshua Frederick
Home Inspector for ASPEC Residential Services, LLC - Defiance, OH
Home Inspector in Defiance & all of Northwest Ohio

 The estimates is a no-brainer.  

As far as opinions, should Inspectors just be robots then? No professional opinion?  So every crack in building materials, every condition, etc. etc. is a defect that needs a fixin'? All defects should have the same amount of significance then, no major, minor, or in-between?  So would the agents and buyers then decide what's significant or not so significant in their opinions?

Apr 15, 2015 09:59 PM