Spam prevention
Rainmaker
887,633
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

It is in our Buyer's Inspection Notice - Broker advised it, Buyer declines, and by declining, Buyer holds everyone harmless for what might have been discovered if they hadn't. Interestingly, I have FEW - very very few who decline a professional inspection. One of the good things that came out of the boom-bust of the mid 2000s is people don't want to be screwed again by not knowing what they're getting into.

Mar 09, 2016 12:33 AM
Rainmaker
393,924
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
Movoto - Laguna Niguel, CA

I've never had a buyer decline to do an inspection.  If it happens in the future, the buyers would certainly sign something stating it is against the advice of the broker to waive inspection.  

Mar 09, 2016 12:39 AM
Ambassador
1,370,434
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

Yes, I write in right into the contract that they have declined the option to have a home inspection and are proceeding against the advice of their Realtor.  I do not want a he-said, she-said discussion in court at any point in the future. 

Mar 09, 2016 02:34 AM
Rainmaker
290,569
Allie Angeloni
Long Realty - Oro Valley, AZ

I'm sure if we had a Buyer who didn't want to do a Home Inspection (or Termite or Roof) that we would have them sign a form.  This has not come up, as everyone so far, as wanted and agreed to Inspections William Feela (both here in AZ and in CA). 

Mar 09, 2016 01:26 AM
Rainer
471,073
DEANNA C. SMITH CERTIFIED MOBILE NOTARY
Certified Mobile Notary Signing Agent - Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Highest Ranked Certified Mobile Notary in Virginia

Having a Home Inspection is a "choice" of the buyer and what they decide is their decision.   I do stress the importance of getting one and the cost savings of it vs. the cost of unforeseen repairs but I don't have an obligation to discuss it with them so NO; there is no disclosure to sign.

Mar 09, 2016 01:15 AM
Rainmaker
660,007
Abby Stiller
REMAX Realty Group - Cape Coral, FL
Professional Bilingual Realtor (239) 284-8637

I had a client that didn't want to do a home inspection. Since I suggested to perform one and they declined I definitely had them signed a release disclosure.

Mar 09, 2016 01:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,635,442
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

We often do draw up an addendum noting the buyers' non-inspection choice.

Mar 09, 2016 12:28 AM
Ambassador
5,357,189
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Absolutely.

Jun 07, 2019 09:31 PM
Rainmaker
1,280,348
Donna Foerster
HomeSmart Realty Group - Parker, CO
Metro Denver Real Estate Assistant

We strongly suggest an inspection to all of our buyers. If they don't want one, we still recommend signed the disclosure to say the reserve the right to have one. It doesn't hurt anything if they don't do it!

Sep 24, 2016 06:34 AM
Rainmaker
597,069
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential
William,
I have never had one not get an inspection. I might pay for it myself to be sure they did one.
Mar 11, 2016 04:34 AM
Rainmaker
4,882,878
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

We do not have a form that is specifically for this, but definitely have them sign a piece of paper with information stating I have advised against this decision.

Mar 11, 2016 12:59 AM
Rainmaker
1,380,283
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

There is an option in the contract to waive the inspection.  No one wants to do that, not even rehab investors.

Mar 10, 2016 04:07 AM
Rainmaker
631,812
Vern Eaton
Askov, MN
Realtor 651-674-7449

No but a good thought

Mar 10, 2016 01:34 AM
Rainmaker
4,059,091
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Yes.  

Mar 09, 2016 10:45 PM
Rainmaker
1,157,485
FN LN
Toronto, ON

Our board and provincial association developed a form a few years ago for this type of issue.

Mar 09, 2016 04:10 PM
Rainer
318,613
Melissa Jackson
Century 21 Alliance Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

If they choose not to have an inspection yes, I will document it. 

Mar 09, 2016 01:32 PM
Ambassador
4,312,753
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

William Feela - oh yes, this is a must, if they decide not to inspect the home!

I do not want them to come back after 3 years saying I recommended not to do the home inspection.

Mar 09, 2016 12:59 PM
Rainmaker
1,514,105
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

I just had this issue today, a buyer called about a roof issue, while they waved a roof inspection...

Mar 09, 2016 12:49 PM
Ambassador
2,224,117
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

You bet. This is a great way to cover yourself. 

Mar 09, 2016 11:53 AM
Ambassador
1,208,934
Amanda Christiansen
Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843 - Fort Wayne, IN
Christiansen Group Realty

100% hell yes!  If a buyer says they don't want one after we strongly encourage it, we have them sign a waiver to cover our butts.  We always recommend them unless it's one of our investors buying.  They know what they're getting.  

Mar 09, 2016 10:18 AM
Rainmaker
818,317
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Yes, some kind of acknowledgment to that effect because it is my responsibility to recommend one as it is in the buyer's strong interest to have an inspection done.

Mar 09, 2016 10:10 AM
Rainmaker
223,669
LuxurySoCalRealty San Diego
Compass - La Jolla, CA
San Diego Partner - The Private Client Network

absolutely yes

Mar 09, 2016 08:49 AM
Rainmaker
140,568
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

My broker has a form where they initial waiving the inspection.

Mar 09, 2016 08:43 AM
Rainmaker
3,995,106
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I have them sign 2 different times.  Once at the time they refuse, and then again at the final walk through

Mar 09, 2016 05:59 AM
Rainmaker
845,920
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Yes. i usually just have them intiail the HUD " For Your Protection - Get a Home Inspection" form. If they don't, that's up to them.

Mar 09, 2016 05:56 AM
Rainer
12,251
Jeannie Steele
Townsend, MT

Great question.  I do not have buyers sign a disclosure.  I think it is a great idea.

Mar 09, 2016 05:25 AM
Rainer
150,166
Michael Thacker - Re/Max Real Estate Center - Louisville
Re/Max Real Estate Center - The Thacker Group - Louisville, KY
Your best friend who just happens to be a Realtor

Its in our contracts.

Mar 09, 2016 03:49 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,481
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Yes.

Mar 09, 2016 03:32 AM
Rainmaker
580,681
Hella M. Rothwell, Broker/Realtor®
Carmel by the Sea, CA
Rothwell Realty Inc. CA#01968433 Carmel-by-the-Sea

A waiver, yes. I remember one of my buyers hiring a home inspector who did not put anything in writing! To me that was like no inspection at all. Ditto if the buyer "self inspects".

Mar 09, 2016 03:19 AM
Rainmaker
609,686
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

I think I have had only one buyer in 25 years not do an inspection and yes, I had them sign a waiver.

Our clients typically do whatever we think is important for them.

Eve

Mar 09, 2016 03:05 AM
Rainmaker
1,716,018
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

If buyer declines, I try to tell them tactfully what a bad decision that is.

I do get it in writing saying I advised against it.

Mar 09, 2016 02:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,707,423
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Yes and I am glad you being that up. I think it is a great idea for them to sign one as a liability issue.

Mar 09, 2016 01:46 AM
Rainmaker
6,540,549
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Yes.

 

Mar 09, 2016 01:45 AM
Rainmaker
1,456,727
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

William Feela Yes

Mar 09, 2016 01:14 AM
Ambassador
1,771,405
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

No Never.

Mar 09, 2016 01:12 AM
Rainmaker
1,149,009
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Often at the time of making an offer to release inspection contingiency.  They can check out the property. 98% homes are sold as is.

Mar 09, 2016 12:41 AM
Ambassador
4,557,465
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Absolutely if needed. Hasn't happened yet to me in CA

Mar 09, 2016 12:37 AM
Rainmaker
1,397,958
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

Yes as it protects us in the long run.

Mar 09, 2016 12:33 AM