Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,491,665
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

In our area normally the seller pays for all inspections.  Some charge for a re-inspection charge others don't.

Apr 22, 2015 11:37 PM
Rainmaker
4,874,282
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

the home inspector should charge something for the second inspection of the area that was corrected....

Apr 22, 2015 10:33 PM
Rainmaker
2,944,028
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

Often there is a charge for the appraiser to go back and check. 

Apr 22, 2015 10:19 PM
Rainmaker
4,796,551
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

There is in my area.

Oct 20, 2018 06:28 AM
Rainmaker
629,063
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

I don't think so.

Apr 28, 2018 06:49 PM
Ambassador
2,758,460
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

Yes! Our time is valuable too. There is windshield time that many do not take into account.

Apr 23, 2015 09:37 AM
Rainmaker
526,059
Mike & Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

No true professional works for free...I would never expect the inspector to re-inspect for free, unless they make that offer.

Eve

Apr 23, 2015 02:55 AM
Ambassador
907,360
Frank Rubi
Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC - Metairie, LA
FrankRubiRealEstate.com

I would think a fee is require. In our Market the Buyer is responsible for all inspection fees. 

Apr 23, 2015 02:22 AM
Rainer
187,425
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL

The Buyer is responsible for a reinspection, if necessary.  However, you should make sure you get documentation from the Seller, showing the issue was addressed. Most inspectors would return at a reduced fee, since it is a quick in and out check on the home.  OR, if it is a small issue (i.e., hole in wall to wiring), Buyer can easily look at issue and see it has been repaired, and there is no need for a 2nd inspection by licensed inspector.   I guess it depends upon the issue.  Many times an inspector will tell you the problem and show you what to look for, shoudl Seller repair. 

Apr 23, 2015 02:09 AM
Rainmaker
773,200
Bruce Walter
Keller Williams Realty Lafayette/West Lafayette, Indiana - West Lafayette, IN

In our area most home inspectors charge a fee to come back out and re-inspect repairs made by the seller.  This is a cost borne by the buyer as it is their independent inspector representing buyer's interests.

Apr 22, 2015 11:48 PM
Rainmaker
111,294
Jeanne Feenick
NextHome Premier - Basking Ridge, NJ
Basking Ridge, Warren, Bridgewater Market Expert

I would allow the buyer to work out the cost implications with their inspector or contractor.  At minimum, having receipts for repairs from licensed professionals is generally requested to confirm work done by someone that knows what they are doing.

Apr 22, 2015 11:24 PM
Rainmaker
744,672
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Yes, an inspection of troubled areas should have a fee.

OR...

Packaged as a benefit for using you.

Don't let the buyer assume no cost is involved.

However, if the inspection report contains more the 10 nonsense items, the second trip should be FREE.

Apr 22, 2015 09:29 PM