Mimi Foster, Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor (Falcon Property Solutions)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
4,201,309
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

Mimi, it's a great idea to have the ducts cleaned but, like you, I wasn't aware that task requires a license!  That requirement seems a bit excessive!  

As for why it's suddenly showing up on multiple inspection reports - they probably just had an update course and this was the topic du jour!  

Apr 22, 2017 08:01 PM
Rainmaker
887,983
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

I learned a huge lesson 3 years ago when I couldn't understand why I smelled smoke in my garage. My dryer vent was clogged and dryer overheated. If fire department had not removed it from my garage it would have ignited. I was always conscientious about clearing lint trap, had ducts cleaned every few years, but did not know that the dryer duct is not included in a duct cleaning unless you ask for it and pay extra--I didn't watch that closely and assumed they did it.. Over 100k house fires annually originate in clogged dryer ducts.

Curious that you are getting these requests all of the sudden, but it's good to find out last time seller has them cleaned. Companies like Servpro and Coit will clean them inexpensively--about $125 for mine.

Apr 22, 2017 07:34 PM
Rainmaker
533,643
Steven Nickens
Wailea Realty - Wailea, HI
R(S)GRI ABR, Maui Real Estate Hawaii

Okay can't help you on duct work, but I keep hearing your name coming up as someone of great knowledge so thought I would check out your post.

Apr 22, 2017 09:12 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,837
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

There is no law saying you have to be licensed.  It is a scam to say so

Apr 22, 2017 08:22 PM
Ambassador
5,358,671
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Just say NO, if they are unhappy with the job that the unlicensed seller does they can do it themselves.

Apr 22, 2017 07:53 PM
Ambassador
3,037,439
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Maybe they were just looking for a good local busienss / resource to do the job. 

Apr 22, 2017 07:40 PM
Rainmaker
1,716,354
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

This seems to happen every spring. I can see that it's necessary but this time of year brings the 'squirrels' out of the woodwork.

I didn't know you had to have a license lol .

Apr 23, 2017 05:55 AM
Rainmaker
4,060,514
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Interesting.  While important, I can't recall ever seeing this on a request -- I'm sure there must have been a recent class discussing the subject --- I bet the sponsor of the class offered this service.  

Apr 23, 2017 12:24 AM
Rainmaker
1,214,087
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Chimney sweeps do that work, which is why they are saying "licensed" which may mean "certified".

I've never had that request.

Apr 22, 2017 10:50 PM
Rainmaker
5,527,257
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

I like Debe Maxwell, CRS response. A

Apr 22, 2017 09:01 PM
Rainmaker
1,104,814
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

Although they're not on the top ten list of house fire causes it can occur. Beyond that a clean dryer vent can save a lot of energy. Mimi Poppins you're not!

Apr 22, 2017 07:47 PM
Rainmaker
1,380,623
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Here's my dryer duct cleaning license.  Got it in Echo Park for $20

 

This sounds like a new class or buzzword.  Probably have to throw the phrase "licensed" around to CYA.

Apr 23, 2017 10:18 AM
Rainmaker
1,715,326
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

What Debe Maxwell, CRS said.  I never had that request but it's actually a good idea.  I think the "licensed" part might be just to verify it's been done.

Apr 23, 2017 07:55 AM
Rainmaker
808,847
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

Did the inspection report recommend a licensed person or did that come directly from the buyers and agents? I suspect there was a continuing ed class somewhere that recommended it. -Kasey

Apr 23, 2017 07:46 AM
Rainmaker
5,571,343
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

that's silly.... I'd tell the agent to go pound sand....

Apr 23, 2017 07:17 AM
Rainmaker
1,398,208
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

And next, they will ask to clean the water in baseboard heating system.

Apr 23, 2017 05:40 AM
Rainmaker
609,956
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

Some states require that all air duct cleaners be certified by the state to clean air ducts and have a mechanical contractors license.

I would think that the dryer duct would be included as an air duct.

Eve

Apr 23, 2017 04:49 AM
Rainmaker
6,545,029
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Apr 23, 2017 04:46 AM
Rainmaker
3,069,934
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Tell the Buyer Agent - find me a licensed dry duct cleaner and we'll get it done!! 

Apr 23, 2017 04:22 AM
Rainmaker
846,160
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Dryer fires are very common. Here in VA, and in many other States there is such a thing as being a Certified Dryer Exhaust Technician . Check with some of your local chimney sweeps, many of them are certified to clean and inspect dryer vents and have the equipment needed to do it properly. Not a joke, and it's outside the scope of your real estate license. They do license and certify them in your area. Looks like Ben Chesney is closest one to you.

dryer vent tech

Apr 23, 2017 04:17 AM
Rainmaker
4,056,567
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I don't know about licenses for cleaning dryer ducts. But often HVAC people do that as part of servicing and they do need licenses. By inspection notices, do you mean inspection reports? If so, all inspectors write up recommendations to use a "licensed so and so." If a lightbulb is burnt out they recommend a licensed electrician to change it.

Apr 23, 2017 03:22 AM
Ambassador
4,312,753
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Mimi Foster this is something that the home inspector says to clear himself (or herself.) Just a precaution.

Apr 22, 2017 10:44 PM
Ambassador
4,558,329
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Interesting. That has never come up for me...yet. Not sure they license people here to clean dryer ducts.

Apr 22, 2017 10:13 PM
Ambassador
3,986,660
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

That must be the new item coming down from the home inspector institute. I see new things from time to time and then all the inspectors follow suit.

Apr 23, 2017 06:49 PM
Ambassador
1,616,354
Harry F. D'Elia III
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

That is going too far

Apr 23, 2017 06:41 PM
Rainmaker
1,856,330
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker, eXp Realty - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

Maybe they just wanted a professional. I haven't heard of a licensed dry duct cleaner.

Apr 23, 2017 02:11 PM
Rainmaker
714,150
Brian L. Sirota, Esq.
Bristar Realty (Realtor/Attorney) - Orange, CA
For Solutions: (714) 501-7660

Meems, the easiest way to clean your ducts, keep them all in a row.

Apr 23, 2017 02:09 PM
Rainer
352,776
Teri Pacitto
Compass - Westlake Village, CA
Real Estate, Your Style...Your Home...My Specialty

Keeping dryer ducts clean is very important but I have not seen this come up on inspections.  I'm sure the local inspectors got that from one of their meeting when it was brought up or someone had an issue and possibly a fire from a dryer vent.  I've seen these issues come and go and they typically want to CYA. 

I have a great local HVAC Company that has this as part of their service and it's rather inexpensive depending on the span of the ducting.  It's a maintenance issue and something that should be done.  

Apr 23, 2017 11:41 AM
Rainmaker
549,486
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

We require licensed contractors for plumbing, electrical, Hvac work. Sellers often do other jobs themselves.

Apr 23, 2017 09:32 AM
Rainmaker
1,149,109
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

I clean out my dryer ducts while remove lint off clothing drier.  I vaccum air handling vents making sure there are no dust or debris. I do not have a license in cleaning. 

Apr 23, 2017 09:05 AM
Rainmaker
915,973
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I think it's a great idea - for a few bucks I'd hire someone!

Apr 23, 2017 07:12 AM
Rainmaker
4,174,664
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

Our contracts state repairs need to be done by licensed service provides UNLESS both buyer and seller agree to a handyman or someone not licensed. It provides for some latitude on items like this..common sense can prevail!!

Apr 23, 2017 07:01 AM
Rainmaker
1,456,827
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Mimi Foster I've only had one buyer who was from New Mexico ask this. It turned out my listing had mold spores in the duct work. My seller mitigated the problem and it closed.

Apr 23, 2017 06:35 AM
Rainmaker
2,634,337
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Anyone can get or make-up a license for anything. Who is the sourcing?

Apr 23, 2017 06:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,635,642
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

It is a new fad that many home inspectors are pushing. I think it filters down from fire inspectors and if the dryer is gas, the even more so. Perhaps the insurance companies are behind this too?

Apr 23, 2017 05:52 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,481
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I haven't run across this.

Apr 23, 2017 05:46 AM
Rainmaker
4,159,333
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I have used people who specialize in cleaning dryer ducts, but licensed? Not really sure. They did a good job!

Apr 23, 2017 05:43 AM
Rainmaker
1,707,423
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Never heard of this.

Apr 23, 2017 04:32 AM
Rainmaker
3,970,715
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

They should be clean but this is going to far.

 

Apr 24, 2017 04:50 PM
Rainer
318,713
Melissa Jackson
Century 21 Alliance Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

Name followed by Licensed and Certified seems like a marketing idea.  On the other hand, it may also state they have passed some background check. What do I know?  Licensed means the state gets money?  This service request could be something we more in the future. 

Apr 23, 2017 09:45 PM
Rainmaker
598,659
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

Seems ridiculous but it's probably due to heavy regulation in your market.

Apr 23, 2017 08:37 PM