Jeff Pearl, Full Service Full Time Realtor (RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
782,806
Peter den Boer
Atlanta Communities - Woodstock, GA
MBA,GRI, Associate Broker, Realtor

No but I should. I guess I am like the Ostrich with its head buried in the sand. Note to self...Go clean Glock and put back in car...

Dec 07, 2018 07:56 AM
Rainmaker
3,870,062
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Don't sponsor agents anymore.  I know the clients I work with.

Dec 07, 2018 07:26 AM
Rainmaker
1,707,297
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

If I still worked traditional real estate I would.

Dec 07, 2018 07:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,596,476
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty Condos for Sale and Rent

Yes, always.

Dec 07, 2018 11:07 AM
Rainer
132,673
Ken Jones, ASA | Broker & Appraiser
Kenneth J. Jones, Inc./Global Valuations - Newark, NJ
Commercial Real Estate Broker & Appraiser

Jeff Pearl Those who refuse to take reasonable precautions are merely rolling the dice when it comes to their personal safety.

I've long advocated a safety protocol for agents, including the carrying of a firearm and being proficient in its use.

As time has passed, agent safety has proven to become a more and more important issue.

Dec 07, 2018 10:12 AM
Ambassador
5,210,990
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

So sorry to hear this, we were just having a safety talk yesterday with our team.

Dec 07, 2018 08:21 AM
Rainmaker
1,696,989
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

No we really do not.

Dec 07, 2018 08:08 AM
Rainmaker
3,955,009
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

I know "escape" routes but don't "review" them with any regularity. 

Dec 07, 2018 07:58 AM
Rainmaker
867,714
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

So sad for the victim and his family. I hope that the killer is quickly found.

Dec 07, 2018 07:37 AM
Rainmaker
1,361,378
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Yes.  I review it daily and practice it regularly...

Dec 07, 2018 09:58 AM
Rainmaker
1,672,360
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

How very very sad!  My heart aches for his family. I hope there really were cameras in the house and the killer is found quickly and justice served. 

Dec 07, 2018 08:24 AM
Rainer
482,397
Bruce Kunz
C21 Solid Gold Realty, Brick, NJ, 732-920-2100 - Howell, NJ
REALTOR®, Brick & Howell NJ Homes for Sale

Very sad story.

Keeping alert is my plan. There are so many ways someone can do another harm in any instant that it's impossible to plan too much more in advance.
Bruce

 

Dec 07, 2018 08:14 AM
Rainer
116,985
Christine Kankowski North SD and Temecula
House Match Inc - Poway, CA
Excellent Sales and Property Management

I dont do open houses anymore.  Even when I did, I had someone with me just walking the property.

It can be scary out there.  Had one client who called out of the blue wanting to see a property (Unknown person)  He gave off such a weird vide, I let him walk the vacant home alone while I waited outside.  I wont ever meet a random at a property after that. 

Dec 07, 2018 08:13 AM
Ambassador
3,000,740
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Sitting ducks in an open house. Woman have been raped and tortured in builder open homes out in remote areas with no one around but the stalker waiting to do harm. 

It is unfortunate that another life was lost in a homicidal crime. 

Dec 07, 2018 08:13 AM
Ambassador
2,545,279
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

   Rest in peace, Steven Bernard Wilson.

Dec 07, 2018 08:11 AM
Rainmaker
966,503
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

The world is just plain going crazy. I'll have to get a concealed carry permit

 

Dec 07, 2018 04:28 PM
Rainmaker
2,062,259
Evelina Tsigelnitskaya
SIB Realty - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
www.SIBRealty.org 305-931-6931

Oh, gosh. 

 

Dec 07, 2018 12:29 PM
Rainmaker
3,397,487
Brian England
Vacasa - Gilbert, AZ
MBA, GRI, REALTOR® Real Estate in East Valley AZ

I have never even established a safety plan, but I should probably develop something for myself.

Dec 07, 2018 10:41 AM
Rainmaker
2,610,050
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I am the safety plan live and in action...

Dec 07, 2018 10:23 AM
Rainmaker
5,570,642
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

Cow Country here.... no murders.... they kill the cows and we heat filet mignon....

Dec 07, 2018 09:28 AM
Rainmaker
3,903,769
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I read that. Very sad. That's one reason I don't do open houses, especially by myself. I'm always very conscious of staying safe.

Dec 07, 2018 08:41 AM
Rainmaker
1,135,737
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

That is unfortunate.

Dec 07, 2018 08:17 AM
Rainer
146,558
Susan Hale
Re/Max Realty of Defiance,Inc. - Defiance, OH
Re/Max Northwest Ohio Realtor

That is so sad to hear!  The criminals are vicious psychopaths without hearts or souls.  I give my husband names, phone number & address of new customers I am meeting at  vacant or occupied homes.  He calls me about 10 min after meeting time.  We have a code word. Our broker has said to let him know if we are feeling unsure about a questionable customer situation & someone will go with us.  With our caller id,  I search their number if possible, verify county records if they are a home owner and search Linked In or Facebook also for info about them. 

Is there an APP or website to search cell phone numbers yet?

Dec 07, 2018 01:40 PM
Rainmaker
806,727
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

That is always sad to hear. We usually think "it won't happen to me"... can't be too careful. I just use common sense as my safety plan and yes, I have been to safety courses.

Dec 07, 2018 12:28 PM
Rainer
294,287
Libby Cousins
Extraordinary Processing - Spokane, WA
Contract Mortgage Processor, licensed in WA

What is with people?!

In this day and age, you always need to have a safety plan, no matter where you are. Concert, club, movie, dinner, shopping - it doesn't matter. Gone are the days when you just needed to be careful walking in a sketchy part of town after dark. 

Dec 07, 2018 11:45 AM
Rainmaker
6,365,174
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Sad news. Personal security should always be a priority. 

What is Ryan doing to protect their sales reps?

Dec 07, 2018 10:57 AM
Rainmaker
5,363,456
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Jeff,

We worked in the nicest areas in Los Angeles.  We did not need to worry about that.  Our days were spent in the biz world, and when we showed large office properties, there were security guards and you had to sign in and show you drivers license...A

Dec 07, 2018 08:57 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,306
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Sorry to read about this.

Dec 07, 2018 07:58 AM
Ambassador
4,657,613
Kathy Streib
Room Service Home Staging - Delray Beach, FL
Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224

Jeff- this is so sad and a reminder that no matter where we are, we have to be aware of what's out there. So sorry for his family. 

Dec 08, 2018 05:41 PM
Ambassador
3,020,447
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I'm married to a cop and I put security at the top of my list of important things for me and MY agents. Rarely do they go on 1st appointments alone and if they do it's because they already know the buyer/seller.  It's foolish to take risks 

Dec 08, 2018 03:21 PM
Rainmaker
1,717,546
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

I do not, I should.

Dec 08, 2018 03:15 PM
Ambassador
4,090,382
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

So sad, Jeff. We review safety measures prior to every open house. 

Dec 08, 2018 10:28 AM
Rainmaker
665,453
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

Realtor Safety is so important. 

Dec 08, 2018 09:04 AM
Rainmaker
1,623,872
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Another supporting argument that we should all be 'packing'.  Sad event!

Dec 08, 2018 07:59 AM
Rainmaker
3,069,684
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Absolutely!

Dec 08, 2018 07:34 AM
Rainmaker
4,017,012
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

When I managed an office, we did do a regular safety review. Working in new construction, we had "key words" that indicated assistance may be necessary. You can never be too careful!

Dec 08, 2018 05:33 AM
Rainer
138,995
Anthony Kirlew
Group 46:10 Network @ eXp Realty - Gilbert, AZ
Helping You Make Fiscally Sound Choices

That is simply horrible and my prayers go out to his family.

I don't want to start a gun debate, but the fastest way to stop someone with a gun who has ill intent, is to meet that person with a gun. I don't beleive in gun laws because they only limit law abiding citizens from having guns. The bad folks will never obery gun laws.  #EndRant

 

 

Dec 09, 2018 08:22 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,771
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I do and I practice with my friend most every few weeks.

Dec 09, 2018 04:18 PM
Rainmaker
3,833,632
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Wow, I did not know this.  I do not pack but offer my services to other agents if they want to team up to show homes if they are worried.

 

Dec 09, 2018 11:31 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,483
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Sad,

Dec 08, 2018 02:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,044,289
Dave Martin (703) 585-4687
Fairfax Realty - Fairfax, VA
Making Realty Dreams a Reality #WeWillGetYouHome

Review it no have one in place yes

Dec 13, 2018 06:34 PM
Rainmaker
4,732,180
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

This was SO sad to hear we lost another professional in our business!

Dec 11, 2018 08:13 AM