Spam prevention
Ambassador
2,806,628
Dick Greenberg
New Paradigm Partners LLC - Fort Collins, CO
Northern Colorado Residential Real Estate

Hi Jenna - With a lot of granite bedrock, we see higher than acceptable levels in about 15% of all homes. The highest we've ever seen was 242 (EPA level is 4.0). Remediation almost always is successful and runs from $600 - $1800, depending on the type of basement.

Mar 20, 2016 04:14 AM
Ambassador
3,312,211
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA - Bristow, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

I don't using words like "extremely" when talking about radon levels.  Especially when you realize our country is more proactive than others in what is considered a level where you remediate.  What is above action level here, may be fine in another country.

That said, I've heard of levels of 200 being successfully remediated.  So I don't think there is a radon issue that can't be solved.

Mar 20, 2016 03:44 AM
Rainmaker
1,716,054
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Pretty easy. Remediation company I work with begins immediately. Most parents of small kids are usually very upset that they didn't get tested earlier for their kids health. 

Doesn't matter if it has a basement or not. I had a split level that had to be remediated from the sump pump well.  Highest so far has been $1250.

Mar 20, 2016 02:53 AM
Rainmaker
420,785
Christopher Pagli
William Raveis Legends Realty Group - Tarrytown, NY
"I Stay Open Until You Close"

it's a pretty easy fix.  The mitigation system can range anywhere between $1500-$3500 in my experience.  The homeowner should moniter it to ensure the fan is always working etc.

Mar 20, 2016 02:31 AM
Rainmaker
1,456,727
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Jenna Dixon I sold one property that tested positive for radon. The seller had a company come in that installed a ventilation system into the basement floor and vented it out the basement wall. It consisted of PVC pipe and a fan system. The buyer had it retested and there were no signed on radon. The property closed. The price was around $800.

Mar 20, 2016 02:24 AM
Rainmaker
846,020
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Radon is 2nd leading cause of lung cancer. Usually remediation is simple straight forward sealing and venting process. Depending on size of house, costs can run from $750.00 up $2000.00 or so. You can have radon even if house doesn't have a basement. You should be able to learn everything you need to know about radon here. https://www.epa.gov/radon

 http://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/substances/radon/radon-fact-sheet

Mar 20, 2016 01:57 AM
Rainmaker
3,968,087
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Prices in our area are $900 to $1300

Mar 20, 2016 01:57 AM
Rainmaker
2,020,150
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Air - $750-$825     In the Water - $$$$$$$$

Mar 20, 2016 01:48 AM
Rainmaker
1,397,958
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

It is a problem in certain areas here but the remediation now is not as costly.

Still a subject many do not know about and should.

Mar 20, 2016 01:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,149,109
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Adding exhaust fan....Leave windows open.....

I am sure the lower end laminated flooring contains more deadly cancer-causing formaldehyde.  My advice is the same.

 Same with new cars let the warm environment outgass the detergent used in the upustery (sp?)....

 

Mar 20, 2016 01:40 AM
Rainmaker
4,054,053
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I've rarely run into radon issues, when I have, it's been professionally remediated and paid for by the seller.

Mar 20, 2016 10:16 PM
Rainmaker
563,146
Women of Westchester Working Together
Women of Westchester Working Together - West Harrison, NY
Women helping Women get ahead

I believe radon remediation is fairly simple.  I know many buyers that have had this and resolved and said it wasn't a big deal.

Also radon level tend to show higher values when it's colder outside.

Mar 20, 2016 10:09 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,837
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

None in my area

Mar 20, 2016 09:56 AM
Rainmaker
3,427,767
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

Jenna Dixon Radon problem can be corrected by Remediation professionals.

Mar 20, 2016 09:37 AM
Rainmaker
439,690
Buzz Mackintosh
Mackintosh REALTORS - Frederick, MD
“Experience, reliable, leadership”

1 in 4 houses in our area have high readings. Remediation is typically between $800 to $1,200

Mar 20, 2016 09:09 AM
Rainmaker
818,337
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Check the water as well. Also, re-check after airing out the home, especially if it's been shut up. Barometric pressure makes a difference as well. If the level is VERY high, the results probably will not go down to normal. Consult a local remediation expert; can be done fairly effectively.

Mar 20, 2016 07:50 AM
Rainmaker
4,157,118
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

It can be very simple or very expensive. No way to know until you seek remediation.

Mar 20, 2016 06:39 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,485
FN LN
Toronto, ON

Radon exists in some parts of my trading area.  Radon is not as high profile as in the USA.

Mar 20, 2016 05:34 AM
Ambassador
1,771,405
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

It is the second leading cause of lung cancer behind smoking. It has to be vented correctly or it is very dangerous.

Mar 20, 2016 05:33 AM
Rainmaker
1,231,599
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Depends on the topography and geology.  One house may have high radon level while house next door does not. Houses with or without basement can have high radon level.  Remediation cost depends on square footage & number of levels. 

Mar 20, 2016 05:23 AM
Rainmaker
846,325
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

Since we don't have basements here in south Florida it is rarely an issue.

Mar 20, 2016 05:01 AM
Rainer
318,613
Melissa Jackson
Century 21 Alliance Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

Has never came up in my area of DFW.

Mar 20, 2016 04:26 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,481
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I have, thankfully, no experience with radon issues here in my area of Florida.

Mar 20, 2016 03:57 AM
Ambassador
3,036,937
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

To date, I have had none.  We do not do Radon testing as a matter of routine here in my area. 

Mar 20, 2016 02:38 AM
Rainer
471,173
DEANNA C. SMITH CERTIFIED MOBILE NOTARY
Certified Mobile Notary Signing Agent - Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Highest Ranked Certified Mobile Notary in Virginia

Our area Home Inspectors include it in their inspection process.   There are companies locally that specialize in remediation but I don't know the cost as I have no experience with that personally. 

Mar 20, 2016 02:37 AM
Rainmaker
1,635,442
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Fortunately we haven't had any problems in either San Diego, or Florida.

Mar 20, 2016 02:36 AM
Rainmaker
5,571,310
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

I remember having a listing with a radon reading of over 80.... the seller fixed that situation....it closed.... 

Mar 20, 2016 02:09 AM
Rainmaker
3,995,106
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

In Dallas TX it never comes up.

Mar 20, 2016 01:39 AM
Ambassador
4,557,551
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Very little - we uesed to test regularly back in New England but not here. interested to learn more

Mar 20, 2016 01:37 AM
Rainmaker
104,411
Scott Lawson
America's Home loans - Santa Rosa, Petaluma Mortgage Broker - Santa Rosa, CA
Mortgage Broker FHA, VA, refinance or purchase

Found a great article on it...I had no idea: Radon.

 

I now have more respect for a basement-less, slab foundation home...

Mar 20, 2016 01:36 AM
Rainmaker
223,669
LuxurySoCalRealty San Diego
Compass - La Jolla, CA
San Diego Partner - The Private Client Network

I'm sorry never had Radon before. 

Mar 27, 2016 07:31 AM
Rainmaker
597,069
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Jenna,
About half of our houses in the County are above the EPA guidelines. An expert radon company is worth far more than “pick up truck” radon guys. Cost here is $1,200 to $2,000.

Mar 26, 2016 01:53 PM
Ambassador
2,759,387
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 Taking care of radon is an easy fix.

Mar 22, 2016 07:15 PM
Rainmaker
4,882,965
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

In Colorado, we see this all the time.    If the level is about 4.0, buyers ask the sellers to mitigate.

Mar 22, 2016 04:32 AM
Rainmaker
3,321,246
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Here in NH, the granite state, some communities are known for very high levels. most of the time the highest ones are in areas of building or blasting that speed the release of the gas, 

Mar 20, 2016 10:52 PM
Rainmaker
6,540,604
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Remediation does work.

Mar 20, 2016 09:22 PM
Rainmaker
4,059,133
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

None to date.  

Mar 20, 2016 08:57 PM
Rainmaker
634,272
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

My only experience is anecdotal. So far none of our homes have had that problem.

Mar 20, 2016 06:47 PM
Rainmaker
2,435,886
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Jeanna. Radon is pretty common, remediation costs will range from $1000 t0 $2000, depending how many floors to the home.

Mar 20, 2016 06:27 PM
Ambassador
4,312,753
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Jenna Dixon - As long as radon mitigation system is in place, it should be okay. 

I am sure TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc. will have a great answer for this....

Mar 20, 2016 03:34 PM
Rainmaker
1,987,878
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

I just had this conversation this evening - I dont' think it is a big deal. If your radon level is above 4 you just remediate or ask the seller to remediate if you are the buyer.

Mar 20, 2016 11:52 AM
Ambassador
3,986,660
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

My daughter is an Environmental Scientist and since this topic is interesting to me she shares her remediation projects with me. She says there is always a remedy and it just costs money and she is glad to help. People tend to get panicked by the results of their radon tests.

Mar 20, 2016 11:33 AM
Rainmaker
2,707,268
Lisa Von Domek
Lisa Von Domek Team - Dallas, TX
....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless!

No experience with radon Jenna Dixon as it is not an issue here in the Dallas area.

Mar 20, 2016 11:01 AM
Ambassador
2,952,156
Liz and Bill Spear
RE/MAX Alliance 513.520.5305 www.LizTour.com - Mason, OH
RE/MAX Alliance Cincinnati & Dayton suburbs

VERY common here.  It's about 50/50 that a test will fail.  Mitigation is about 900-1000 dollars and is NORMALLY agreed to and paid by the seller because they don't want to have to disclose it if the deal doesn't go through.

Mar 20, 2016 10:58 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,583
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Get couple of estimates.

Mar 20, 2016 08:22 AM
Rainer
337,479
Jenna Dixon
Momentum Real Estate Group LLC - Marietta, GA
55 & Over | New Constructions | Horse Farms

Radon testing used to be pretty routine here but I think it fell out of favor many years ago.  It's been awhile since I have been involved with testing and never dealt with remediation.  Not sure what the effect would be on re-sale should it be disclosed to future owners.

Mar 20, 2016 01:42 AM
Ambassador
5,357,799
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

No problems so far, but my contractor knows how to remediate these issues.

Jun 16, 2019 11:17 PM