Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,442,495
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I've had that done on properties where there are truly no comps I can use and defend. It has always worked well for me in terms of getting my listings sold at the "right" price and getting appraised by buyer's lender.

Apr 20, 2020 11:08 AM
Rainer
303,177
Don Baker
Lane Realty - Eatonton, GA
Lake Sinclair Specialist

my wife sometimes recommends it if the sellers think she's lost her mind.

Apr 20, 2020 01:27 PM
Ambassador
1,410,114
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

I find it ridiculous both before and after the sale.  We rarely have properties appraised and do not give the Appraisers the same power that you do in the US.   We don't rely on their opinions up here. 

Apr 20, 2020 09:48 AM
Rainmaker
1,426,200
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I don't see a need to hire an appraiser to estimate the value of a property prior to sale, unless it is a very unique property where the sales comp approach we all use will not apply.

Apr 20, 2020 08:55 AM
Ambassador
3,389,472
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

On occasion over many years sellers want an appraisal (for whatever reason). Also divorce attorney will want one as well.  The other reason I can think of is if the property is so unique and there are simply no comparables close by and or closed in a long period of time.

Apr 20, 2020 03:40 PM
Ambassador
5,708,458
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Like prior home inspections, they do seem to head off future problems for some.

Apr 20, 2020 12:24 PM
Rainmaker
1,349,275
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

I have had to do that for divorce sales and unique properties. 

I agree with doing it under those circumstances as it's necessary and often required.

Apr 20, 2020 12:10 PM
Ambassador
2,605,868
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

What Nina Hollander said.  I listed an older farmhouse on small acreage, 20 miles west of town.  There was no way to comp that house.  So, we brought in an appraiser to set the asking price.

Apr 20, 2020 11:47 AM
Rainmaker
2,685,152
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

They can help set value whether for sale or for lending purposes. There are some people and properties that lean on them to get started

Apr 20, 2020 10:23 AM
Rainmaker
915,098
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

"..services of a property appraiser....:

??? Hmm, they could throw in a car with with every appraisal. That is a service I could celebrate.

But in this real world the only difference between A and B is the quality of the report (not the data)  and whether the 'goal' (not value) was achieved.

The report is a heads up to the seller and agent regarding how the property should be positioned in the marketing plan. The appraiser does not help much with that.

 

Apr 20, 2020 09:57 AM
Rainmaker
5,274,028
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

There are times we have no comps, or the homeowner has added square feet.    Have had this done a few times.

Apr 20, 2020 02:24 PM
Rainmaker
602,479
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

This is helpful - especially when you have a seller who wants more than the  market dictates and it may bring him/her down to reality.

Apr 20, 2020 02:10 PM
Rainmaker
1,760,639
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Agent Retired

what are you?

Apr 20, 2020 12:07 PM
Ambassador
3,147,717
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

I've enough coffee and I just cannot dig deep enough on this to get to what you are asking here.  

Isn't an appraisal an opinion of value?  

What services prior to valuing a property?

Apr 20, 2020 10:28 AM
Rainmaker
2,052,323
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Not following your question ?

Apr 20, 2020 09:59 AM
Rainmaker
340,175
Mott Marvin Kornicki
Waterway Realtors® • Notary Public & Apostille - Sunny Isles, FL
Miami Notary & Apostille 786-229-7999

Opinion is neutral - the appraiser has a task to do. There are several reasons that one may need an appraisal for - it's not just for determining the ”value” for a mortgage loan.

Apr 20, 2020 08:43 AM
Rainmaker
6,977,553
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

I have appraised a lot of properties but am uncertain of what you are asking.

Apr 20, 2020 08:37 AM
Rainmaker
845,022
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

I don't think it's necessary unless the homeowners' idea of the worth of their home is out of line, but those homeowners would not be likely to get the appraisal anyway.

Apr 21, 2020 06:05 AM
Ambassador
4,516,332
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

If they know the area and is tough to find comparable properties, a Trust sale or an ensuing divorce, then yes.

Otherwise, I believe a good agent can value property - I mean, we share the same comps and chances are, we've actually been IN the properties and know them and the location even better than the appraisers!

Apr 20, 2020 08:31 PM
Rainmaker
524,848
Buzz Mackintosh
Mackintosh REALTORS - Frederick, MD
“Experience, reliable, leadership”

I usually recommend an appraisal for very unique properties. Estate  and divorce situations usually have had one done or are in process bt the time I get involved.

Apr 20, 2020 04:17 PM