Patrick Chicklinski, 918-946-4218, NMLS # 469258 (Branch Manager at FBC Mortgage, LLC)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
902,692
John Meussner
Mason-McDuffie Mortgage, Conventional Loans, Jumbo Loans, FHA, 203(k), USDA, VA, - Walnut Creek, CA
#MortgageMadeEasy Walnut Creek, CA 484-680-4852

As a mortgage lender, my biggest complaint is how much marketing is done by people who don't even know how to get a loan closed - they focus on making money but not on becoming good at what they do, and it makes everyone look bad.

Best attributes are good with communication, detail oriented, and tremendous focus on customer service for both clients and business partners

Sep 07, 2017 11:03 AM
Rainmaker
1,557,759
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

I don't have any complaints from the people I work with. They all do a good job.

Prompt replies & updates are important.

Sep 07, 2017 10:02 AM
Rainmaker
241,250
Joseph Domino 480-390-6011
HomeSmart - Scottsdale, AZ
Real Estate Made Easy

My biggest complaint with some mortgage lenders (I won't name names), is that there is no one person who monitors the transaction from application through closing.  They have a system where person A does their part, then throws it over the wall to person B, who in turn throws it over the wall to person C. If something goes wrong in the process, no one is tracking it until it gets to the end and finds out something is wrong or missing.

Sep 07, 2017 09:47 AM
Rainmaker
3,364,878
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

No complaints about the people I use. They are professionals, that is why I prefer them.

Sep 07, 2017 11:48 AM
Rainmaker
3,127,715
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

The good ones close on time and keep me informed.

The bad ones are not cognizant of closing dates.

Sep 07, 2017 08:59 AM
Rainmaker
5,119,415
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

we have a wonderful mortgage officer who we use....and the difference between him and others is that he does not throw it up against the wall to see if it will stick.... he follows up and keeps all of us in the loop....and we close deals....

Sep 07, 2017 08:54 AM
Rainmaker
1,368,321
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Complaint: Poor communication... keeping the agent and buyer updated on the status of a loan.
Favorite attribute: Just the opposite. Those who DO communicate and keep the agent and buyer updated on the status of a loan.

Sep 07, 2017 08:39 AM
Rainmaker
748,796
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

BIGGEST COMPLAINT - they weenie-wag about being able to close a transaction in rapid time, only to come back demanding extensions (of course never through fault of theirs). If you can't do it in 30, tell us at the beginning you need 60!
FAVORITE ATTRIBUTE - my very favorite loan guy vets borrowers so carefully his deals never bounce. As a broker, with 3 offers all otherwise the same, his financed deals go to the top of the pile.

Sep 07, 2017 01:20 PM
Rainer
53,318
Joe D'Agostino
NMLS# 729950 - Manahawkin, NJ
Mortgage Officer 46 years!

Patrick Chicklinski:With 50 years in the Mortgage Business, you can blame Dodd-Frank for the lack of the one person does all. Dodd-Frank took away my ability to even talk to an appraiser, the underwriter on the mortgage is isolated from the loan originator and with so many new regulations (thanks to Dodd-Frank and the CFPB) it take more people involved in the transaction. Next time you go to a closing, understand that Nation-Wide, fees are up $2,100. Why, because all these Government agencies have people that need to get paid. Where is it coming from. Your buyers who need a mortgage. As Paul Harvey said, "Now you know the rest of the story." And yes some people in the mortgage world do not stay on top of their loans.

Sep 07, 2017 10:30 AM
Ambassador
4,069,694
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Lack of communication and follow-up, not closing per the contract are the major grips.

Sep 07, 2017 10:00 AM
Rainmaker
547,292
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

I want someone who is as smart as me, is experienced, knows all the in's and out's, works nights and weekends and can close a crappy file...

Eve

Sep 07, 2017 09:29 AM
Rainmaker
4,572,909
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Patrick,

We were fortunate to always have the best around us.  A

Sep 07, 2017 09:07 AM
Rainmaker
525,764
Dave Halpern
Keller Williams Realty Louisville East (502) 664-7827 - Louisville, KY
Louisville Short Sale Expert

Some L/O's declare "approved!" way too early

Sep 07, 2017 11:01 PM
Ambassador
3,443,326
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

My LOs are all AMAZING and I have absolutely ZERO complaints with them.

However, when doing a deal on the other side with one, O M G - those who put our file on the back-burner drives me NUTS! I love it when they meet or beat the deadlines, not make me keep having to stay on them to do their jobs.

Lastly, I hate the the LO on some deals passes us to the processor and then the underwriter and the poor buyers have no idea to whom the documents go. When you f/u with the LO, they have no clue what is going on with the file. 

#RantOver

Sep 07, 2017 05:06 PM
Ambassador
3,983,699
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

Lack of communication is number one complaint and saying they can do something and they can't pull it off is number two. Favorites are those that keep their word and stay in touch.

Sep 07, 2017 04:06 PM
Ambassador
1,655,961
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I am very particular about working with lenders with service and expertise.

Sep 07, 2017 03:14 PM
Rainmaker
1,263,312
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Love communication.  Working a deal right now with a lender who has a staff that automatically gives updates every step of the way... and I'm the LISTING AGENT!

 

Biggest complaint, is when the person gets too big for their britches and decides they'll only give quality service to the clients that refer the most business to them and the people who put "All buyers must pre-qual through Joe Schmo at Schmuck Lending" the most.  Leaving the rest of the agents out in the cold.  We've had buyers litterally in tears in the ass hat's office because he was costing them their house.  He even screwed me up on one of my purchases!  Needless to say, I stopped doing business with him and found a better agent and company to give my business to!

Sep 07, 2017 02:37 PM
Rainmaker
3,212,013
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I have no complaints as I work with a small number of lenders who I know deliver service to my clients. However, for those that I don't know, it's not meeting deadlines they've indicated they are able to meet.

Sep 07, 2017 12:13 PM
Rainmaker
3,983,713
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Good ones know what they are doing...I don't have any bad ones!!!

Sep 07, 2017 09:54 AM
Rainmaker
5,503,158
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I try to avoid those who do not follow up with prospects.

Sep 07, 2017 08:23 AM
Rainmaker
4,432,467
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

They do not return phone calls

Sep 12, 2017 04:05 AM
Rainmaker
4,160,424
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

They probably don't like REALTORS, but some never want to keep you in the loop as a listing agent.   Best attributes is when they do!  

Sep 10, 2017 03:56 PM
Rainmaker
1,559,320
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Underwriter demands and failure to communicate effectively.

 

Sep 09, 2017 03:48 PM
Rainmaker
486,626
Jason E. Gordon
AmeriFirst Financial Inc, San Diego, CA - San Diego, CA
Sr. Loan Officer, CMPS, CDLP, CDRE, RCS-D, CDPE

As a Lender, I find many of these comments to be spot on.  That said, not all Lenders are alike in terms of professionalism/diligence/competency/etc (in the same spirit that we would all agree that not all Real Estate Agents are alike). There are proactive Lenders who based their entire business plan on reputation and accountability. In order to maintain this type of business, these particular Loan Officers are forced to communicate more, be more proactive, underpromise/overdeliver, and do their jobs in a manner that makes all parties happy with their performance.  I recommend each Agent find a Loan Officer local to them who possesses these traits and formulate a long lasting partnership. As long as there are non-cash Buyers, you will have a Lender involved in these Escrows...might as well stack the deck in your favor and work with someone you trust (who takes their partnership with you seriously).

Sep 08, 2017 02:34 PM
Rainmaker
1,957,970
Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573
MOOERS REALTY - Houlton, ME
Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker

When the processing mortgage loan center is on Pluto or other solar system, the servicing is weak. Not a criticism but a fact. Use your local close to home servicing so deals don't die waiting and seller pulls up the tent stakes, screaming "Next buyer". Avoid the gypsy lenders / title companies with no stick and bricks in your town to protect the local economy too.

Sep 08, 2017 11:59 AM
Rainmaker
4,797,822
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

The biggest complaint is for those that make promises they can't deliver.

Favorite would be those that do.

Sep 08, 2017 09:46 AM
Rainmaker
3,242,251
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Lack of communication and last minute surprises

Sep 08, 2017 09:31 AM
Rainmaker
2,826,511
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

No complaints for those that know what they are doing and get the job done!

Sep 08, 2017 09:21 AM
Rainmaker
941,060
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor e-Pro, CRS, RCS-D, Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

They tend to screw up our time-frames by over promising and under delivering.

 

That said, Jason E. Gordon is all about my favorite attributes of a proper mortgage lender.

Sep 08, 2017 06:58 AM
Rainmaker
569,260
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

Right now, I don't have any complaints. They are all extremely hard-working and I appreciate that.

Sep 08, 2017 06:49 AM
Rainmaker
745,065
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

They try to scare borrowers into expensive rate locks (often unnecessary) and points (usually too expensive and also not necessary). 

Sep 08, 2017 06:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,384,127
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Patrick Chicklinski Some don't believe in meeting contractual dates. You are at the mercy of the Underwriter. A lender you can trust and who comes through.

Sep 08, 2017 06:09 AM
Rainmaker
3,054,229
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Lyn Sims nailed this one!

Sep 08, 2017 05:52 AM
Ambassador
4,301,228
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Patrick Chicklinski - he gets the job done is my most favorite part!

And at times, I am in dark is my not-so-favorite part.

Sep 07, 2017 10:48 PM
Ambassador
2,363,840
Fred Griffin, on leave of absence from ActiveRain
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

 "My" lenders are great.  But now and then I encounter someone outside my sphere who has poor communication skills, or doesn't get the loan closed on time.

Sep 07, 2017 09:09 PM
Ambassador
4,367,633
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Get the job done, and done on time, and keep the client informed.

Sep 07, 2017 08:46 PM
Rainmaker
2,485,072
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

They must always be present & accountable for the length of the transaction

Sep 07, 2017 03:45 PM