Special offer
Hannah Williams,  Expertise  NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-820-3376 (HomeStarr Realty)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
613,494
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Tampa, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Tampa Home Buyers

It is called "fiduciary" duty.

If an agent claims to be a buyers agent, than they need to be there.  Representation is about putting the clients best interest above the agents.  No short cuts.

If the Buyers agent is not going to be there, than the sellers agent has a duty to protect the sellers property by being there.

If the licensee is acting as a transaction broker or non-agent with no fiduciary duties...they should still be there to make sure that they supervise who is entering the property.

Whats with all these lazy agents?

Eve

 

Dec 16, 2016 12:24 PM
Ambassador
3,595,232
Anna "Banana" Kruchten
HomeSmart Real Estate - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

No.  Sellers aren't present during a home inspection in my area.  It's custom to consider this the 'buyers time'.  I can't imagine NOT attending an inspection for any of our buyers.

Dec 16, 2016 03:22 PM
Rainmaker
4,598,785
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena And Southern California 818.516.4393

Yes, I attend even if the selling agent is at the inspection as I am representing the sellers' interests.    If the seller agent is there, I may not stay the entire time but I am there to introduce myself to the inspector, the buyers and the agent(if I don't know them).   I don't get involved in any discussion and will ask the selling agent to check with his/her buyers if it is possible to listen to the inspector's recap so I can report the findings to the seller.

Although I have discovered in my AR membership that this is not common in every market or with every agent, this is not unusual in most of the areas I cover.   

Dec 16, 2016 12:23 PM
Ambassador
3,383,709
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster Real Estate - Gainesville, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

If my seller wanted me there, I would be there.  I know most inspectors in our area want an agent present anyway.   

Dec 17, 2016 12:06 PM
Rainer
434,352
J.R. Schloemer
Kentucky Select Properties - Louisville, KY

I have attended as the marketing agent, but I do not like to do it. As Nina Hollander & Debbie Laity stated, I do not want to be around to have things said to me, I may need to disclose, especially knowing how some inspectors operate.

Dec 17, 2016 09:14 AM
Rainmaker
2,224,473
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

As the listing agent I don't attend the inspections. I don't want to know what the inspector finds. If I know I have to disclose. Remember the inspection is considered a fact finding mission on the house. It's not a matter of pass or fail. It's information for the buyers and sure some issues can come up. Then the buyers can deal with that under the inspection contingency according to our state regulations. 

When representing the buyers, the inspector asks us to show up for the last half hour when he goes through the house with the buyers and tells us the highlights of the report. 

Maybe my area is different because we are so small in population. The home inspectors are generally well known and they know they won't be working again if they screw something up and don't do what they are suppose to do. 

As my broker says...at some point you have to trust people in our industry, and our local home inspections are in that trusted circle. 

Dec 16, 2016 08:14 PM
Rainmaker
5,773,781
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Yes, I would, and I would not be "too busy".  A

Dec 16, 2016 04:49 PM
Rainmaker
530,198
Kathryn Acciari
Central One Federal Credit Union - Shrewsbury, MA
Mortgage Loan Originator

Tell the buyer's agent to have a sub there in his/her place, or reschedule the inspection. 

Dec 16, 2016 03:39 PM
Rainmaker
608,881
Mitchell J Hall
Manhattan, NY
Lic Associate RE Broker - Manhattan & Brooklyn

For my listing you better beleive I would be there. I'd be there even if buyer's agent was present. I agree with @Annette Lawrence I wouldn't trust buyer or buyer's agent alone in a home they're not familiar with especially since seller wants their agent to be there. Poor buyer that their agent won't be present. In my market inspections are done prior to signing contract so why would I give buyer the upper hand in negotiations? If buyer's agent was there, I'd stay out of their way but still would need to give access and show inspector where certain hidden things are located.

Dec 16, 2016 12:38 PM
Rainmaker
917,418
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

If I'm available, I'll go. Especially if seller asks me. The buyers agent should have called and explained the situation and why they couldn't attend, etc, but it's not mandatory for buyers agents to be there.

Dec 16, 2016 12:15 PM
Rainmaker
904,383
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Yes I would go to have an agent present, especially if seller asked. Would not be appropriate for inspector and buyers to be there without an agent. I have done this. 

Dec 16, 2016 11:59 AM
Ambassador
1,464,219
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

No, but I would reschedule so that she will be in attendance.  I'm ticked off right now because an inspection that was set up 3 days ago, notice given to 3 sets of tenants, etc. and I get a text from the BA saying oops, she was supposed to schedule it for Monday and not today, Friday!!!!!  And, to make it worse, I have another Buyer wanting to see the property that had to be postponed to tomorrow instead of today because of the booked inspection

Dec 16, 2016 11:56 AM
Rainmaker
921,504
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

You bet!

I also do not trust the buyer and buyer agent to be in the house for hours without supervision. Besides, should anything be found, I want to know what the issue is without needing to translate whatever pops into the inspectors brain.

Unfortuneately, those in attendance must be instructed, if you turn it one, turn it off. If you turn it up you must return it to original position. If you change the setting, restore it to origninal. If you break it, you will pay to fix it.  Everything in this house is working, functioning well. It must be the same when you leave.

 

Dec 16, 2016 11:47 AM
Rainmaker
5,893,824
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

The buyer's agent should have another agent step in for them.

Dec 19, 2016 12:12 PM
Rainmaker
1,280,848
Donna Foerster
HomeSmart Realty Group - Parker, CO
Metro Denver Real Estate Assistant

If my seller is uncomfortable, I would be present in the property.

Dec 19, 2016 12:07 PM
Rainmaker
4,434,177
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Yes. It is a good idea to go.

Dec 18, 2016 04:15 AM
Rainmaker
444,170
Dianne Goode
Raleigh Cary Realty - Raleigh, NC
Realtor/Broker

In North Carolina, the buyer's agent has to attend the inspeciton if the buyer does.  If the buyer doesn't attend, the agent is off the hook.

Dec 17, 2016 07:18 PM
Rainmaker
1,510,653
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

The buyer's agent should be there.  As a listing agent, I've let inspectors into homes but a listing agent should NOT be there as the listing agent should not have direct interaction with the buyers and a world of mess can happen if you give advice to the other party.

Dec 17, 2016 02:51 PM
Ambassador
3,356,159
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate Services

Hannah, that one reason being the seller is not comfortable would be a reason enough for me to be there.  And your client is correct, it is their job. However, we need to cover for the incompetents to ensure our clients are comfortable with the process.

Dec 17, 2016 01:36 PM
Rainmaker
856,482
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

I'd be there in that situation.

Dec 17, 2016 01:35 PM
Rainmaker
864,708
Les & Sarah Oswald
Realty One Group - Eastvale, CA
Broker, Realtor and Investor

It is the buyer's agent fiduciary duty to be present, not the listing agent. Unless, the home inspection is being paid by the seller, then yes, I would be present.

Dec 17, 2016 10:19 AM
Rainmaker
4,996,222
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

I always go as the buyer agent for my clients but I know of other agents that do not go.

 

Dec 17, 2016 09:43 AM
Rainmaker
993,652
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

If the seller asks me to be there then I will go - however I do not make a habit of going just because the buyers agent doesn't find it to be of value

Dec 17, 2016 08:00 AM
Rainmaker
1,731,827
Sandy Padula & Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Florida Realty Investments - , CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

As listing, or selling agents; we always attend. It is just part of our duty to our principals.

Dec 17, 2016 07:50 AM
Rainmaker
5,277,027
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Oswego, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

As a seller's agent I am present, but the inspection is set to my schedule!

Dec 17, 2016 06:51 AM
Rainmaker
1,617,976
Harry F. D'Elia III
WEDO Real Estate and Beyond, LLC - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

Every agent is different

Dec 17, 2016 06:28 AM
Rainmaker
3,416,088
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

As a listing agent i go to all inspections to be there for my seller. Knowing first hand can ward of possible problems and helps to stop buyer agents who want to re negotiate on the inspection items to get a lower price. 

Dec 17, 2016 04:56 AM
Rainmaker
5,136,569
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I don't... it's not my or my seller's inspection. It's the buyer's inspection. They can their agent can choose whether or not to attend. I've never had a seller ask me to attend a buyer's inspection. Besides, there just may be things we don't want to know as they would require disclosure once we do.

Dec 17, 2016 04:10 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,860
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Coldwell Banker Realty

Anna Banana Kruchten nailed this one!

Dec 17, 2016 01:21 AM
Rainmaker
634,532
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

I would be available on site for the inspector.

Dec 17, 2016 01:13 AM
Ambassador
3,754,043
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH@properties - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I would go to the inspection.  You might even learn something!

Dec 16, 2016 07:33 PM
Rainmaker
2,391,466
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

I think it is important to go if the buyer agent is not showing up - the seller shouldn't have to have the buyer in the house when unattended. 

Dec 16, 2016 07:33 PM
Rainmaker
4,800,132
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Yes, if the seller would be more comfortable, I would.

Dec 16, 2016 07:14 PM
Ambassador
5,290,430
Debe Maxwell, CRS
Savvy + Company (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The RIGHT CHARLOTTE REALTOR!

If your client asks me to attend with the inspector, I would definitely take my iPad (or laptop) and work while he is in the house...or send an assistant - someone who you trust to lock the doors and be sure that everything was left as the inspector found it.  

Dec 16, 2016 06:56 PM
Ambassador
2,684,960
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

   Yes.   I always attend the inspections, whether I am the LA or the Buyer's Broker.  I may sit in the car working on the laptop or making calls, but I want to be on site.  If there are serious issues, disagreements, misunderstandings, I want to be at the house to resolve them.

  

Dec 16, 2016 06:32 PM
Rainmaker
146,655
Damon Botticelli
Vegas Real Estate Photography - Las Vegas, NV
Real Estate Photographer

I don't believe it's necessary when using a licensed home inspector, but I will gladly attend if needed to make my seller comfortable.

Dec 16, 2016 06:03 PM
Rainmaker
508,387
Jerry Murphy, CRS, SRES
Long Realty West Valley - Anthem, AZ
Anthem, Phoenix, and Scottsdale AZ Real Estate

I always go to my buyer's home inspections.  If I'm on the listing side I don't go to the home inspection out of courtesy to the buyer's agent.  And yes, it is part of our job.

Dec 16, 2016 05:46 PM
Rainmaker
4,273,107
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

 It is required in the state of Washington to have at least one licensed real estate broker or agent attend the home inspection even if the home inspector has a MLS key box key......  so my answer is yes but it doesn't do the buyer justice if his agent wanted to hand the home inspection .....

Dec 16, 2016 04:35 PM
Rainmaker
7,906,530
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

No. There will be plenty to time to read the report and to ask any questions.

Dec 16, 2016 04:28 PM
Ambassador
6,458,014
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Good to have someone there, especially if your client suggests it.

Dec 16, 2016 04:23 PM
Rainmaker
1,157,791
FN LN
Toronto, ON

If I am acting as the listing agent only, I do not attend buyer inspections.

Dec 16, 2016 03:40 PM
Rainmaker
4,320,142
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Burlington, MA
Metro Boston Homes For Sale

Hannah Williams - one agent must be present at the home inspection is what I believe.

Dec 16, 2016 03:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,986,308
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

If my seller wnts me there, I will be there, but I will stay out of the way of the inspector

Dec 16, 2016 03:08 PM
Rainmaker
722,198
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

Absolutely you should go!

Dec 16, 2016 02:50 PM
Rainmaker
1,851,521
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Broker Retired

In our area either the BA shows up or it doesn't take place. 

Dec 16, 2016 01:32 PM
Rainmaker
4,933,390
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I made a business decission years ago not to attend regardless of who I represent.

Dec 16, 2016 01:30 PM
Rainmaker
1,466,257
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Hannah Williams If my seller was uncomfortable I would attend. The buyer's agent represents the buyer in all aspects of the transaction and should be there in attendance. I'm sure the agent wasn't too busy to write the offer.

Dec 16, 2016 01:20 PM
Ambassador
5,074,873
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

If the selling agent cannot be there (aand what's with that?) then as the listing agent I would definitely be there

Dec 16, 2016 12:27 PM
Rainmaker
564,494
Maria Sapio
Keller Williams of Central PA - Carlisle, PA
Real Estate Agent- Carlisle, PA. Mariasapio.com

Ultimately, if the seller is uncomfortable - then arrangements must be made to be sure the seller is comfortable knowing who is in the home.

Dec 16, 2016 12:18 PM
Rainmaker
3,988,013
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I

Dec 16, 2016 12:12 PM
Rainmaker
1,713,076
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I have an agent that sits in.

Dec 16, 2016 11:59 AM