Spam prevention
Rainmaker
636,872
Carla Freund
Keller Williams Preferred Realty - Raleigh, NC
Carolina Life RealEstate & Relocation 919-602-8489

Most items are too small for a licensed contractor. It is common to use someone with a specific trade - electrician, plumber, roofer, etc. We use handymen for a lot of the punch list items.

Oct 20, 2019 07:10 AM
Rainmaker
3,178,658
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

It has nothing to do with state requirements... NC contracts call for repairs to be done in a workmanlike manner. And who does repairs depends on the nature of the repairs. Some even a home owner can do (like replace a burnt-out light bulb).

Oct 20, 2019 06:55 AM
Rainmaker
741,014
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Our AZ RPC calls for repairs to be done 'in workmanlike manner'. So seller can make repairs themself if it is done properly and Buyer accepts it.


FOR FLIPS . . . Statute requires that any repairs made to put a home on the market exceeding $1000 be performed by a licensed contractor.

Oct 20, 2019 06:54 AM
Rainmaker
3,101,509
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Our contract addresses repairs as follows: "Unless otherwise agreed i nwriting (i) Seller shall complete all agtreed repairs and treatments prior to the Closing Date: and (ii) all required permits must be obtained; and repairs and treatments mst be performed by persons who are licensed to provide such reparis or treatments or, if no license is required by law, are commercially engaged in the trade of poroviding such repairs and treatments".

Oct 20, 2019 06:52 AM
Rainmaker
5,085,727
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

always a person licensed in that particular trade.... and a bill on letterhead....and a paid receipt.

Oct 20, 2019 06:24 AM
Rainmaker
785,219
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

I always suggest the use of licensed contractors

Oct 20, 2019 06:22 AM
Rainmaker
755,782
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Both, since most handy persons in this area are licensed.

Oct 20, 2019 07:07 AM
Rainmaker
424,594
Dan Pittsenbarger
Keller Williams Western Realty - Bellingham, WA
Improving Conditions

I typically have attention on "is the job done correctly" more than who did the job. However we have the workman like manner language and the lic & bonded language in our inspection addendum.

Oct 20, 2019 07:15 AM
Rainmaker
3,342,071
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I have used both depending upon the scope of the work!

Oct 20, 2019 09:39 AM
Rainmaker
3,395,041
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

There is a way to complete every task...  Our state purchase agreement sets a guideline...

Oct 20, 2019 08:10 AM
Ambassador
1,660,265
Alan May
Jameson Sotheby's International Realty - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

There are no Illinois requirements that I'm aware of. It's more about what the buyer has specified in their inspection repair requests.

If they've said that the GFCI's need to be installed by a licensed and bonded electrician, (and we've agreed to that), then we can't hire some handyman to do it.

Oct 20, 2019 07:25 AM
Rainmaker
2,811,310
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

I echo what Nina Hollander said.  If I am doing the hiring I hire only licensed contractors.  I check the license status and insurance status. 

Oct 20, 2019 11:34 AM
Rainmaker
1,257,382
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Anyone can do it.  From a licensed contractor to the home owner or bubba and his roll of duct tape.

Oct 20, 2019 10:55 AM
Rainmaker
706,120
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

It depends on the type and amount of work to be done.

Oct 20, 2019 10:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,553,372
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

ours doesn't say as Alan May mentioned but in our attorney state they put in there by a licsensed person. Many things are ridiculous & we just use a handyman who is less costly.

Oct 20, 2019 10:52 AM
Rainmaker
741,645
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

It is up to the sellers to select a trade professional to do the work to code.

Oct 20, 2019 07:33 AM
Ambassador
820,460
Mimi Foster
Falcon Property Solutions - Colorado Springs, CO
Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor

We have no legal requirements. When someone asks for a licensed electrician to change a light bulb, we counter in the Inspection Resolution. 

Oct 20, 2019 12:32 PM
Ambassador
2,882,403
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

Depends upon the scope of the work.  If need be we ask in the request for a licensed electrician or plumber, but for example last week a dryer vent had come lose, we don't care who reconnects it.... if the homeowner wants to do it himself that's fine or a handyman.  

Oct 20, 2019 12:26 PM
Ambassador
1,651,421
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

When required.

Oct 20, 2019 12:16 PM
Rainmaker
1,084,762
Gary Frimann, CRS, GRI
Eagle Ridge Realty / Signature Homes & Estates - Gilroy, CA
REALTOR and Broker

Small stuff, handyman.  Larger, more expensive stuff, contractor.  

Oct 20, 2019 10:43 AM
Rainmaker
529,330
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

I insist on licensed contractors for plumbing, electrical or anything that needs a permit. In quite a few cases especially after a pest inspection, that company will give a quote and be able to fix items. And here, they are licensed to do that.

Oct 20, 2019 01:45 PM
Ambassador
3,403,195
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

As long as it's done in a workmanlike manner and, following repairs, performing the function for which it is intended, it can be done by a 5th grader! 

It's the option of the buyer, to re-inspect all repaired items and my recommendation to do so.

Oct 20, 2019 01:15 PM
Rainmaker
2,476,045
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

A good handyman and a good licensed contractor are both the same

Oct 20, 2019 12:00 PM
Rainmaker
1,030,223
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Lat 14 year it has been AS IS sale. 

I tried to fix the easy ones. I disclose the others with a recommended contractor name.

Oct 20, 2019 11:33 AM
Rainmaker
776,683
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

In Tampa Florida the status of HANDYMAN has become a criminal offense. The SHERIFF runs sting operation to put the HANDYMAN in jail.

If one is on a limited budget, the only option is a contractor for those living in Tampa.

On my side of Tampa Bay, it is understood a contractor is not needed to fix wood rot or replace the lift on a sash, reverse outlet polarity or even install a GCFI.  Based on the stress the seller is currently experiencing, often I choose to make the issue disappear in a professional manner with appropriate craftsmanship.

In one instance I fixed the inspector identified problem by pressing my toe against the plug to seat it in the receptacle. Would you hire a contractor to correct a 'the problem' of an inspector searching for relevance?

Oct 21, 2019 05:38 AM
Rainmaker
2,975,771
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

It all depends on the issue

Oct 21, 2019 03:03 AM
Ambassador
4,325,697
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Generally, always a decision made by the seller.

Oct 20, 2019 09:47 PM
Rainmaker
450,278
Tom Bailey
Margaret Rudd & Associates Inc. - Oak Island, NC

It depends on what the issue is! Some problems require a licensed contractor, some do not 

Oct 20, 2019 07:34 PM
Ambassador
3,034,889
Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland
HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400 - Pikesville, MD
Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

 

If we recommend...the contractor must be licensed and we are responsible for checking the status each year.

Oct 20, 2019 07:14 PM
Rainer
452,446
Rose Mary Justice
Synergy Realty Pros - Dandridge, TN
Synergy Realty Pros

Workmanlike manner, but it stands to reason if it is a specialty such as hvac then the person should be qualified to do the work. Most buyers will specify this on the proposal.

Oct 20, 2019 06:40 PM
Rainmaker
1,639,587
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor

Both Peter Mohylsky it depends on the job.

Oct 20, 2019 06:30 PM
Ambassador
4,049,531
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Depends on who is doing the hiring, what the issue is, and what the contract says.

Oct 20, 2019 05:51 PM
Rainmaker
1,221,590
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty

No, Peter, never happened. I wish I could help.

Oct 20, 2019 03:14 PM
Rainmaker
4,537,426
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Peter,

Yes licensed...it is worth the peace of mind.  A

Oct 20, 2019 02:43 PM
Rainmaker
568,215
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

Licensed contractor. Would be hard to get a receipt from a day laborer.

Oct 20, 2019 01:18 PM
Rainmaker
414,425
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

In Oregon, handymen need to be licensed for limited construction work.  Our purchase agreements note that "licensed contractors" need to be utilized for repairs.  

Oct 21, 2019 07:19 AM
Rainmaker
164,899
Eva B. Liland Century 21 Doug Anderson
Century 21 Doug Anderson - Lancaster, CA
Glad to be of Service 661-714-1643

It depends what work needs to be performed. If the RR is asking for a licensed contractor, our RRR might say "be performed to the buyers satisfaction by a skilled handyman".

Oct 21, 2019 07:02 AM
Rainmaker
4,136,234
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

It depends on how the inspection objection is written, whether they are requiring a licensed contractor, plumber, electrician, etc.  Some homeowners are capable, and just make a phone call.

Oct 28, 2019 03:09 PM
Rainmaker
3,228,639
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

It depends on how you write up the inspection resolution.

Oct 24, 2019 09:52 AM
Ambassador
2,896,360
Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, GRI, WLS
Phoenix Property Shoppe - Phoenix, AZ
603-380-4886

That depends on the repair. Electrical, AC, etc we use contractors but for simple other stuff we've got the best handyman in town.

Oct 21, 2019 11:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,555,364
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

We leave that decision up to our client

Oct 21, 2019 07:27 AM