Jeff Dowler, CRS, The Southern California Relocation Dude (eXp Realty of California, Inc.)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
5,571,310
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

buyer agents should preview but, more often than not, they don't...decades ago, we previewed everything....and every agent represented the seller!!

Mar 02, 2016 06:36 AM
Ambassador
1,370,584
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

I do like to preview inventory.  I like staying on top of what is available and how each compares to others; especially in my own listing neighbourhoods.

Mar 02, 2016 02:49 AM
Rainmaker
846,325
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

Yes I do especially if they are from out of town with a limited time frame.

Mar 02, 2016 02:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,324,938
Donald Urschalitz
Lubeck Realty Group - Jupiter, FL
P.A. Realtor ABR RSPS North Palm Beach County

I sure do since I don't like surprises.

Mar 02, 2016 08:39 AM
Rainmaker
140,568
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

If they have very specific requirements, I do - However, as much as you may think you know what your buyers want, they often choose otherwise.  I had buyers who had a handicapped child who would be in a wheelchair soon.  They ended up buying a home with stairs in it.

Mar 02, 2016 07:29 AM
Rainmaker
1,707,423
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Since many are out of state investors buying sight unseen the naswer is yes.

Mar 02, 2016 07:01 AM
Rainmaker
609,786
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

Only if they are out of town, buying sight unseen and relying on my opinion.

Otherwise...never.

Eve

Mar 02, 2016 06:52 AM
Rainmaker
1,149,109
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

I can preview them during the week and recommend them to buyers so they are prepared to confirm them and make an offer. 

Mar 02, 2016 06:23 AM
Rainer
337,479
Jenna Dixon
Momentum Real Estate Group LLC - Marietta, GA
55 & Over | New Constructions | Horse Farms

I do in certain cases where the buyer seems to have difficulty staying focused on their "must haves" and get distracted by every pretty picture.  Buyer psychology 101.

Mar 02, 2016 05:52 AM
Ambassador
965,285
John Meussner
Mortgages in AZ, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, MD, MT, NC, NJ, NV, OK, OR, PA, SC, TN, TX, UT, VA, WV - Walnut Creek, CA
#MortgageMadeEasy Walnut Creek, CA 484-680-4852

Nope.  Because I'm a lender, that would be weird.

Mar 02, 2016 05:45 AM
Rainmaker
4,054,053
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Very rarely. It's really a waste of time unless I've shopped so much with a client that I can totally channel their needs and likes.

Mar 02, 2016 03:28 AM
Rainmaker
5,525,180
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Jeff,

I had a check on my first deal in two weeks, because I knew the inventory in the area.  So of course previewing should be done.  A

Mar 02, 2016 03:05 AM
Rainmaker
290,569
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

Yes, we Preview new homes on the Market, as well as Preview homes for clients quite often Jeff Dowler CRS

Mar 02, 2016 03:03 AM
Rainmaker
1,525,205
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

It depends on the buyer situation and how busy I am.  I have learned that many times buyers say they want one thing and end up buying something totally different.

Mar 02, 2016 03:00 AM
Rainmaker
520,451
Greg Cremia
Shore Realty of the Outer Banks - Nags Head, NC

If we previewed for buyers we would not have time left for anything else. 2nd home market is different.

Mar 02, 2016 02:56 AM
Rainmaker
3,682,403
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Condo and Home Specialists

If we are asked to, or if they are from out-of-town...definitely!

Mar 02, 2016 02:50 AM
Rainmaker
882,261
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

I do not preview for buyers. The good stuff goes TOOOooooo fast.

I do preview for CIS Score to keep the algorithm well tuned

Mar 02, 2016 02:47 AM
Rainmaker
140,495
Chrissi Chapman Topoleski
Coldwell Banker Realty - Woodbridge, VA
Passionate about helping others achieve success!

It really depends on the situation, and I will, but in most instances I do not. Clients tell me what they absolutely must have, and then they find a home on the Internet I haven't sent them and want to see it anyway, even after I tell them it does not meet their needs as they have told me.

Mar 02, 2016 02:41 AM
Ambassador
5,357,799
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Yes, it is good to know what is available.

Jun 01, 2019 09:56 PM
Rainmaker
576,323
Eric Kodner
Madeline Island Realty - La Pointe, WI
CRS, Madeline Island Realty, LaPointe, WI 54850 -

My buyers tell me they greatly appreciate the effort when we preview properties before showings.

Mar 06, 2016 01:58 AM
Rainmaker
4,882,965
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

If time constraints are in place, or with relocating buyers coming in for the weekend, yes.

Mar 04, 2016 01:39 AM
Rainmaker
1,635,442
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

We often do to accommodate our buyers' tough schedules and to prevent them wasting their time.

Mar 03, 2016 06:41 AM
Rainmaker
597,069
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Jeff,
In this day and age, and with the excellent local resources we have as well as street views, etc., I can tell a lot from my desk. But if the circumstances call for it I sure will go preview properties. Especially for relo clients.

Mar 03, 2016 02:23 AM
Rainmaker
4,157,118
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Not often, but sometimes the situation dictates it!

Mar 02, 2016 09:10 PM
Rainmaker
2,435,886
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Jeff. Some of my Realtor referral partners do, but most do not.

Mar 02, 2016 06:06 PM
Ambassador
2,759,387
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 The market has certainly changed. I was surprised to see how few agents showed up at the last broker open I sponsored.

Mar 02, 2016 05:52 PM
Rainmaker
4,059,133
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Whenever possible, I do preview.   I feel it continues to make me more aware and knowledgeable about the market.   It's good for buyers and for sellers in my opinion.    

Mar 02, 2016 04:42 PM
Rainmaker
634,272
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

Yes, I almost always preview. I want to know the product and screen the choices so we don't waste time.

Mar 02, 2016 04:08 PM
Rainmaker
1,514,305
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Not recently, I only preview competition for listings. If I need to find out specific information for a buyer and it is not in mls,  I'd just call a listing agent.

Mar 02, 2016 03:16 PM
Rainmaker
532,994
Robert May
Robert W May - Lethbridge Real Estate - Lethbridge, AB
Real estate consulting

i do not, but then again I enjoy the element of suprize, lol.

Mar 02, 2016 02:07 PM
Rainmaker
71,975
Darin Henderson
Holland Realty Services - Kirksville, MO
Guiding You Home

Yes I do, If they are out of town, live out of the area or in a competitive market like we have today.

Mar 02, 2016 01:32 PM
Ambassador
3,034,240
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

Yes I do.   Mostly I've been asked to do for out of state clients and have often skyped or videoed and sent to client before they have scheduled a flight to see.

Mar 02, 2016 12:26 PM
Ambassador
2,224,117
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

For a local buyer I might do a drive by. I do deal with a lot of out of state buyers. I will preview and take a ton of pictures for them. I did sell a bank owned home last year to an out of state buyer that had never seen the house except for my pictures. She liked the price point and this was a Victorian home. That's what she really liked. She did have her brother come and look at the house, after we were under contract, and he was there for the inspection. 

A situation like that makes me nervous. 

Mar 02, 2016 12:24 PM
Ambassador
3,722,438
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I do.  I think it gives you a lot more credibility with the buyers if you have actaully seen the properties you are showing them.

Mar 02, 2016 12:07 PM
Rainmaker
80,253
Linda Guess
Keller Williams Tri-Lakes Branson, MO - Branson, MO
Branson area real estate sales.

Jeff Dowler CRS yes, sometime I preview homes for buyers.  One in particular was in Oceanside, CA.  I knew exactly what she wanted.  I looked while she was at work.  I scheduled the showing so that the one I knew she would want was the last showing.  It was so exciting to watch her look at the home.  Wecwent right back to the office to prepare her offer.  She thanked me everytime I saw her.  What fun it was.

Mar 02, 2016 10:52 AM
Rainmaker
887,643
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Yes! Who likes surprises, if they can be avoided?

Mar 02, 2016 10:45 AM
Rainmaker
1,380,323
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Generally no.  In this day and age the buyers have done all the previewing online before they even tell you what house they want to look at.  For those that don't the majority of the time you can preview a house by looking at the photos.  The ony time I'd preview is if there was a VERY specific need of the buyer, such as an "East facing door."  Can't tell that from a picture usually.

Mar 02, 2016 10:44 AM
Ambassador
3,986,660
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Sometimes if time allows and many times if they are out of town.

Mar 02, 2016 10:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,987,878
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

yes to all - I don't work with many buyers though so it doesn't present itself often

Mar 02, 2016 09:56 AM
Rainmaker
292,535
Jack Lewitz
Exit Strategy Realty - Evanston, IL

Yes  particularly when working with out of state buyers. But I also use to regularly attend broker tours 

Mar 02, 2016 08:26 AM
Rainmaker
1,716,054
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

No. I think the buyer should decide if it's the home for them or not. Hopefully you find out what the buyer wants & then go from there. I also know most of the floorplans in my area also.

I really don't have time to look at inventory without a buyer. As Joan said, then they choose something completely different.

Mar 02, 2016 07:33 AM
Rainmaker
1,683,350
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

Yes,  It is always best to know what your product has to offer.

Mar 02, 2016 07:13 AM
Ambassador
1,771,405
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

Often times I  do Jeff, that way I know something about the home.

Mar 02, 2016 04:11 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,481
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Yes, it depends on the situation.  If I know the buyer well and he/she is ready to make a move, than I will preview.  If it's a buyer that I don't know very well and unsure of their taste as well as motivation, then, no.

Mar 02, 2016 03:32 AM
Rainmaker
1,397,958
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

Yes especially for the out of towners.

As there are always broker's opens and weekend opens it makes it easier to stay on top of the inventory.

Mar 02, 2016 03:15 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,837
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

For out of town buyers, yes

Mar 02, 2016 03:14 AM