Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,122,113
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Michael, right now it's running around $425-450, not including termite or radon inspections. Large houses are more. As I'm not an inspector, hard for me to say how much is too much as I don't really know the economies of scale in your industry.

Jul 21, 2015 09:38 PM
Rainmaker
1,991,458
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

Good morning Michael. Sorry I didn't call you back yesterday. I ended up with multiple pots boiling over! We pay about $175 for a quick pre inspection, $400 for a full inspection on a townhouse sized property and more as the house gets bigger. Radon is extra. 

I am not sure how much is too much - $750 -$1000 for a very big house might be okay if the inspector spends a lot of time there. 

Jul 21, 2015 09:28 PM
Ambassador
1,581,105
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

$400 - $450 for a home inspection.  Some are cheaper others higher.  That does not include termite and radon.  If there is a well and septic we have another inspector check those.

Jul 21, 2015 11:12 PM
Ambassador
1,377,665
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

$450 in my area.  But of course we do zero radon testing, no termites etc.  Some of our inspectors earn every single penny and more, and then there are those who shouldn't get out of their truck.  I have a list of those who are not allowed near any of my properties.

Jul 21, 2015 10:47 PM
Ambassador
952,922
Frank Rubi
Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC - Metairie, LA
FrankRubiRealEstate.com

My market for a single story home (to 3000sq ft) is about 275-350. 

Jul 21, 2015 10:47 PM
Rainmaker
292,535
Jack Lewitz
Exit Strategy Realty - Evanston, IL

Guess it depends how many windows and outlets you have yo check in the house. Whatever you charge you deserve  it. The last inspector was in a crawl space and he was knocking on the floor above so we could see how far the crawl was and it was endless . He earned every penny that day. Needless to say the buyer never bought that house and a week later he did another inspection on another home for the same buyer . Waiting on seller response right now. Avg cost is $450-475

Jul 21, 2015 10:41 PM
Rainmaker
889,177
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

$100 per thousand square feet. Too much would be $101 per thousand square feet.

Jul 21, 2015 10:14 PM
Rainmaker
849,960
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Seems like most fall in the 4-600.00 range, with most of them being 450-500.00

Jul 21, 2015 09:58 PM
Rainmaker
3,617,099
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Around 350 in this area.  

Jul 21, 2015 09:42 PM
Rainmaker
4,799,501
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

For a 2,000 sq. ft. and under home, it seems to be running around $400 +/- depending on extras.

Jul 22, 2015 05:00 AM
Rainer
66,912
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

$350.00 for most homes & condos.  I think $550.00 is to much for average priced homes & condos.

Jul 22, 2015 04:37 AM
Rainmaker
212,655
Stefan Winter
Real Estate in IL & NV | Owner of Real Estate Web Tech | Daily Vlogger - Las Vegas, NV
Owner - Winter Group & Real Estate Web Tech

$400-$500 for your average 3 bed 2.5 bath home.

Jul 22, 2015 03:59 AM
Ambassador
4,312,759
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Michael Thornton - a home about 2500 sq ft and newer would cost about $450 (plus minus $50) for standard home inspection in our area.

Jul 22, 2015 02:19 AM
Rainmaker
344,780
Yolanda Hoversten
Self Employed - O'Fallon, IL
Referrals for O’Fallon, IL & the Metro East

I would say the average is $300 for a home inspection only. Large homes take longer, so average of $450.

Jul 22, 2015 02:17 AM
Rainmaker
175,464
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

$300-$400

Whatever the consumer will not pay, is too much.  Nice try, I cant tell you what the local home inspection prices are for your area :)  here, basic sized house with no pool, no sheds or guest houses, on .15 acre lot woudl be around $340 with the home inspector I recommend.

Jul 22, 2015 12:49 AM
Rainmaker
1,640,186
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Average is $425. Then $50-$125 for the Wind Mitigation inspection.

Jul 21, 2015 11:55 PM