Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®, Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
2,759,787
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

I will soon be teaching classes to other companies about writing repair contingencies.

May 05, 2015 06:42 PM
Rainmaker
3,988,007
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Yes it is. Our state contract does not allow for anyone other than a licensed inspector to send forth a report. Thank goodness.

May 05, 2015 12:26 PM
Rainmaker
1,658,386
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

Absolutely!

May 05, 2015 10:23 PM
Rainmaker
316,098
Robert Smith
Preview Properties, PC - http://www.RealEstateMich.com - Brighton, MI
SRES, Search for Homes Brighton-Howell-SE Michigan

Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®, I typically want at least the page that outlines the problem.  In cases where the seller strongly disagrees with the buyer's inspection, the seller will hire his own 'expert' to review the findings.

A buyer doing his own inspection?  Yikes. 

May 05, 2015 09:54 PM
Rainmaker
4,434,127
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

We should check our state laws and the agreement of sale . The agreement of sale will spell out the home inspection contingency.

May 05, 2015 09:46 PM
Rainmaker
2,538,633
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Hella. I read some pretty crazy reports, some of them look like the wild wild west, others done very well. A knowledgeable Realtor knows how to work with most situations that arise, others not so much.

May 05, 2015 07:27 PM
Rainmaker
4,319,419
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor® - if buyers do their own home inspection, it may be a concern for sure. In that case, they can ask for anything!

Having a report is a proof from a licensed professional - and have some weight/validity.

May 05, 2015 01:40 PM
Rainmaker
2,443,200
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

I don'tthink it is a required thing in order to ask for repairs, but the cost is so minimal I would want to know more than just what my eyes can pick up on.

May 05, 2015 01:08 PM
Rainmaker
4,800,082
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

It's not required, but buyers requests without any verification tend to fall on deaf ears.

Nov 16, 2018 05:26 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,489
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Per the contract between Buyer and Seller...

Nov 03, 2017 03:44 AM
Rainmaker
175,614
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

Here in AZ needs to be a written report, buyer would be well advised to hire a licensed contractor that provides a report Vs doing the inspection themselves.  Money well spent.

May 06, 2015 11:17 AM
Rainer
216,904
Sharon Altier
Coldwell Banker Realty - Elmhurst, IL
Luxury Property Specialist, CSC, SFR

Unless the Buyer is a licensed inspector, the Seller will probably scoff at their comments and they will probably not comply with repair  requests.  Sometimes if happens, if not unreasonable, but it is certainly in the Buyer's best interest to have a licensed inspector, so they know the home is safe. 

When I purchased my first home, GC friends came by, checked it out and said it was sound; no need for an inspector.  I still hired one..and they found a gas leak in the furnace.  Even if they hadn't sold me the home, this find saved their lives.  They had sealed all doors and windows, so their days were numbered.  Had I not done the inspection, I would have possibly not woken up one day.  It was a simple repair, that saved lives.

May 06, 2015 04:39 AM
Rainer
67,369
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

Well when the buyer ask for repairs per amendment and states a page from the home inspection.  It is good if the listing agent & seller review the inspection.

I also forward the home inspection for the listing agent with I am the buyer agent.   My buyers have never had an issue with emailing the inspection to the other party.

May 06, 2015 02:13 AM
Rainmaker
4,552,953
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena And Southern California 818.516.4393

Hi Hella -- if a buyer is requesting repair work, a credit or a price reduction - I would expect something in writing and with documentation of the issue.    Can they simply ask?  Sure.  Depending on the request --- it's up to the seller how or if they want to respond.  

In California as you know - our purchase agreement states properties are sold in "as is" condition and the seller is not required to do any repairs beyond a few mandated by the state.  I have seen lists from buyers of a 100 year old properties seemingly asking that the home be built to today's standards.  It often seems that the inspection/investigation/due diligence time period becomes a second round of negotiations.   

May 06, 2015 12:57 AM
Rainmaker
3,626,524
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR

 While one can do their own without a professional inspector it wouldn't hold water here.  

May 05, 2015 10:20 PM
Rainmaker
1,770,282
John Novak
Keller Williams Realty The Marketplace - Las Vegas, NV
Henderson, Las Vegas and Summerlin Real Estate

I suppose a buyer could do their own inspection during the due diligence period, but I'm guessing that my broker would require them to sign a waiver stating that they declined a professional home inspection. There's also a potential liability issue. What if the buyer is injured while performing the inspection?

May 05, 2015 03:05 PM
Rainmaker
2,224,473
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

In my area a buyer can do their own inspection and ask for repairs. This request does need to be in writing. Although I always recommend the buyers use a reputable home inspector. 

May 05, 2015 03:04 PM
Rainmaker
979,396
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
HomeSmart - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

Hella - It is not required to forward the inspection report to the listing agent for repairs, but I believe it is commonly used because the home inspection validates and substantiates any requests for repairs/replacements in writing by a certified professional inspector.

If a buyer performs their own inspection, which I have had, then they can write up their own BINSR and request anything they want to be repaired and/or replaced by the seller.

May 05, 2015 02:42 PM
Rainmaker
472,992
Bill Dandridge
MKB, Realtors - Roanoke, VA
GREEN, ABR, GRI, EcoBroker

Absolutely!

May 05, 2015 12:49 PM