Peter Mohylsky (PMI. Destin)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,358,111
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Yes, this year in fact, but I figured it was really buyers remorse and that was their out. My seller was willing to fix too, they still wanted out. We went on to sell at full price 2 days later and none of the issues from buyer #1 were brought up by buyer #2.

Apr 12, 2016 09:06 PM
Ambassador
3,158,645
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Yes, At my recommendation the buyers did cancel. Seller was a licensed real estate agent and told more lies than Pinocchio.  No telling what else she was lying about. She stood there with the inspector, myself and the buyers, with "evidence" slapping her in the face ... and just lied. 

The risk was just to high for the first time home buyers. We found them a much better home!

Apr 13, 2016 01:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,766,796
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Agent Retired

You bet but some of the repairs listed on a home inspection are just nonsense. The best one was every time the sump pump would go off the water would literally spray back into a basement crack about 30 seconds later. I guess waterfalls are a deal breaker ...

Apr 12, 2016 09:54 PM
Rainmaker
1,672,315
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Yes and even when the owner/seller is willing to make repairs. Often, the home inspection report just 'tips the scale' on the buy, or not buy decision.

Apr 13, 2016 04:46 AM
Rainmaker
140,895
Chrissi Chapman Topoleski
Coldwell Banker Realty - Woodbridge, VA
Passionate about helping others achieve success!

I had a Buyer cancel because of an issue with an addition. Funny enough, when they went to sell the house they bought instead, their Buyer cancelled because they said the house needed to much work and they would not even try to negotiate a lower price or money to fix it.

Apr 13, 2016 03:11 AM
Rainmaker
50,781
Lana Mosley
Keller Williams Realty Services - Hammond, LA
Building my empire one listing at a time.

Yup!  Yesterday as a matter of fact.  Undisclosed fire damage in the attic.  I canceled the rest of the inspection and told my buyer.

Apr 13, 2016 01:30 AM
Ambassador
4,744,012
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Yes several. Worst was a cracked slab...about $60K worth of work

Apr 13, 2016 12:17 AM
Ambassador
2,112,292
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

Yes, it has happened, luckily not very often. Most of the times, the parties can come to an agreement.

Apr 12, 2016 10:49 PM
Rainmaker
789,683
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

Too often and it seems to sadly be a growing trend.  And it's always interesting to me when I get to sell the same property multiple times and the inspection reports are different each time...!  Sometimes it's justified, sometimes it's an overzealous inspector and often it's unrealistic expectations on the part of a buyer expecting perfection in a resale... even when the owner is willing to work with them.

Apr 12, 2016 09:58 PM
Rainmaker
1,386,685
Wayne Zuhl
Remax First Realty II - Cranford, NJ
The Last Name You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

Too frequently to count.

Buyers sometimes get greedy and ask for the moon and sellers get impatient and throw away the deal. It ain't over till it's over!

Apr 12, 2016 09:45 PM
Ambassador
4,316,215
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Peter Mohylsky - in MA, it's buyer's sole discretion to continue or not - so yes, despite seller willing to make repairs, I have seen buyers walk away from home.

Apr 13, 2016 03:59 PM
Ambassador
3,077,380
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

multiple times

Apr 13, 2016 03:02 PM
Rainmaker
1,683,406
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

yes on several occasions for various reasons. Mainly because the Seller was not willing to spend the money in repairs.

Apr 13, 2016 12:24 PM
Ambassador
3,360,199
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster Real Estate - Gainesville, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

I had this happen just a couple weeks ago.  The owner was willing to fix EVERYTHING.  They still walked.  Felt they couldn't trust the owner because the problems were there to begin with.

Apr 13, 2016 07:51 AM
Rainmaker
2,707,335
Lisa Von Domek
Lisa Von Domek Team - Dallas, TX
....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless!

Oh yes, a few times...while most inspection reports are well written, some are worded so poorly that they present every issue as a death sentence to the house. 

Apr 13, 2016 06:07 AM
Rainmaker
1,430,521
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Yes.  Had one cancelled last month.

Apr 13, 2016 05:50 AM
Rainer
320,229
Melissa Jackson REALTOR
Trinity Premier Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

Yes, sometimes you just can't work this out.  

Apr 13, 2016 05:32 AM
Rainmaker
849,472
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Yes, deals have falled apart due to inspections, for one reason or another.

Apr 13, 2016 12:30 AM
Rainmaker
579,296
Eric Kodner
Madeline Island Realty - La Pointe, WI
CRS, Madeline Island Realty, LaPointe, WI 54850 -

It's happening with increasing frequency. The inspection contingency has become an escape clause in many instances, something like a "buyer remorse" clause.

Apr 12, 2016 11:15 PM
Rainmaker
1,027,535
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

Yes, I have had one buyer cancel because they ultimately decided they wanted gas for cooking, not electric (and the house was all electric) and had a buyer cancel on a listing because she simply changed her mind. Both were able to get out during the home inspection without giving a reason why - in other words, it was buyer's remorse in both cases, but they used the inspection to get out.  It would not have mattered how many repairs the owner was willing to make, the buyers wanted out. 

Apr 12, 2016 11:08 PM
Rainmaker
5,580,884
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

 

yes.... when there are major structural problems.... 

Apr 12, 2016 10:48 PM
Ambassador
1,414,474
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

Our offers are written so that the Buyer obtains an inspection report that is satisfactory in their sole and absolute discretion.  Our inspections are not a further negotiation tool.  We sell the majority of our property as is and where is.

Apr 12, 2016 10:25 PM
Rainmaker
4,264,565
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Yes, I have represented buyers who have canceled a purchase for this reason.   

Apr 12, 2016 10:25 PM
Rainmaker
4,352,493
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Sure.  Thats often happens.

Apr 12, 2016 10:09 PM
Rainmaker
3,922,457
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Condo and Home Specialists

Yes, last week. The buyers offered $50,000 LESS because of minor repairs!

Apr 12, 2016 09:30 PM
Rainmaker
3,622,907
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

All the time

Apr 12, 2016 09:23 PM
Rainmaker
1,448,663
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

The only one was from an in ground pool installed under high tension wires and no permit and an electrical nightmare!

Apr 12, 2016 09:17 PM
Rainmaker
4,569,338
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Yes, the required repairs exceeded the repair limit and the seller balked an the buyer walked!

Apr 12, 2016 09:13 PM
Rainmaker
1,209,159
Amanda Christiansen
Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843 - Fort Wayne, IN
Christiansen Group Realty

We've had that happen a few times over the years.  

Apr 12, 2016 09:06 PM
Ambassador
5,754,403
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

No, and I let the buyers know from the start that no adjustments to price or condition will be allowed based on the inspection.

Aug 05, 2017 11:28 PM
Rainmaker
1,247,554
Joyce Marsh
Joyce Marsh Real Estate LLC - Daytona Beach, FL
Joyce Marsh Real Estate LLC - Coast & Luxury

Yes, many times over the years. 

Apr 17, 2016 05:23 AM
Ambassador
3,724,177
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Sure.  It happens - especially when the sellers try to get away with not disclosing issues.

Apr 17, 2016 05:19 AM
Rainmaker
5,326,003
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

In our Seller's market, they are being pretty greedy, and even though they get thousands over appraised value, still won't do much on inspection items.   Bueyrs feel like they are getting the raw end of the deal.   Yes, I have.

Apr 16, 2016 10:07 AM
Rainmaker
695,893
Tony Lewis
Summit Real Estate Group - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Group Valencia & Aliso Viejo

There are 3 main reasons escrows cancel

  1. Home Inspection
  2. Loan Approval
  3. Buyer's Remorse
Apr 14, 2016 07:16 AM
Rainmaker
576,757
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

Yes, most memorable being my ex, in love with a money pit of a house with every kind of problem imaginable, structural, electrical, plumbing. I think it may be the easiest home inspection for the inspector ever, he could just go down the list and check "worst I've ever seen".  I did convimce her to cancel the contract, but it wasn't easy and never did get a thanks for avoiding that hell hole.

Apr 14, 2016 06:15 AM
Rainer
50,598
Suzanne Rumsey
Patterson-Schwartz Real Estate - Newark, DE
Rumsey Home Team (Patterson-Schwartz Real Estate)

Yes.  Buyer was buying an "as is" property with VA financing.  During the inspection, the basement started to flood when we ran the dishwasher.  Turns out they had a crack in the main sewer line.  The sellers could not afford to pay for the repair and the buyer did not have funds to do the repair to meet the contingencies of their VA loan.  

Apr 13, 2016 11:16 PM
Rainmaker
4,492,665
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Oh sure... and a couple of times I recommended to my clients that we go find another house even though seller was willing to make repairs.

Apr 13, 2016 09:30 PM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Yes, many times

Apr 13, 2016 11:53 AM
Ambassador
3,987,010
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I had one cancelled last month after the home inspection but the buyer's agent basically said that the buyer had a change of heart.

Apr 13, 2016 11:47 AM
Rainmaker
290,619
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

Yes, and that was even before the Seller was asked to make any repairs, after Inspections.  There was a toilet leak that was fixed in one bathroom, and the Buyer wanted a Mold Inspector out to see if there was mold, and wanted permission to take out a portion of a wall in the bathroom that backed up to an office/den.  That home is back on the market Peter Mohylsky

Apr 13, 2016 10:59 AM
Rainmaker
3,710,327
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

Peter Mohylsky Id did not happen to me, but I know happened to a Realtor a I know.

Apr 13, 2016 08:04 AM
Rainmaker
292,585
Jack Lewitz
Exit Strategy Realty - Evanston, IL

Yes

Apr 13, 2016 01:18 AM
Rainmaker
2,691,488
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Comes right to the edge sometimes but a reasonable negotiation & calm heads prevail every-time

Apr 12, 2016 11:53 PM
Rainmaker
7,038,403
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

Yes.

Apr 12, 2016 11:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,070,984
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

we've had some challenges - but so far - have kept them all together for closing...

Apr 12, 2016 11:02 PM
Rainer
98,773
Becca Rasmussen
HomeSmart Cherry Creek - Highlands Ranch, CO

I'm surprised that there are any "No" responses, lucky them!

At least in CO, the inspection objection clause is an out for the buyer (one among many) for whatever reason they want. It doesn't even have to be inspection related, heck an inspection doesn't even have to have taken place as the out is "at the Buyer's sole subjective discretion".

Apr 12, 2016 10:30 PM
Rainmaker
3,384,790
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

It has happened often, not as much in this market, but in a buyers market when buyers use the inspection to lower teh price of the home. Most often in an insection failures are a bad septic, failed water test or termites

Apr 12, 2016 10:04 PM
Rainmaker
915,898
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

The typical purchase contract in FLORIDA repeats many times the contract can be canceled at buyers sole discretion.  No reason is required. However, "I don't feel good about the inspection," allows justification without admitting they were not good faith partners in the purchase.

Listing agents would be well advised to protect the home owner.

 

Apr 12, 2016 09:54 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No.

Apr 12, 2016 09:35 PM