Allie Angeloni (Long Realty )

Spam prevention
Ambassador
4,171,819
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

I've had to have them removed before and our state puts limitations on their removal so, a specialty critter company has to take care of that here! 

Apr 23, 2017 09:03 PM
Ambassador
5,324,720
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

They are common around here, especially in older homes near the river, where they feed on mosquitoes.

Apr 23, 2017 09:11 PM
Ambassador
2,559,590
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

  Bats fly around here at sundown, eating mosquitoes.  That makes them my friends!

Apr 23, 2017 06:33 PM
Ambassador
1,616,354
Harry F. D'Elia III
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

The bats need a place to stay also

Apr 23, 2017 06:30 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,831
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

In my area bats are very common.  I have seen colonies of over 25

Apr 23, 2017 06:26 PM
Ambassador
3,986,660
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

We had bats at our office a couple of years ago and found out they had migrated there because of the termites that were in the wood on the front porch. Better get that checked. In our case the bats alerted us to the termite problem.

Apr 23, 2017 06:23 PM
Ambassador
4,540,411
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Haven't run into that here, but we used to find them or evidence, in the attics of homes back in New England. Good luck

Apr 23, 2017 07:49 PM
Rainmaker
1,828,820
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

No

Apr 23, 2017 07:35 PM
Rainmaker
2,630,488
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I have seen them around sunset flying around at times but not in a home

Apr 23, 2017 06:19 PM
Rainmaker
4,162,568
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

Only under the bridge in Austin..we have lots of bats!

Apr 23, 2017 06:16 PM
Ambassador
2,066,237
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

We owned a house with cedar siding and wood shutters for a few years that was surrounded by woods.  We had little bats living behind the shutters and I didn't mind except for the occasional smell from the bat guano which btw is sold as fertilizer. Eventually we removed the siding and the bats had to move out. We had built them bat houses but they didn't like those. We never had a bat in the house and they did take care of lots of bugs. 

Apr 24, 2017 04:24 AM
Rainmaker
4,015,210
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

No I haven't... but I will say that there is surely never a dull moment in our business.

Apr 24, 2017 04:21 AM
Rainmaker
1,839,776
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker, eXp Realty - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

Yuck. I have not seen this, nor do I want to. Blech.

Apr 24, 2017 02:54 AM
Rainmaker
746,145
Debra Leisek
Bay Realty,Inc Homer Alaska - Homer, AK

Be careful about removing them... here they are considered an endangered critter so you cannot kill them... you have to dissuade them from returning. We do have them here and it is an issue because you are not allowed to exterminate them  

Apr 23, 2017 11:57 PM
Rainmaker
859,956
Bruce Walter
Keller Williams Realty Lafayette/West Lafayette, Indiana - West Lafayette, IN

Allie, about the only bats I see during a home inspection are in the garage and they say:            LOUISVILLE   SLUGGER

Apr 23, 2017 06:19 PM
Rainmaker
5,485,542
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Allie,

I hope they do so humanely, they are very helpful creatures.  I have seen bats flying.  A

Apr 23, 2017 06:17 PM
Rainmaker
1,707,397
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Nver seen that.

Apr 23, 2017 06:13 PM
Rainmaker
1,205,688
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Bats? I see them every night. We have bats where I live and growing up partially in Napa region, we had them there too. No fear of bats.

Apr 24, 2017 06:04 AM
Rainmaker
3,315,838
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

More often it is 1 or 2 bats in an attic. For large colonies it has always been in a barn or out building. Here they will relocate bats from a home to rural areas, they are great bug eaters

Apr 24, 2017 05:52 AM
Rainmaker
1,711,437
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Yes only once & it freaked me out.  They are supposed to be good to have around until they go under your shingles & do a bunch of other things. 

They were just talking abut a bat house on This Old House.

Apr 24, 2017 05:24 AM
Rainmaker
4,036,315
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Not yet.  Thankfully.   

Apr 24, 2017 04:57 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,481
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I haven't come across any.

Apr 24, 2017 04:44 AM
Rainmaker
6,497,359
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I have never seen bats in a home.

Apr 24, 2017 04:30 AM
Rainmaker
675,450
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

I haven't seen them in the house but I've heard about it from people who have had them. They usually first notice them when they hear noise by the roof at night. 

Apr 24, 2017 04:21 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,485
FN LN
Toronto, ON

No.

Apr 24, 2017 12:53 AM
Ambassador
4,312,753
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Allie Angeloni - interesting! Never seen them....

Apr 23, 2017 11:07 PM
Rainmaker
1,044,289
Dave Martin (703) 585-4687
Fairfax Realty - Fairfax, VA
Making Realty Dreams a Reality #WeWillGetYouHome

They are common around here, especially in older homes but even newer have them... they are a helpful creature :-)

Mar 30, 2018 07:42 PM
Rainmaker
4,846,071
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

This would be different, and think we do not have bats here.

Apr 26, 2017 07:33 AM
Rainmaker
814,432
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Bats are good; we actually looked into building a bat house, but they need to be pretty big. Bats consume a huge, huge about of mosquitoes and we know those bugs have been carrying some nasty diseases.

Apr 25, 2017 02:22 PM
Rainmaker
3,941,604
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

wow, that is weird to see them I bet.

 

Apr 25, 2017 10:09 AM
Rainmaker
1,511,879
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Reading comments since I never experienced such issues. 

Apr 24, 2017 01:37 PM
Rainmaker
596,874
Alexander- Slocum
Premiere Property Group, LLC - Vancouver Washington - Vancouver, WA
Realty Team- Vancouver WA Real Estate

Haven't seen any yet at a property inspection.  Saw a Barn Owl last year in a nice old barn!

Apr 24, 2017 01:22 PM
Rainmaker
1,375,627
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

YOU FOUND THE BAT CAVE!!!!!

Apr 24, 2017 09:33 AM
Ambassador
3,247,717
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS, CRB, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

Not in many years!  My very first home I bought at an auction while in  college had bats in the attic - that was an interesting issue to handle!!

Apr 24, 2017 09:29 AM
Rainer
258,899
Mick Michaud
Distinctly Texas Lifestyle Properties, LLC Office:682/498-3107 - Granbury, TX
Your Texas Lifestyle is Here!

Had bats at our cabin in Colorado.  Between the shutters and the windows.  You can set up bat houses in nearby trees if you want to keep them around.

Apr 24, 2017 09:17 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,583
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No.

Apr 24, 2017 08:32 AM
Ambassador
3,029,453
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Not in my area ... have not encountered them.

Apr 24, 2017 08:26 AM
Rainmaker
1,708,079
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Reading the comments, this appears to be good fodder for an educational blog topic.

Apr 24, 2017 08:06 AM
Rainmaker
808,797
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

In a real estate deal or inspection, no.  But when I lived a a camp for the summer they were in the attics and cabins where we lived and all over. -Kasey

Apr 24, 2017 07:48 AM
Rainmaker
1,525,205
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

I've never seen that!

Apr 24, 2017 06:42 AM
Rainmaker
913,623
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I've neer seen bats in a house myself

Apr 24, 2017 06:31 AM
Rainmaker
381,362
Lynda White
Bluegrass Homes & Farms Realty, Agent Know How - Louisville, KY
Admin. Mgr., Keller Williams Realty

We have SO many mosquitoes I'm surprised there aren't bats in our backyard! I like them though, they are just curious and don't want to hurt humans unless humans mess with them.

Apr 24, 2017 06:25 AM
Rainmaker
1,453,627
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Allie Angeloni I haven't seen any in quite a while. I would be worried about that 1%.

Apr 24, 2017 06:22 AM
Rainmaker
4,121,907
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Luckily no issues with bats during my career!

Apr 24, 2017 06:21 AM
Rainmaker
5,571,077
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

no.... and I don't ever want to....

Apr 24, 2017 06:14 AM
Rainer
17,015
Mary Hamilton
North Beach, NJ

You'd better hurry with the bat colony removal because stats you've mentioned about rabies can be not so calming, you know.

Sister of my schoolmate died from rabies because of bat's bite. Be careful!

Apr 24, 2017 06:11 AM
Rainmaker
3,964,422
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I have never seen a bat in my life, but would not think it would be very desirable.

Apr 24, 2017 05:44 AM
Rainmaker
3,069,934
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

I have not

Apr 24, 2017 04:58 AM