Spam prevention
Rainmaker
3,321,246
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

No, typically I will do a walk through with them having them addres anything that can be seen with the naked eye before we start showing

Mar 07, 2016 08:58 PM
Rainmaker
1,635,442
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Not normally

 

Mar 07, 2016 10:16 PM
Rainmaker
4,059,091
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

It's a part of the initial conversation --- and prior to hitting the market and including it as part of the disclosure package that a buyer can review prior to submitting an offer.  

Mar 07, 2016 09:44 PM
Rainmaker
3,069,934
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Before it's on the market

Mar 07, 2016 08:38 PM
Rainer
3,375
Donna Ciccarelli
HomeCity Real Estate - Austin, TX
Residential,Farm&Ranch,New Construction,Land in TX

Absolutely!  In Austin, TX our market is HOT!! I don't want my Sellers to waste time negotiating repairs. Every day on the market that goes by is precious, and if a house is on the market for more than a month or in some cases, more than a week, buyer's agents and their buyers begin to believe there is something wrong with the property. It becomes tainted and lower offers are made.....Just because an inspection is done prior to listing, does not mean the Seller must make every repair.  The Seller does have to disclose the items the Seller chooses not to repair, and price the house accordingly. I want to know what I am selling, and my Sellers see the merit in selling with eyes wide open prepared to meet any of the objections thrown at them during Buyer's inspection.

So, Yes! Pre-inspection assists in more accurate pricing of the home, helps with creating strategies for negotiation prior to hitting the market so time is not wasted.

Yes, the Buyer most likely will want to conduct their own inspection, but they also might want to save that money and use the existing inspection from the Seller. Once Seller corrects items the Buyer can pay to have the house re-inspected to insure the repairs have been done properly.

So far, I nor my clients have never experienced a problem by having a pre-inspection.  I find there is a more positive outcome when there is Full Disclosure. It engenders trust, and confidence that the Seller is not trying to hide anything.

Mar 07, 2016 04:22 PM
Ambassador
4,312,753
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Kristin Hamilton CA Realtor - I do always ask them for pre-sale home inspection.

Mar 07, 2016 03:09 PM
Ambassador
2,563,831
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

I advise them... but the majority do not listen.

Mar 07, 2016 12:00 PM
Ambassador
2,759,387
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

For the most part, the one's I have done a pre-inspection for need to have a date with a bull dozer. - LOL.

I have done some very challenging properties. Still, when in doubt . . .

Mar 07, 2016 07:48 AM
Rainmaker
597,069
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Kristin,
The seller is supposed to disclose everything they know that is wrong with the house, right?

Unless the seller is committed to fixing everything the inspector finds, why would you do an inspection?

The buyer shouldn’t rely on the sellers’ inspection, they should do their own.

 

While there might be a rare reason to do so, in practice I think it is a bad idea.

Mar 07, 2016 07:13 AM
Rainmaker
1,715,027
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

It's always a good idea but, in my experience, very few do.

Mar 07, 2016 07:01 AM
Rainmaker
1,987,878
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

Yes 

Mar 07, 2016 06:52 AM
Ambassador
5,357,189
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Depends on the situation.

Jun 05, 2019 09:57 PM
Rainer
15,145
Victor Quiroz
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices California Properties DTLA Regional Office - Los Angeles, CA
Top of the line service, bottom line results!

It would help identify the repairs needed or repairs that a buyer may ask for but I don't do it all the time. I do however ask for a termite inspection imediately after taking the listing.

Dec 28, 2016 01:12 PM
Rainmaker
1,280,348
Donna Foerster
HomeSmart Realty Group - Parker, CO
Metro Denver Real Estate Assistant

Generally speaking, no.

Sep 24, 2016 12:16 AM
Ambassador
1,616,354
Harry F. D'Elia III
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

It depends on the condition of the home from my experience.

Jun 18, 2016 08:48 AM
Rainer
3,880
Sarah Educate
Mount Juliet, TN
e-PRO REALTOR 'Educate To Sell Nashville'

It depends on how proactive the seller is as a homeowner.  After the initial walk-through, I can ususally tell if the seller is proactive and has a high standard of maintenance, proactive but does little maintennace, or not interested and just wants the house sold for what it's worth.  The proactive homeowner may raise concern for the repair process.  In this case, I will go over options to make that phase of the transaction a little smoother for all parties invlved.  This will include the option of a preliminary inspection.

Mar 13, 2016 12:26 PM
Rainmaker
40,454
Diana L Faulkner
Romanoff Realty - Alamo Heights, TX
Alamo Heights Homes for Sale - Concierge Service

I generally don't have them obtain one prior to listing.  In Texas, the inspection is required to be disclosed.  100 inspectors could have 100 different findings.  Therefore, it would give the Seller a false sense of security believing that they had taken care of every item, only to have a different inspector find a totally different set of deficiencies.  I believe that the Seller's Disclosure about their home is more important.  I do stress to them "over disclose".  Disclose everything.  If a pigeon has flown into the house and urinated:  disclose.  If you live in San Antonio, all Sellers have soil movement.  Etc.

Mar 13, 2016 10:38 AM
Ambassador
1,249,487
Kristin Hamilton CA Realtor
Sun Lakes Realty - Banning, CA
(909) 557-6966- Specialize 55+ Communties Banning

I want to thank everyone for their comments. I wish I could comment back to but the system doesn't allow that. I normally do not have seller order a report either but had a colleague get one recently and then his seller did not want to give the buyer's agent the report. I can see this can be a big problem but in this situation, it all worked out as seller decided to allow the report to be emailed out. Whew!

Mar 09, 2016 06:45 AM
Rainmaker
4,882,878
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

In Colorado, the inspection is the responsibility of the buyer.  If the seller thinks they have issues with the main components of the home, I encourage them to have a professional inspect. 

Mar 08, 2016 10:56 PM
Ambassador
2,306,979
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

I always present this as an option.  I think it is a wonderful idea but I have not had many take me up on this.

Mar 08, 2016 02:08 AM
Ambassador
1,576,105
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

Typically not.

Mar 07, 2016 11:01 PM
Rainmaker
882,261
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

I've been in this business a while. If no real cause exists this step will be skipped. If the age of the roof is unknown, the underlayment is inspected for moisture as well as visual of metal soffit vents.

When the outside suggests neglect, as we all know, the inside will be neglected also. Even if sellers do not opt in for an inspection, my guy will do a critical evaluation of the biggies, so we both can stay in business.

To be frank, I really don't need an inspector to tell me the condition of the house. Not my first rodeo. If the seller is defiant to reality and rejects strategies for inspection issues.....this clearly suggest something else if in play. Knowing that, I know I must be prudent on defining success in the instance.

Mar 07, 2016 10:30 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,583
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

no

Mar 07, 2016 09:57 PM
Rainmaker
818,317
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Yes, but they don't listen.

Mar 07, 2016 09:52 PM
Rainmaker
6,540,549
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

That is not a normal recommendation in our market.

Mar 07, 2016 09:52 PM
Rainmaker
3,995,106
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I think it is a good idea and I do recommend it.

Mar 07, 2016 08:52 PM
Rainmaker
4,156,948
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Sometimes yes, especially if I suspect there will be problems that need to be addressed.

Mar 07, 2016 08:50 PM
Rainmaker
1,514,105
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Only if there some possible issues and we need to know the scale of damage.

Mar 07, 2016 05:41 PM
Rainmaker
2,435,786
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Kristin. We flip homes on a regular basis, all come onto the market with all inspections already completed and available to the the potential buyers, no issue with them doing their own as well, but it sure does save a lot of time.

Mar 07, 2016 04:30 PM
Rainmaker
1,157,485
FN LN
Toronto, ON

It depends upon the particular situation.

Mar 07, 2016 04:09 PM
Rainmaker
634,272
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

Sometimes. Always if there are likely problems with the property.

Mar 07, 2016 04:03 PM
Ambassador
3,034,082
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

No.  If there is some specific issue I feel needs addressing then I get them to address that issue, but I don't recommend a pre listing inspection

Mar 07, 2016 11:52 AM
Ambassador
3,722,438
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Cindy Jones did that, and she marketed it as a sort of Certified PreOwned Home - like the Lexus dealer does.  

Mar 07, 2016 11:10 AM
Rainmaker
660,007
Abby Stiller
REMAX Realty Group - Cape Coral, FL
Professional Bilingual Realtor (239) 284-8637

I don't, but I request them to fill out a seller's disclosure.

Mar 07, 2016 10:27 AM
Ambassador
3,986,660
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Usually not. The homes are in generally good condition. I do ask if they know of any problems and recommend they get those repaired first. Buyers in my area do not want to accept a seller home inspection and many don't even want to see it.

Mar 07, 2016 09:59 AM
Rainer
318,613
Melissa Jackson
Century 21 Alliance Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

I don't. I talk with them and explain the disclosure. Suggesting they make any repairs before we list.

Mar 07, 2016 09:55 AM
Rainmaker
393,924
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
Movoto - Laguna Niguel, CA

I don't, but I do suggest that they address any known issues before we go live on the market.

Mar 07, 2016 08:49 AM
Rainmaker
1,385,024
Wayne Zuhl
Remax First Realty II - Cranford, NJ
The Last Name You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

Not typically. I don't see  a benefit unless there is an unrealistic seller.

Mar 07, 2016 07:45 AM
Rainmaker
1,380,283
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Only if they think there might be something there.  Generally no.

Mar 07, 2016 07:34 AM
Rainmaker
845,920
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Only in some cases , usually older homes, or if many Harry Homeowner repairs have been done over the years.

Mar 07, 2016 07:34 AM
Rainmaker
580,681
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

Maybe if you are an out of town seller who hasn't seen his house for awhile, or has had tenants living there. It would help with the pricing, for one. Plus no nasty surprises.

Mar 07, 2016 07:18 AM
Rainmaker
290,569
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

I asked Roger, and he said 'generally no' Kristin Hamilton CA Realtor.

Mar 07, 2016 07:04 AM