Chris Lima, Local or Global-Allow me to open doors for you. (Turtle Reef Realty )

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
778,856
The Woodland Team of Texas
The Woodland Companies - Austin, TX
Land Specialists

There is a reason why our sellers are often reluctant to accept these govt loan offers.

Feb 23, 2019 11:38 PM
Ambassador
5,751,377
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I avoid these govt programs, life is to short to deal with them.

Sep 02, 2018 10:56 PM
Ambassador
4,316,215
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Chris Lima the seller should clear the home for roof inspection anyways! So it's good - and now, we have reason to let seller know about it.

Sep 21, 2015 05:28 AM
Rainmaker
3,383,997
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I had an appraiser recently letting me know. Yes i will have my sellers make sure closets are clean where access is through a closet. 

Sep 21, 2015 01:29 AM
Rainmaker
616,085
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Chris,

I fear this is going to be a bowl of spaghetti. Ideally FHA, VA, etc. would put out clear, concise information about what each loan type requires but that isn’t likely to happen. Local lenders aren’t likely to do it. Inspectors aren’t likely to do it.

 

That leaves the Realtors® trying to cobble together information. Not a pretty picture.

Sep 21, 2015 12:35 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Good idea to preapre the selelrs for the roof inspection.

Sep 21, 2015 12:05 AM
Rainmaker
2,010,830
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

Of course I will be preparing my sellers for an FHA inspection if they take an FHA offer. In many parts of the country we can not claim to have 60% cash offers so we have to live with the FHA rules. We push different boulders here in the DC area!

Sep 21, 2015 12:03 AM
Rainmaker
915,618
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Subjectively, it provides another reason to reject FHA backed purchase offers in preference to conventional. Here in Pinellas County Florida nearly 60% of sales are cash. The FHA buyer is pushing a bolder up the mountain.

Materially, it is meaningless since a 'real' inspection AND an insurance inspection, that specifically evaluates the roof, are routinely performed. 

 To agents: How many of you will find a ladder, grab a torch and stick your head through EACH trap door to evaluate the attic view?  I did that once and discover and entire, undeveloped room the owner did not know existed. "I wondered what was there?" was the response.

Sep 20, 2015 11:48 PM