Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,411,315
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Michael,

You got me on my high horse on this one.  Why would anyone in their right mind not want a home inspection?  It enhances the process, no one wants to discover all kinds of problems after the sale.  A

Aug 06, 2015 05:59 AM
Ambassador
4,299,501
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Michael Thornton we live in a relative world!

It's MUST and very helpful for buyers and just a requirement to complete the transaction for the sellers! (Or should I say, buyers feel it helps and sellers feel it hinders - though have to comply with the process.)

Aug 06, 2015 01:00 AM
Rainmaker
2,250,764
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Michael. Loaded question for sure. The only answer, it depends, but as long as the inspection was done well, that is all that matter.

Aug 05, 2015 07:25 PM
Rainer
488,392
Sara Wagner
Woodland Management Service - Adams, WI
The Forestland Experts!

Hinder, but it is important.

Oct 21, 2018 03:06 PM
Rainmaker
756,816
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

The home inspection process is essential. The inspection should never reveal anything the owner and listing agent did not know and have made contingency for addressing.

It is the commentary of the inspector that hinders the process.

Aug 05, 2015 10:34 PM
Rainmaker
3,241,166
Sally K. & David L. Hanson
EXP Realty 414-525-0563 - Brookfield, WI
WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce

It generally is a huge help...except when the inspector is less than knowledgable and raises issues that are not issues but part of routine systems maintenance.

Aug 05, 2015 09:39 PM
Rainmaker
1,488,078
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Help!, no other answers should be here:)

But I've seen the ''affordable'' inspectors who do basically nothing. Those are just a waste of time. The home-buyer must  hire the best inspector they can find. The good one will help to save a lot of money telling what is really going on with that house.

 

Aug 05, 2015 05:25 PM
Rainmaker
798,009
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
Good Company Real Estate www.ChandlerRealEstate.weebly.com - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

Michael - I just think it is necessary for the buyer to know what they are purchasing.

To be honest, I would say more often than not, it will hinder the process because it will typically result in more negotiations between both parties, depending what is discovered. However, I would never want to conduct a transaction without one.

Aug 05, 2015 04:39 PM
Ambassador
4,173,805
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

It removes a lot of doubt and anxiety.

 

 

Aug 05, 2015 04:34 PM
Ambassador
3,982,889
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I feel like it is a necessary component to the sale. Generally it is just a bump in the road and requires a little finesse to get through it.

Aug 05, 2015 01:31 PM
Ambassador
2,860,652
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

Well that depends upon the players.  If their are safety items and a seller won't repair and the buyer won't repair before closing it can hinder.  Mostly it's just information and does neither.

Aug 05, 2015 01:06 PM
Rainmaker
3,310,014
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Knowledge is power.  So overall, the home inspection process helps the property transaction process.  There can be glitches along the way.  Stuff happens.

Aug 06, 2015 11:23 PM
Rainmaker
2,394,939
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

Neither! It lets the Buyer know exactly what they are buying.

Aug 05, 2015 12:58 PM
Rainmaker
1,675,376
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

Sometimes it hinders the process, but it is well worth it.

Aug 05, 2015 12:44 PM
Ambassador
3,083,264
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
RE/MAX Northwest. - Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority!

A loaded question but I will bite; the inspection process almost always helps my buyers get a snap shot condition report to help them make a sound decision on any property. 

On the other hand it gives my sellers an excellent idea of any condition that might get called in an inspection; was called by a professional, not cousin jed...

Aug 05, 2015 12:30 PM
Rainer
230,468
Mike Rock
Complete Design - Granite Bay, CA
Granite Bay Luxury New Construction...For Less

if beer bottles are present, it helps it. :)  I think in the long run, it helps. at any given moment, it may hurt it

Aug 05, 2015 11:37 AM
Ambassador
1,893,084
Cindy Jones
Integrity Real Estate Group - Woodbridge, VA
Pentagon, Fort Belvoir & Quantico Real Estate News

I think it depends on all of the parties to the transaction.   All parties need to realize during negotiations it is a business transaction and not take anything personally.

 

Aug 05, 2015 10:31 AM
Rainmaker
195,659
Jill Moog
Coast & Country Homes and Estates, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
Carlsbad, CA Homes for Sale

I think it really helps. At least the buyer knows what they are getting themselves into before it is too late.

Aug 05, 2015 09:48 AM