Lynnea Miller, Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon (Bend Premier Real Estate)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,231,218
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Lynnea Miller Very interesting, I cannot top your story.

Oct 25, 2017 03:26 PM
Ambassador
3,766,699
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

My own purchase 3 years ago (but, not as interesting as yours)! We had have to engineers, land specialists, a surveyor and city planners put their heads together to figure it out!

We had a dried up creekbed under our house and had to have 84, 25-foot pylons drilled into the ground as our foundation! It wasn't cheap but, I do have to say that we have not seen one foundation crack or nail pop in 3 years!!

 

Pilons

Oct 25, 2017 04:47 PM
Rainmaker
1,417,089
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Can't think of anything right now....

Oct 25, 2017 02:37 PM
Rainmaker
1,631,617
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Wow, mother nature is the boss no matter where the house is built. That's a weird thing as the spring could be there & sudden not there.

I remember as a kid there was a 'spring' that literally would bubble up like a water fountain if it rained alot. They built new constuction near it -  I didn't think that was a great idea considering what I saw it do.

Oct 25, 2017 02:27 PM
Rainmaker
1,077,127
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

It was a 7 story house with staircases that went to the ceiling, doors and stairs that go nowhere, windows overlooking other rooms and stairs with odd-sized risers...and ghosts. This was truly a mystery house.

Oct 25, 2017 07:38 PM
Ambassador
4,841,781
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

That is an interesting one, all they needed to do was sink a sandpoint into the spring and they could had their own private spring water.

Oct 25, 2017 09:10 PM
Rainmaker
3,730,638
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

I was representing a buyer of a hillside home that had previously been flipped by a real estate agent/owner.  The home was on a lot that the seller thought and disclosed was on public sewers.   There were some irregularities with the inspection findings and my clients called in a plumber who stated the property was not connected to sewers and the septic system was failing.  My clients cancelled the transaction, the property went off the market and then was relisted about a year or so later.  

Oct 25, 2017 08:56 PM
Rainmaker
643,350
Steve Higgins
RE/MAX Kelowna - Kelowna, BC

So far I haven't had any. Sounds like yours could have been a nightmare had they not pursued it. 

Oct 25, 2017 05:50 PM
Rainmaker
5,976,293
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

All is fine if the deal goes to settlement. Your skills will get you there.

Oct 25, 2017 05:20 PM
Rainmaker
5,003,005
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Lynnea,

Wow that is an amazing phenomenon!  Nothing of interest in our experience. A

Oct 25, 2017 02:29 PM
Rainmaker
1,316,042
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I've had a few, but I can't remember any of them off hand.

Oct 25, 2017 02:24 PM
Rainmaker
5,442,068
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

most mysteries are water collection issues.... I had a few new homes that flooded with every rainfall and creating a swale in the side yard resolved it.... grading issue....

Oct 25, 2017 02:22 PM
Rainmaker
705,949
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
West USA Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

Twice.... once with thousands of bats in the roof... and the other with a bee's nest inside a wall, that had 176 lbs of honey.

The biggest case was in Paradise Valley, AZ (nothing to do with me but deserving of a mention) was $4M cash stashed into a wall. The owner died. The house was sold to new owners. The money was discovered 9 months later during a renovation.

Oct 26, 2017 09:16 AM
Rainmaker
3,067,302
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Mary Yonkers nailed this one!

Oct 26, 2017 05:26 AM
Rainmaker
586,911
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

i can't think of anything off the top of my head that beats your example.

Oct 26, 2017 05:15 AM
Ambassador
3,985,488
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I had a listing that had been built with a swimming pool in the living room floor that had been floored over. This was a new discovery for me.

Oct 25, 2017 08:32 PM
Ambassador
2,491,588
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

   Is the fluttering noise in the walls coming from bats, or mice.  Both!

Oct 25, 2017 06:23 PM
Rainmaker
563,223
Maria Sapio
Keller Williams of Central PA - Carlisle, PA
Real Estate Agent- Carlisle, PA. Mariasapio.com

Your story tops any situations I've encountered.

Oct 25, 2017 04:46 PM
Ambassador
1,706,758
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

A waterfall coming through the fireplace.

Oct 25, 2017 03:42 PM
Rainmaker
3,564,883
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Sorry, but I really can't recall such an instance. Glad you worked yours out.

Oct 25, 2017 03:32 PM
Rainmaker
831,478
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

The most frequent mystery that goes unsolved is the orphaned light switch that gets removed (solved).

However, one I recall is the haunted house. Lights turning  on, doors unlocked, things getting moved around.  A soda can on the counter. Batteries removed from detectors.

Turns out the owner had given the neighbor a key many years ago (and forgot) and when they vacated the neighbor was doing the neighbor thing and keeping an eye on the place.

Of course, last showing agent is the first suspect. But after many instances, I finally found the neighbor fitting the key into the door while I was inside.

Oct 25, 2017 02:37 PM
Rainmaker
3,531,085
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

A door that open just to a wall, no where else.

 

Oct 27, 2017 11:09 AM
Rainmaker
781,372
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Where the raccoon was living in the basement.

Oct 26, 2017 01:53 PM
Rainmaker
4,798,978
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I'm still waiting for mine to appear.

Oct 26, 2017 08:40 AM
Rainmaker
2,902,440
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Seller/builder insisting that the water in the catch pan is supposed to be there.  Hum. Only if the sucker is leaking!  Rather than deal with that level of stupid we just hired an HVAC company to repair it.  

Oct 26, 2017 08:16 AM
Rainmaker
1,417,977
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Lynnea Miller High lead content in well water. The mystery was that no one could figure out where the high concentration of lead was coming from. It turned out that the joints on the pump in the well were soldered with lead solder which was leaching into the water. A new pump was installed and a whole house filtering system was installed to fix the problem.

Oct 26, 2017 07:45 AM
Rainer
116,985
Christine Kankowski North SD and Temecula
House Match Inc - Poway, CA
Excellent Sales and Property Management

Didnt find the answer in the home isnpection, but a seller indicated that one downstairs bedroom always got much colder than any other room and elderly mother lived in there.

My buyers felt the same thing.  Finally when doing a minor drywall repair, they found no outside insulation around the entire room.  Originally there had been an option t make it a 4th car garage, but was opted to be a bedroom instead.  Some corners were cut, etc.  Mistery solved.  I guess grandma wasn't exagerating in complaining all those years. !  

Oct 26, 2017 06:50 AM
Rainmaker
1,058,544
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

A purchaser of a "model" found out that the rush to meet the deadline of a grand opening caused too many shortcuts in their electrical circuitry. My pitch to get a home inspection often begins with that example proving that age doesn't necessarily matter. Looks can be deceiving whether it's new, old or a flip. Always get the inspection, it's an inexpensive way to establish a baseline for condition.

Oct 26, 2017 06:25 AM
Rainmaker
3,708,679
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

A dishwasher in an island without power!

Oct 26, 2017 05:44 AM
Rainmaker
3,207,746
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I had a new home they built on a dry stream. Although dry in summer in spring they had a stream through their basement

Oct 26, 2017 05:42 AM
Rainmaker
4,432,971
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

none

Oct 26, 2017 05:28 AM
Rainer
212,763
Dennis Swartz
Full Circle Property Management - Columbus, OH
MBA, GRI...experience counts!

Home inspector could not find the main water shutoff anywhere-has to have one-right?

Oct 26, 2017 02:07 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,587
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

A roof leak that traveled half way across the home before dripping

Oct 25, 2017 08:57 PM
Rainmaker
2,570,073
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I like your story....

Oct 25, 2017 03:35 PM
Ambassador
4,307,764
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Something similar to what you saw - under crawl space.

Jul 08, 2018 09:47 PM
Rainmaker
1,507,472
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

The biggest mystery for me happens after the inspection and after closing. Things that were seems in a perfect condition break for no reason. 

Oct 30, 2017 10:40 PM
Rainmaker
4,441,591
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Lynnea, that is quite the story, and at the moment, cannot think of anything topping that one! 

Oct 28, 2017 02:26 PM