Admin
Gary L. Waters Broker Associate, Bucci Realty, Eighteen Years Experience in Brevard County (Bucci Realty, Inc.)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
2,443,260
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

I think the buyer needs to be the one who checks.

Jul 12, 2016 11:26 AM
Rainmaker
1,466,257
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Gary L. Waters, Broker Owner, Waters Realty of Brevard, LLC Since I live in a "Buyer Beware" State, the buyers should make this part of doing their due diligence.

Jul 12, 2016 06:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,713,276
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Not a part of the inspection.

Jul 12, 2016 06:17 AM
Rainmaker
5,773,797
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Gary,

I think that Ted Seastrom made a good point in having the buyer check this for themselves...especially in our litigious prone state of California.  A

Jul 12, 2016 05:36 AM
Ambassador
5,100,321
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I encourage the buyer to verify for themselves here in CA

Jul 12, 2016 01:56 PM
Ambassador
3,760,157
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH@properties - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

For years in DC almost nobody got building permits.  Lately, the DC government figured out that permits are a great way to add to the Treasury, so they've made the process reasonable easy and no longer totally corrupt, so people are getting them more often.  

Jul 12, 2016 01:46 PM
Rainmaker
5,118,764
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

Always a good idea..easy to check now as there is a city website.

Jul 12, 2016 12:19 PM
Rainmaker
4,434,227
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Buyers should check

Jul 12, 2016 10:24 AM
Rainer
231,274
Mike Rock
Complete Design - Granite Bay, CA
Granite Bay Luxury New Construction...For Less

fair question, usually inspectors wont. and you as an agent shouldnt , i would suggest the buyer, but they dont know what to look for. perhaps paying the home inspector to do so.

Jul 12, 2016 07:57 AM
Rainmaker
1,857,267
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Broker Retired

No the inspector does not. No I never do it for the buyer. If there is a question I only check & it takes awhile now with the FOI paperwork. Not like a phone call in the old days.

Great example was a home inspector said the deck was put on wrong &  when we checked, the builder put it on that way which was ok with the village in the end.

Many rehabs don't have permits.

Jul 12, 2016 07:09 AM
Rainer
352,976
Teri Pacitto
Compass - Westlake Village, CA
Real Estate, Your Style...Your Home...My Specialty

Only if I am buying the property myself.  I do not do that for a Buyer and assume that liability.  It's not a real estate agents job.  I will tell them where they can go to check, but if permits were never pulled they will not be available.  There are many variables with permits, code compliance and building and just won't take that risk.  

 

Inspectors -  They will not either as it is not their job to do that.  

Jul 12, 2016 06:44 AM
Rainmaker
2,810,404
Dick Greenberg
New Paradigm Partners LLC - Fort Collins, CO
Northern Colorado Residential Real Estate

Hi Gary - We automatically check on every listing we take and on every home our buyers have under contract. That was an early and expensive lesson.

Jul 12, 2016 06:42 AM
Ambassador
2,687,455
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

Check at time of listing, or when working with Buyer, check during contingency period. 

Jul 12, 2016 05:10 AM
Rainmaker
1,517,993
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

The buyer would need to check if they care.  In Thousand Oaks, a city report showing this is a mandatory part of the escrow process.

Jul 13, 2016 04:43 AM
Rainmaker
1,618,016
Harry F. D'Elia III
WEDO Real Estate and Beyond, LLC - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

I recommend the buyer to check out all information on the property such as permit history.

Jul 12, 2016 11:56 PM
Rainmaker
996,857
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I'm no expert on this so the answer is not part of the inspection process unless something is found on the property that doesn't match the appraisers site

Jul 12, 2016 11:11 PM
Rainmaker
5,049,990
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

My inspector does not check but tells the home buyer they can check into it.

Jul 12, 2016 10:58 PM
Rainmaker
5,330,717
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Oswego, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Not part of the inspection or my range of services. Possibly the title company or the buyer's attorney!

Jul 12, 2016 10:48 PM
Rainmaker
7,969,701
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

I would not count on the home inspector to check this.

Jul 12, 2016 10:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,072,430
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Coldwell Banker Realty

What Evelyn Johnston said...

Jul 12, 2016 10:08 PM
Rainmaker
5,173,301
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Inspection company does not... not part of the purview of their inspection requirements by the state. I don't pull permits; it's up to the buyers to do this as part of their due diligence (I may tell them where to go to do so, but don't want liability if I missed something). Sellers here have to disclose if there is work that was done that was unpermitted.

Jul 12, 2016 09:53 PM
Rainmaker
4,320,722
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Burlington, MA
Metro Boston Homes For Sale

Gary L. Waters, Broker Owner, Waters Realty of Brevard, LLC - If not there in disclosure, my home inspector insist on getting the permits from the sellers.

Jul 12, 2016 04:00 PM
Rainmaker
3,988,063
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I know the home inspector doesn't and I have never done it either. I don't think it is my job to check these tilte issues. The title company does check all things of record that involve the house.

Jul 12, 2016 12:41 PM
Rainmaker
3,986,358
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I do both

Jul 12, 2016 10:43 AM
Rainmaker
2,802,621
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

One assumes certain things within reason. This may qualify in some cases

Jul 12, 2016 09:44 AM
Rainmaker
922,268
Jeff Pearl
Samson Properties / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

We can look that up online now in some counties around here.

Jul 12, 2016 08:17 AM
Rainmaker
1,250,586
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

yes and yes. 

Realtors need to follow thru on the inspections also.

Jul 12, 2016 05:41 AM