Roger D. Mucci, Lets shake things up at your home today! (Shaken...with a Twist 216.633.2092)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,263,553
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

Apr 08, 2016 11:57 PM
Rainmaker
846,015
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

Facts please nothing but the facts and btw I did not start the rumor!

Apr 08, 2016 11:34 PM
Rainmaker
3,183,493
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Hi Roger... you mean we shouldn't believe anyone's lying eyes? Seriously, I'm all about not opining unless I know facts and if I feel moved to opine I need to disclose upfront that I don't necessarily have command of all the facts.

Apr 08, 2016 11:34 PM
Rainmaker
784,496
Susan Laxson CRS
HomeSmart Professionals - La Quinta, CA
Local Knowledge & Global Network

Speculation can be a wild guess or someone just trying to figure something out. I respect the opinions of others, even when it appears to be based on their own experience and not on all the facts.

Apr 08, 2016 11:40 PM
Rainmaker
3,105,791
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Facts!!!  How can I argue with someone when they have all the facts.

Apr 08, 2016 11:30 PM
Rainmaker
2,477,696
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

In courts of law, they will get out of you what factually took place ignoring your opinion using questions and answers. Called testimony, deposition or an affidavit, it is still subject to reasonable doubt or preponderance of evidence unless the famous end all appears; the smoking gun! Fact of all facts

Apr 09, 2016 12:11 AM
Rainmaker
1,101,438
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Very strong words.... 

Apr 08, 2016 11:45 PM
Rainmaker
938,730
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor e-Pro, CRS, RCS-D, Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Active Rain is where I come to avoid the rumor mill and deal with the experience and facts of others' years in the business, to see what's going on around the country through good agents and learn. If we're not posting facts, I'll cancel my subscription to AR and buy the Enquirer instead.

 

 

Apr 09, 2016 01:00 AM
Rainmaker
5,472,237
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Are facts now required in this section?

Apr 09, 2016 12:14 AM
Rainmaker
3,400,345
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Curiosity killed the cat, but for a while I was a suspect - Steven Wright

Yeah, yeah I know it doesn't answer your question but it seems an appropriate response in my mind.

 

Apr 08, 2016 11:46 PM
Rainmaker
3,211,244
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Home and Condo Specialists

Only if they can cleverly answer them like you do Roger!

Apr 08, 2016 11:39 PM
Rainmaker
4,543,656
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Roger,

Well, there are so many who don't what they are talking about, and never look at the facts and get upset when you show them the facts.  What is sad is when I hear the facts repeated as a mantra just because someone said it. A

Apr 09, 2016 08:25 AM
Rainmaker
1,556,034
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

It is always fun to start a rumor? Is that what you are saying here?

Apr 09, 2016 02:47 AM
Rainmaker
832,262
Diana Zaccaro
Tropical Beachside brokered by eXp - Cocoa Beach, FL
"The Accidental Blogger" Cocoa Beach, Florida

IF you choose to voice an opinion without knowing the facts (as with a rumor circulating), preface your opinion with "It sounds like" or "Based on the information provided" or some other type of disclaimer. Of course, the best response would be no response.

I had a similar situation recently where two people told me different things about an agent which sounded completely out of character for that agent. What those people did not know is that the agent is a good friend of mine so I called and asked the agent point blank if the rumors were true.

That's just how I roll, though.

 

Apr 09, 2016 02:30 AM
Rainmaker
1,349,704
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

We are naturally inclined to speculate without the facts.  Perception becomes reality unless the facts are made available. 

Apr 09, 2016 02:01 AM
Rainmaker
3,983,537
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Many times that is how the facts come out is by opinions that others know or feel are wrong and the truth gets searched for

Apr 09, 2016 01:07 AM
Rainer
97,766
Carol Wilson
Your $imple Home - Toronto, ON

Where there is a mind, there is an opinion, and often several.  And the opinions may oppose!  (That's called hypocrisy or talking out of both sides of the mouth.) Voicing an opinion and whether we should do so is a matter of how well we discipline the mind.  Mine could use a little work, lol!   :  )

Apr 09, 2016 12:40 AM
Rainmaker
1,270,144
Raymond E. Camp
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services - Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

I am speculating that it will come out in the wash soon!

Apr 09, 2016 12:32 AM
Ambassador
1,651,731
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

As long as we realize that we are not entitled to our own facts, I think we can proceed. For me I think certainty can be be arrogance misunderstood.

Apr 09, 2016 12:27 AM
Rainmaker
1,031,298
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Where is your hard data substantiate your claim?  I always ask.

Apr 09, 2016 12:11 AM
Rainer
138,489
Chrissi Chapman Topoleski
Re/Max Real Estate Connections - Haymarket, VA
HOME~There is no place like it!

It's hard not to voice an opinion when you know the "who" that is being discussed. Both observers and those who have been in the crossfire will likely have an opinion, and do so from personal experience or interaction. Speculation is more dangerous if there are no facts to support what is said. This can create a reality that is anything but.

Apr 08, 2016 11:52 PM
Rainmaker
3,053,964
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Off to read the speculation if I can find it!! 

Apr 08, 2016 11:51 PM
Rainmaker
777,488
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Absolutely!

That is what this blank square is for, for me to express myself and sometimes align that expression with the question. 

 

Apr 08, 2016 11:31 PM
Rainmaker
2,394,983
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

Could it be they don't know that they don't know?  I don't know...

Apr 09, 2016 11:05 AM
Rainer
197,857
Sharon Altier, SFR
Lawton Realty Group, Inc. - Elmhurst, IL
Your Real Estate Partner

Many posts leave out some information that would be helpful in accurately assessing the situation; so the answers may run the spectrum.  However, people all mean well in their replies and do their best to give a different perspective.  Or, someone may read a question differently and go off on a tangent that is non-related.  Can be entertaining...

Apr 09, 2016 10:04 AM
Ambassador
4,300,966
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Roger D. Mucci - happens all the time - though I can't say much about it, I know nothing....lol!

Apr 09, 2016 09:25 AM
Rainmaker
4,797,811
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Yes, it is annoying.  

Apr 09, 2016 08:15 AM
Rainmaker
3,231,462
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

facts, no opinion I say.

 

Apr 09, 2016 07:48 AM
Ambassador
2,758,551
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

Some folks like to open their mouth and show their ignorance.

Apr 09, 2016 07:43 AM
Rainmaker
2,978,932
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

There's always two side to a story.  I don't jump the gun or give my opinion until I know all the facts.

Apr 09, 2016 05:13 AM
Rainmaker
2,812,352
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

Rarely do we ever really have all the facts. Even in court rooms rarely are all the facts revealed.  Just like A holes ... we have an opinion. 

Apr 09, 2016 05:08 AM
Rainmaker
4,138,718
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

This happens a lot when there is a new agent.  If you don't know, you have to say --- I will check into this and get back to you.  

Apr 10, 2016 11:56 PM
Rainmaker
550,714
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
RE/MAX Valencia, Stevenson Ranch, Santa Clarita

If I only expressed opinion on fact it wouldn't be opinion, it'd be fact.

Apr 10, 2016 04:03 PM
Rainmaker
3,346,063
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

"Beyond my area of expertise" or "above my pay grade"!

Apr 09, 2016 10:10 PM
Rainmaker
508,095
Dan Tabit
Keller Williams Bellevue - Sammamish, WA

"My mind is made up, don't confuse me with the facts" is what I immediately thought of after reading your question.  Ideally we are all open to considering opinions other than our own, but at some point you have to have some basis to work from. 

Apr 09, 2016 05:16 PM
Rainmaker
1,258,622
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Susan Emo's comic says it all!  I try to keep my mouth shut (or is that fingers off the keyboard?) unless I can speak with knowledge/authority about something (or at least think I have that knowledge/authority).  I've been proven wrong before on here (bitcoins come to mind), but I'm man enough to admit it.

Apr 09, 2016 03:28 PM
Ambassador
4,329,372
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I know nothing, so I will have to sit back and wait for more details here Roger.

Apr 09, 2016 02:30 PM
Ambassador
2,883,934
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

opinions and a$$holes, everyone has one and some of them stink, at least that's what my grandmother told me once.

Apr 09, 2016 12:53 PM
Rainmaker
272,688
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

You probably shouldn't voice an opinion if you do not know or have the facts, though we often do Roger D. Mucci!   

Apr 09, 2016 05:02 AM
Rainmaker
742,595
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

I don't think so.

Apr 09, 2016 03:45 AM