John DL Arendsen, Crest Backyard Homes "ADU" dealer & RE Developer (CREST "BACKYARD' HOMES, ON THE LEVEL General & Manufactured Home Contractor, TAG Real Estate Sales & Investments)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
5,772,353
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

John,

OMG, after the initial monologue by Chris Rock (that was enough and good), it deteriorated into oblivion. It was a colossal marketing faux pas at a time when movie goers are apt to stay home and wait for the video!  They made the show about themselves, and did not focus on their audience.    

By the way, why was Los Angeles willing pay for extra security for Biden to appear?  As far as I know, he has not done a movie, or is a member of SAG, although I am think all politicians should be members for their acting skills.  He is a nice man and all that, he could have done a video!  

Just my humble observations...A

Feb 29, 2016 12:55 AM
Rainmaker
1,574,666
Gary L. Waters Broker Associate, Bucci Realty
Bucci Realty, Inc. - Melbourne, FL
Eighteen Years Experience in Brevard County

I never watch anymore.  It has been at least ten years. The politics and liberal promotion is not worth the effort. If I want liberal propaganda I will watch MSNBC!

Feb 29, 2016 01:10 AM
Rainer
94,105
Val Evans
Scottsdale, AZ

One thing I despise in life are hypocrites, and Hollywood is full of them!

Feb 29, 2016 12:54 AM
Rainmaker
759,893
Tony Lewis
Summit Real Estate Group - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Group Valencia & Aliso Viejo

Chris Rock is entertaining but it is unfair to single out only black actors.  I'm sure Arab actors were not prevalent.  How about Filipino or Bangladesh or Lithuania?

Feb 29, 2016 04:55 AM
Rainmaker
3,415,644
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I didnt want to watch it just becuase of that, it was all over every morning show and news anyway. I am appalled at these over paid elitest spoutting off about things they dont even practice. Most with 4 homes, 10 cars, a jet and yacht they cant even relate to anyone who gets up early every day to work their butt off to have a better life for them and their family never mind those struggling to just to make it month to month who spend what little free money they have to see thier movie.

Feb 29, 2016 09:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,497,568
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

This is probably the most poiticized year yet.  Between the blm/oscars too white stuff and the hypocritical anti-gun bracelets (worn by celebrities protected by armed guards).

If I ever cared for this show, I'd be turned off now.

Feb 29, 2016 03:02 AM
Rainmaker
1,027,602
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

It's Hollywood, which is full of self centered narcissistic beings who always make it about themselves and their politics.  Mad Max does not corner the market on dystopian societies. 

Feb 29, 2016 01:57 AM
Rainmaker
5,846,708
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Movie stars always seem to have a platform.

Mar 01, 2016 09:44 PM
Rainmaker
634,482
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

We don't have TV but I caught Chris' monologue on YouTube the day after. That had some great lines and not too much politics for me. But I agree the awards shows aren't a great place for social statements. 

Feb 29, 2016 04:52 PM
Rainmaker
1,618,781
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

I have no idea, since I did not see it. But it is not right that they brought politics in there. 

Feb 29, 2016 03:48 PM
Rainmaker
4,319,419
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

John DL Arendsen - well, it's a show....people love it when their favorite wins and hate it if their favorites don't win!

Feb 29, 2016 03:48 PM
Rainmaker
2,224,473
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I never watch award shows. They aren't my style, and they bore me. 

Feb 29, 2016 01:56 PM
Ambassador
3,727,581
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH@Properties - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I watched a show on Downton Abbey manners.  Skipped the Oscars this year.

Feb 29, 2016 01:21 PM
Rainmaker
2,707,721
Lisa Von Domek
Lisa Von Domek Team - Dallas, TX
....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless!

I've never been a big fan of the show and for the past several years have not even turned it on.

Feb 29, 2016 11:54 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,785
FN LN
Toronto, ON

I only watched a couple of minutes.

Feb 29, 2016 11:26 AM
Ambassador
5,779,501
Kathy Streib
Cypress, TX
Home Stager/Redesign

I didn't have a problem with Chris Rock's opening monologue but then enough is enough.  I could barely keep my eyes open.  

 What was the deal with the Girl Scout Cookie schtick?  It took up time and was dumb.   They could have actually presented Oscars to and brought up on stage Debbie Reynolds, Gena Rowlands and Spike Lee instead of presenting them earlier at another venue. 

The organization has their problems but don't air it in front of us.  

Feb 29, 2016 08:49 AM
Ambassador
2,678,459
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

   Everything is politicized by the PC Culture and the Left. 

    As for the Academy Awards, I have not been to a movie in years, nor watched TV in years, so I can't comment on that specific show.

Feb 29, 2016 07:09 AM
Rainmaker
2,219,617
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTAcondos.com
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Did not watch 

Feb 29, 2016 05:47 AM
Rainmaker
935,557
Bruce Walter
Keller Williams Realty Lafayette/West Lafayette, Indiana - West Lafayette, IN

John,  it did my heart good to see those hypocritical Hollywood liberals called out for their hypocrisy and institutional racism.  Does anyone remember the leaked Sony Movie Executive emails and their racist jokes about what type of movies President Obama might like?  Probably not, as it wasn't covered on network news as it was an embarrassment to the Left.  What a firestorm that would have been had it been a conservative.  I actually felt Chris Rock took it easy on them,  and did I ever call it that he would be dressed in a WHITE tux!

I thought Chris Rock was smart to jab the Hollywood Hypocrisy and then take advantage of their WHITE GUILT and WHITE PRIVILEGE and pass around his daughter's Girl Scout Cookies to the tune of collecting $55,000!  Smart man!!!!

Oh, and I was very touched by Leonardo DiCaprio's acceptance speech about climate change yet he jet setted countless times on private jets last year which typically give off a carbon footprint over 30 times more than flying commercial airlines, and him renting the FIFTH largest yacht in the world from a UAE oil billionaire!!!   Four homes as well-- come on Leo, driving a Prius doesn't make up for the rest- WALK the TALK before you lecture me!  

Feb 29, 2016 05:02 AM
Rainmaker
4,272,199
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

They have always politicized that!

Feb 29, 2016 04:28 AM
Rainmaker
4,800,082
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

It's always been politicized in recent memory.  And, I enjoyed Chris Rock's humor.  Didn't much care for anything else in the show with some minor exceptions.

Feb 29, 2016 03:55 AM
Ambassador
6,348,383
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Did not watch it and never do.

Feb 29, 2016 03:35 AM
Rainmaker
4,894,546
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Boy after the beginning it was all downhill.

Feb 29, 2016 03:33 AM
Ambassador
5,030,483
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I certainly heard about issues beforehand so not surprised. But I didn't watch and not unhappy I didn't

Feb 29, 2016 01:19 AM
Rainmaker
5,095,661
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I never really watch these shows, but I believe they had people trying to infuse their politics into the show for a long time now.

Feb 29, 2016 01:14 AM
Rainmaker
1,712,551
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I enjoyed Chris Rock's opening monologue, it was spot on. Other than that I never make it through the show.

Feb 29, 2016 12:48 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,489
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Always political unfortunately....because they can act they believe they know best about everything...unfortunate

Mar 05, 2017 04:22 AM
Rainmaker
7,783,899
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

I did not watch it.

Feb 29, 2016 11:08 PM
Rainmaker
2,759,787
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 I did not watch them as I do not watch television. I found the off knob in 1991. - M

Feb 29, 2016 06:03 PM
Rainmaker
4,847,417
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

No comment as I did not watch it.

Feb 29, 2016 03:19 AM
Ambassador
733,792
John DL Arendsen
CREST "BACKYARD' HOMES, ON THE LEVEL General & Manufactured Home Contractor, TAG Real Estate Sales & Investments - Leucadia, CA
Crest Backyard Homes "ADU" dealer & RE Developer

I've never sat through an entire Academy Awards presentation in my entire life because I'm not a big movie goer or easily awed by ostentatious scadly dressed celebs flaunting their junk in front of millions of young impressionable youngsters.

Unless it's a Broadway or even Off Broadway play or a top name group or individual vocalist on tour at one of my favorite venues i.e. Moonlight Amphitheater, Hollywood Bowl, Humphrey's By The Bay and a couple others I'm kind of the stay at home with a bottle of fine red and enjoy the big screen type.

I just happened to hit this one just as it was starting and I allowed myself to become tentatively involved. I couldn't believe what I was seeing and hearing for the short amount of time I tuned in. What is America coming to?? And here I thought the political scene was obscene. 

This ought to be of interest:

http://www.ibtimes.com/oscars-ratings-2016-tv-ratings-appear-have-extended-their-decline-2327299

Feb 29, 2016 02:13 AM
Rainmaker
1,466,207
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

John DL Arendsen I watched a video last night.

Feb 29, 2016 01:42 AM