David Barr (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Florida Realty)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
5,096,166
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I have the talk prior to writing the offer, again when home inspection is scheduled and yet again once we receive the inspection report.

Feb 29, 2016 09:17 PM
Rainmaker
400,356
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
Movoto - Laguna Niguel, CA

We start having discussions about inspections, expectations, etc. when the home search begins. 

Mar 01, 2016 01:07 AM
Rainmaker
4,850,663
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

All homes are going to have problem.  Lets concentrate of the major issues.

Feb 29, 2016 09:21 PM
Rainmaker
1,513,143
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY

That talk was held when the offer was being made!

Feb 29, 2016 09:04 PM
Rainmaker
3,988,007
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Like Nina Hollander said that talk is done before and during the offer period. A home inspection to me should only be for major show stopping items that the buyer would have had no way of knowing.

Mar 01, 2016 05:32 AM
Rainmaker
1,209,215
Amanda Christiansen
Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843 - Fort Wayne, IN
Christiansen Group Realty

I explain the home inspection to my buyers long before the inspection takes place.  

Mar 01, 2016 04:16 AM
Rainmaker
4,800,082
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I try to do the same, David.  And, the inspectors that I use will second this sentiment.

Mar 01, 2016 03:40 AM
Rainmaker
5,190,916
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

It is explained as a process to protect them not open the door to renegotiate the price!

Mar 01, 2016 01:58 AM
Rainmaker
1,498,148
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Any home, even new construction, will have something wrong with it.  The trick is separating the things you can live with from the things you can't and then working with the seller to see what can be done.  Just remember, all homes are sold "as-is" and the seller isn't required to do ANY repairs.

Mar 01, 2016 01:34 AM
Rainmaker
3,986,196
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I have a talk with my clients all through every step of the process

Mar 01, 2016 01:27 AM
Rainmaker
4,552,903
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena And Southern California 818.516.4393

It's a part of the initial conversation and definitely reinforced during the offer preparation and in advance of the actual inspection(s).   Stuff still happens.  So do relatives, friends and other "experts" who "just want to help".  

Feb 29, 2016 11:41 PM
Rainmaker
2,775,511
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Before, during and after, I am always on this subject one way or another

Feb 29, 2016 11:39 PM
Rainmaker
5,772,353
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

David,

I think everyone should have that talk, both with the buyer and the seller.  A

Feb 29, 2016 10:53 PM
Rainmaker
7,788,039
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

It may be best to have that talk during an initial meeting.

Feb 29, 2016 10:49 PM
Ambassador
5,032,521
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Before that time we have already discussed the purpose of the inspection and why it's important for them

Feb 29, 2016 10:46 PM
Rainmaker
3,415,644
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I have a talk before the inspection with my buyer and when the listing agent with my seller. This is a horrible trend and finally sellers are saying no to buyers and the agents who practice this. 

Feb 29, 2016 10:19 PM
Ambassador
3,159,899
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I have a talk about the due diligence period and inspection at my initial consolation with buyers. 

Feb 29, 2016 10:07 PM
Rainmaker
3,071,489
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Yes

Feb 29, 2016 09:54 PM
Rainer
43,981
Stephanie & John Webb
Latte Stone Realty LLC - Albuquerque, NM
Stephanie Webb Co-Owner, Latte Stone Realty, LLC

I tell them that every home, whether its a resale or brand new are going to have issues. An inspection is done to understand the mechanics of the home, make sure the mechanical aspect of the property is in good condition, and identifies repairs that are needed to warrant the property. Only once have we had to negotiate on price and that was because of a major leak in the cooling system that soaked the ceiling of 2 rooms and the seller refused to pay to fix the leak. If you have a Professional Inspector, they word the issues in a way not to alarm the buyer. 99% of the sellers I have run into will fix major issues of the home. No questions asked.

Feb 29, 2016 09:52 PM
Rainmaker
4,309,931
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Condo and Home Specialists

Here on Long Island we have the home inspections before signing a contract. If the inspection doesn't turn out the way the buyers thought, no money has been exchanged. We're not looking to re-negotiate, we're concerned that their are no "hidden" issues...

Feb 29, 2016 09:36 PM
Rainmaker
2,219,617
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTAcondos.com
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Absolutely.

Feb 29, 2016 09:33 PM
Rainmaker
921,504
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

The inspection is another point of re-negotiation. Time to take measure of how much you want the house.  If you get greedy or decide to go stupid, I know that many agents pursue a solid backup immediately after signing the first place buyer. And since the seller and their agent rejected all efforts to make them see the inspection report or summary, the opportunity to use extortion won't work either.

"How much do you want the house?"

"But the inspector put reverse polarity outlets in RED letters!"

"When you used Big G to find an inspector and you choose RED LETTER INSPECTIONS, what exactly were you expecting?"

Feb 29, 2016 09:17 PM
Rainmaker
1,712,551
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I have a talk with my buyers about everything and the inspection is an important part of it.

Feb 29, 2016 09:07 PM
Rainmaker
1,027,602
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

Ditto what Raymond E. Camp said.  

Feb 29, 2016 09:05 PM
Rainmaker
5,848,364
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I do like to talk about what to expect and what to look for with the inspector.

Mar 02, 2016 06:03 AM
Rainmaker
617,935
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

I educate buyers in advance and offer “home inspection & safety consulting” to all my buyers at no charge. My buyers know a lot before the inspector ever shows up.

Mar 02, 2016 02:49 AM
Rainmaker
140,768
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

I do, and the inspectors I recommend are good at emphasizing what is important and what isn't.  If they show they are the type to renegotiate the price during inspection prior, I will let them go.  I don't play that game.

Mar 01, 2016 12:45 AM
Rainmaker
1,237,270
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

May be a consultation to buy a peace of confidence.  In our area it is always AS-IS.   

Feb 29, 2016 11:14 PM
Rainer
223,831
LUXURYSOCALREALTY COMPASS La Jolla
Compass - La Jolla, CA
San Diego Partner - The Private Client Network

Hi David some clients it's appropriate to openly discuss some have their own intentions within regards to their response to the results. 

Feb 29, 2016 11:07 PM