Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS, South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker! (Fathom Realty Washington LLC)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,840,366
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Broker Retired

We've discussed this here before & I've gotten heat for it but I will not step up to make the deal happen if the other agent is not performing.

I will not go to the inspection as I represent the seller only - BA can't go then it's not going to happen. I don't want the liability at all. I don't want to give the buyer any direction what so ever.

No way to showings no matter how it helps my seller. Agent do your frickin' job - end of story.

May 08, 2019 05:01 AM
Rainmaker
4,313,005
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Condo and Home Specialists

We just got an accepted offer on a condo and the agent said to Larry "if you want the deal to go smoothly you are going to have to send the paperwork to my clients attorney as I am much too busy"...

May 08, 2019 04:07 AM
Rainmaker
5,096,466
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I don't show homes for other agents and I don't step in for them for things like inspections. Do I need the liability? Do they need the liability? I also don't ask other agents to do this for me, either.

May 08, 2019 03:57 AM
Rainmaker
1,046,944
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

See, the thing about that is that most of us will do what it takes for our clients. But when you are a chronically irresponsible agent sloughing off your duties to a cooperating broker, you find that over time fewer and fewer deals come your way because grown ups don't want to babysit your ass.

May 08, 2019 02:58 AM
Rainmaker
1,189,527
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Evolution - 447 Boston Street, Suite #5, Topsfield, MA - Topsfield, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

It seems to happen more frequently. I do what I have to do to make the transaction work. If the other agent isn't holding up their end of the deal I will step in. If it's egregious I will speak with the principal broker

May 08, 2019 06:00 AM
Rainmaker
3,415,644
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Sadly.... ALL the time it seems. Buyer agents not showing up for inspections, or one yesterday who couldnt even show up to first showing an dasked me to show her buyers but she would write any offers. I did as i had another showings and the guy said he called cause he saw on her website even though my listing, he said he never spoke to her just got an email to come at noon and i woudl meet her???

May 08, 2019 05:40 AM
Rainmaker
5,194,073
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Sure. Sometimes you yield and sometimes you hold your ground!

May 08, 2019 05:12 AM
Rainmaker
1,619,416
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Agents do not frustrate me as much as working with a lender who does not answer the phone( or answer in any other ways) and loan contingencies expired. Everyone, absolutely everyone is holding their breath waiting an update and hopefully a green light. In my experience some lender reps disappear for days or even weeks. You feel like a hostage. 

May 07, 2019 10:55 PM
Rainmaker
4,555,011
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Pasadena And Southern California 818.516.4393

A real estate transaction involves lots of moving parts.  Clogs and/or glitches happen. Expected and unexpected.  

May 08, 2019 06:37 AM
Rainmaker
5,583,173
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

I was always a listing agent.... and when the deal went together, I insisted on contact info for the buyer....if the buyer's agent did not function properly, I took over....no permission needed....

May 08, 2019 05:51 AM
Rainmaker
2,233,760
Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573
MOOERS REALTY - Houlton, ME
Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker

95 percent of our sales are list, sell, one broker, moi. That is what happens in small rural markets so less issue with the other side of the sale. Less layers of players Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS !

May 08, 2019 05:36 AM
Rainmaker
1,723,026
Sandy Padula & Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Florida Realty Investments - , CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Yes. We would never represent a buyer for inspections at one of our listings, and for showings, the most we have done is opened a home if the buyer's agent was from our of the area and did not have the proper electronic key, and then, only if convenient for us.

May 08, 2019 07:14 AM
Rainmaker
921,504
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Hmmm, business model number 1.

Be competent, accurate, knowledgeable, timely and thorough

Business model #2.

There are lots of agents like #1 so I can expand my bandwidth by dumping my work onto the 'whatever needs to be done' agent. And we will both be paid the same. 

Until the readers (aka other agents) devise an appropriate response to dumpers, other than crying like babies, Model #2 makes the most business sense.

In the example you give, 90% of FULL SERVICE agents do not attend showing, inspections, appraisals or even follow through on repairs.  Many of them won't recognize this question is about THEM!

Have they asked me? Yes.

Did I capitulate? Yes.

When this situation occurs, do you see it a green light to 'pitch' the citizen regarding your exceptional solutions?  Of course that is not playing nice in the sandbox but prohibiting such action simply perpetuates the dumping business model.

May 08, 2019 06:22 AM
Rainmaker
2,776,081
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Many agents go missing in action when they should be on the battle-field

May 08, 2019 06:18 AM
Rainmaker
7,794,784
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

Sure. You have to do whatever is necessary to complete the transaction.

May 08, 2019 06:06 AM
Rainmaker
2,219,617
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTAcondos.com
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

I am flexible within boundaries  

May 08, 2019 05:06 PM
Ambassador
6,358,770
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Many times the agent who is not doing their part is totally unaware of what is expected, may be time to have a discussion on expectations.

May 08, 2019 07:59 AM
Rainmaker
5,772,353
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Paul,

Can't think of an instance for us. 

May 08, 2019 07:00 AM
Rainmaker
756,085
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

I just covered a walk through for the buyer's agent last week but I haven't covered another agent's inspection or showing. I did the walk through because it was pretty much a done deal at that point. Early on in the deal (inspections)- or prior to there being any sort of deal (showings)- those are on the other agent to figure out. 

May 08, 2019 06:43 AM
Rainmaker
715,949
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
West USA Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

Maybe it's the way I read the question.... but I do help the co-operating agent as required, within reason from time to time... depending.... who it is, etc... as the transaction floats.

... and sometimes, it's an opportunity in disguise. I've inherited new clients this way in the past... 😁

May 08, 2019 06:37 AM
Rainmaker
1,598,452
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty Condos for Sale and Rent

I am with Lyn

Jun 02, 2019 12:43 PM
Rainmaker
4,903,568
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

To often and wonder what they are thinking.

 

May 13, 2019 09:11 AM
Rainmaker
898,068
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Oh, yes.

May 10, 2019 07:52 AM
Rainer
1,190
lulah lafah
368poker - Alachua, FL
http://www.368poker.net

agen poker online terepercaya 368poker.net

May 08, 2019 08:25 PM
Rainmaker
1,498,718
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I've had agents ask me to open the door for an inspector because they had other commitments.  Depending on the agent and what the backstory is and how nice they've been, I'll usually do it.

 

I've also had agents completely drop the ball on representing their clients and I've had to ask Brokers to step in and take over the deal.

May 08, 2019 03:43 PM
Rainmaker
1,296,186
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

I do not stand in the way of taking care of me clients interests. Sometimes it might mean going the extra mile. I will not let others take advantage of me but I will do what I consider to be reasonable.

May 08, 2019 10:48 AM
Rainmaker
1,237,595
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

often.

May 08, 2019 10:13 AM
Ambassador
3,339,834
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate Services

Not for inspections.  However, I have many that can't seem to get their poop together with the disclosures.  I assist in every way possible in that regard because it is my job to get the disclosures to the buyers/agents. It boils down to laziness in my opinion.  They can access the online disclosures - they just don't want to take the time. It is easier for them if I send them.

May 08, 2019 08:08 AM
Rainmaker
2,374,774
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co Notary Services retired RE Broker

Not that I remember Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS 

May 08, 2019 07:52 AM