Tammy Lankford,, Broker  GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville (Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,750,895
Alan May
Jameson Sotheby's International Realty - Evanston, IL
There's no place like home.

I'm happy to have that conversation... I'm even happy to reach out to the other agent on their behalf (if they'd like)... communication is a good thing, and I like the fact that they value my opinion.

Sep 11, 2020 03:51 PM
Ambassador
2,491,308
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

  Hi, Tammy

      They trusted me enough to list their house; now they want my advice.  I will have that conversation.  But not past the point of unauthorized practice of law, or interfering with another Broker.  And, that conversation is verbal... no text, no email, nothing in writing.  Just a friendly talk.

Sep 11, 2020 03:13 PM
Ambassador
2,376,572
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Red Rock Real Estate - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

They are calling you asking for advice, they trust and value your opinions and experience. Hear them out at least.

Sep 11, 2020 06:50 PM
Rainmaker
642,883
Steve Higgins
RE/MAX Kelowna - Kelowna, BC

Yes, I would help them, it all part of giving good service. They must trust you more than the agent they have in the new city, I would take that as a compliment. I'm sure if they have friends or family looking to list or buy they will be telling them how you helped them.

Sep 11, 2020 05:40 PM
Rainmaker
801,074
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

They are my clients. Just not on that purchase. It would not matter whether there is a referral in place or not. I would, in either case, have whatever discussion with them that they want to have...keeping in mind that they have an agent and it is important that I do not do anything to get them cross ways with that agent.

Talking to that agent, as suggested by Alan May, would be a good idea, also, so that all are clear about what is happening. 

Sep 11, 2020 05:50 PM
Rainmaker
822,328
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

You are in the same state? You know the contracts, procedures etc?

Why isn't the buyer going to THEIR agent though? 

I'll listen, but I'm not interfering unless I feel they are possibly being led astray and then suggest the broker for their deal handle it! 

 

Sep 11, 2020 04:11 PM
Rainmaker
596,396
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Santa Clarita & OC Laguna Nigel

I will help anyone at anytime.  It's my nature and the greatest respect for someone to care about my opinion.  

Sep 11, 2020 03:04 PM
Rainmaker
460,946
Dan Pittsenbarger
Keller Williams Western Realty - Bellingham, WA
Improving Conditions

I would talk with them for awhile to get my own grasp of the situation. And if the situation sounds complicated or that there may be more to the story or something I would have to see first hand - then I would recommend that they work with their agent and respond in a manner that they are happy with. If it's straight forward and I have a clear "I would do this" opinion of the matter, I would go ahead and tell them what I would do.

Sep 12, 2020 06:01 AM
Rainmaker
3,561,747
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I will certainly provide advice with the proviso that I don't necessarily know how properties are sold, negotiated, closed in another state or city. There's lots of ways to provide advice without "interfering" with a contract.

Sep 12, 2020 04:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,076,375
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

That discussion is for their buyers agent. I'm only discussing the listing.

Sep 11, 2020 08:46 PM
Rainmaker
1,631,056
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

I would provide advice as they are showing they trust you. Trying not to interfere with them being represented by you on the listing side is tough.

Sep 12, 2020 05:58 AM
Rainmaker
4,999,554
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

ABsolutely.  A

Sep 11, 2020 08:52 PM
Ambassador
3,178,537
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA - Bristow, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

I'd let them talk and listen.  Ask what their agent is advising.  No intention of interfering, but happy to be a sounding board.

Sep 11, 2020 06:37 PM
Rainmaker
2,569,593
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

This is an excellent question...Who met who first comes to my mind which supports that you have the right as do they to discuss...

Sep 11, 2020 06:06 PM
Ambassador
2,972,981
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

well in the end I told them what "I" would do in their shoes.  It had to do with "let the sellers make repairs" or "ask for price adjustment and make repairs post closing"

Sep 12, 2020 02:33 PM
Rainmaker
897,228
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

I tell them to have that discussion with the agent they are using

Sep 12, 2020 07:42 AM
Rainmaker
831,253
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Of course I have that conversation.
The question lacks sufficient detail to say otherwise.
Are these 'buyers' deliberately flying solo? 
Are they buying from a builder/investor?
If represented, what does the 'buyer' agent advise? (no referrral implies representation by another agent)
Is the ''question' inspection specific such as 'Is a Westinghouse power panel really a problem?" Clearly that question is seeking confirmation.

VERY often a citizen gets saddled with and agent who should have left the business a decade ago. To abandon this citizen who has fallen into the trap seems like the wrong thing to do.  Such abandonment could and should have consequences for the agent who says, 'Not my job."
There is a right and wrong way to do this. I have never engaged the remote agent who did not appreciate SUPPORT from a trusted adviser.

Sep 12, 2020 06:15 AM
Rainmaker
3,206,883
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Yes and i would have already had the conversation when we first me to avoid them going off on their own

Sep 12, 2020 06:01 AM
Rainmaker
585,610
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

Personally...

I consider "clients" for life.

There is NO such thing as INTERFERANCE if the consumer calls you.

Would I answer their questions?  Absolutely!

I have been screwed in a real estate transaction by a broker...it is not fun, and I would not want that on any of my former clients.

Eve

Sep 12, 2020 09:03 AM
Rainmaker
2,901,809
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

I would listen. Ask questions. Understand the facts. Understand their concerns. I would ask them what they want to do. What does your agent have to say about this situation?  Gather information sufficient to make an informed decision. 

Depending on the fact pattern, I would explain how the agency relationship works and how I would feel if an agent from another city/state were discussing negotiation strategy with my client. It might be best to have the clients ask the buyer agent IF they are open to a conference call with their agent who is selling their home. 

Thou shalt not interfere!  

Sep 12, 2020 07:45 AM
Rainmaker
4,437,718
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Yes, as long as it does not interfere with the other agent's advice.

Sep 12, 2020 06:30 AM
Ambassador
3,764,041
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

I'll listen but, not interfering.

Sep 20, 2020 02:08 PM