Pat Mueller, Knowledgable and Experienced (Associates in Real Estate)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
5,125,640
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

did you learn your lesson???  learn to make your own phone ring...that's why you're here!!!!!  learn to market online.... and if you're a listing agent, you MUST learn to market with direct mail marketing....listings are found with offline marketing and direct mail is best.... it's a numbers game.... I do print also and it all contributes to branding the name as listing agents... we get calls from many sources... 

so my vote is to dump them.... 

Oct 18, 2017 02:58 PM
Ambassador
3,983,773
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I was a member of RESNET and paid that fee. I was doing BPO's at that time and many of the companies/banks I worked with placed their properties in the RESNET system so if I was to work with them , and get their listing, I had to pay the fee.  Besides the membership fee, all listings either had a referral fee or a reduced commission so once I figured out that I could spend my time and money on regular real estate and make more money with less frustration I gave it up. I have not regretted it one single time.

 

Oct 18, 2017 05:09 PM
Rainmaker
750,252
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

You tell me. Has there been any return on this investment?

Oct 18, 2017 02:32 PM
Rainmaker
854,916
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

Um, you really need an opinoin on this or are you looking for validation that you've already wasted $700 and sure, go ahead and do it again?

 

Oct 18, 2017 05:27 PM
Ambassador
2,914,007
Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS
Phoenix Property Shoppe - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

Doesn't sound like a wise investment to me.

Oct 18, 2017 03:58 PM
Rainmaker
148,157
Esther Preston
Heartland Realty - Redmond, OR

Run and don't look back!!!!! 

Oct 18, 2017 05:05 PM
Rainmaker
3,431,570
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Interesting.   I'm sorry you have this experience.  It sounds like an expensive YET valuable lesson.   

Oct 18, 2017 04:50 PM
Rainmaker
389,660
Susie Kay
Ultima Real Estate - Plano, TX
North Dallas Specialist

So has the seller list the home with you?  If so, then it's already yours and you have paid their subscription. I don't know what else they want. Even if seller has not listed with you, the lead was already sent to you.  You have seller's number and address.

Oct 18, 2017 03:03 PM
Ambassador
4,376,558
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Sounds like they ripped you off and are attempting to compound it.

Are they really a part of your listing agreement with your client? 

  • Most of these are just between the broker and the client. 
  • They should have no power once the listing has been secured.

Have your brokers attny educate them.

Oct 18, 2017 08:48 PM
Rainmaker
2,827,766
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

I am sorry you got sucked into that web of real estate "prostitution" of agents.  Take the lesson and move on.  Let them take the listing and put it where the sun does not shine. 

Oct 18, 2017 06:44 PM
Ambassador
1,666,620
Alan May
Jameson Sotheby's International Realty - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

I don't understand how you'll lose the listing.  If  your seller wants to keep you, and your listing agreement allows... how can they interfere??

Oct 18, 2017 06:12 PM
Rainmaker
1,222,567
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Run hustle, skidaddle as fast as you can. Never pay to play their game.  

Oct 18, 2017 05:54 PM
Ambassador
2,364,510
Fred Griffin, on leave of absence from ActiveRain
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

   I don't understand that site.   Was it your REO, or their REO?  

Oct 18, 2017 03:17 PM
Rainer
245,357
J.R. Schloemer, CRS
Kentucky Select Properties - Louisville, KY

Never been a fan of "services" like this. To me, I feel they are in the business of selling agents junk. I was with a broke before that signed up with something similar, and they "leads" were horrible and they had to have been buying information from Equifax or somewhere similar.

Oct 18, 2017 02:50 PM
Rainmaker
759,322
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Addios res.net. You won't be missed.

Oct 18, 2017 02:36 PM
Rainmaker
4,580,075
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Pat,

I think would have been better served by using that $700 in generating your own leads.  And no, it is not acceptable to to pay more ib my opinion.  A

Oct 18, 2017 08:50 PM
Rainer
304,654
Melissa Jackson
Citiwide Alliance Realty - Weatherford, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

So to keep your listing you have to stay a paid member?  Sounds like it's time to say goodbye! 

Oct 18, 2017 08:47 PM
Ambassador
4,073,837
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Sounds like you are being held hostage. Good for others to know about just in case. Sorry this has happened to you!!

Oct 18, 2017 08:33 PM
Rainmaker
451,219
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

cut your losses.

Oct 18, 2017 07:56 PM
Rainmaker
1,265,262
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

So you paid $700 for a listing that didn't sell.  Did you get that listing on day 1 or day 179?  Not sure how they can control if the seller keeps you on or not.  What does your LISTING AGREEMENT say?

 

Is the house priced well?  Will it sell?  How much will you make off of it?

 

If the house is priced right and ready to sell and they snuck some screwy clause into the listing agreement that tells the seller what to do and you've had the listing for a short time and can make 5 figures on the sale and can guarantee it'll be closed w/in 6 months... I'd pony up the $700 (or the $325 if you keep the listing) close the sale and then tell them to go fly a kite!

 

If any of those are "No", I'd run for the hills and take the lesson learned of Don't buy leads.  If RES.net is the seller, not much you can do.  If a regular person is the seller, RES.net may not be able to pull the listing from you if you have time on your contract.  Check with a lawyer on that one.

 

 

Oct 18, 2017 06:05 PM
Rainmaker
351,362
Jay McHugh
SendOutCards-Appreciation Marketing Expert - Boston, MA
YOUR SendOutCard Mentor

there are far better ways to use your energy and skill.......

Oct 19, 2017 02:21 AM
Rainmaker
5,511,443
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Learn from you mistake.

Oct 18, 2017 06:01 PM
Rainmaker
3,130,175
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Sorry I don't understand how you lose the listing.

Oct 18, 2017 02:28 PM
Ambassador
4,301,228
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Sooner the better!

Jun 15, 2018 09:41 PM
Rainmaker
1,560,516
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

As Barbara Todaro wrote.  Heck for that price I will give you 10 leads!

Oct 20, 2017 01:51 PM
Rainmaker
1,117,273
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Barbara Todaro has your answer....

Oct 19, 2017 04:42 PM
Rainmaker
3,054,334
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

HERE IS THE PROBLEM - You do not get listings because you subscribe to res.net. It can happen, but if 1 a year is rare. You get bank owned listings by earning them, most often doing bpos, doing them quick, correct and showing your experience of REO through your bpos. The problem is that yes, you need to be subscribed to res.net to get listings from the banks/asset management companies that use it. BUT res.net is not the only game in town. I use 2 other platforms for REO listings that other banks and asset management companies use. Their fees are much less, but there is always fees in REO. You have to decide if you are going to go get listings and make it worth while. Or you will wait for them to come and as you see get 1 a year. I get 2-3 a month on average these days, down from the boom reo days but still good to get. I complete at least 2 bpos a day every day. I have to make time to keep the reo listings coming. Any new REO agent should know, most banks already have their favorites who are doing a good job so getting a listing for the first time will be really hard these days, not impossible, but you do have to earn it, nothing is just given out

Oct 19, 2017 05:40 AM
Rainmaker
3,218,451
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

That's what happens when you buy these kinds of leads... did you read the contract you signed super carefully. They may just have you over the barrell.

Oct 19, 2017 03:52 AM
Rainmaker
3,054,229
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ

Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA nailed this one!

Oct 19, 2017 03:47 AM
Ambassador
3,448,721
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

Unbelievable! Dump them and find your own listings - don't let them hold you hostage!

Oct 18, 2017 09:55 PM
Rainmaker
3,983,763
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Should never had bought into any kiond of pay for lead deal

Oct 18, 2017 05:45 PM
Rainmaker
4,162,576
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Sorry, have not ever paid for leads, and never will.   Money out the window!  

Oct 22, 2017 09:27 AM
Rainmaker
661,763
Paul Antonelli
Antonelli Realty - Saint Cloud, FL
Broker Owner; Antonelli Realty

sounds like a rip off to me. 

Oct 20, 2017 05:56 AM
Rainmaker
745,835
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Was it worth it for you?

Oct 20, 2017 05:46 AM
Ambassador
2,897,417
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I have an agent who has been with them for 19 years.  She gets about 20 listings annually via them and it's well worth the $700 fee she pays annually.  Of course she was an REO agent long before it was popular 10 years ago.  And many of her asset managers use res.net 

Oct 19, 2017 03:28 PM
Rainmaker
418,623
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

I was not familiar with this company and no one from my brokerage has used them as well.  Interesting comments from everyone.

Oct 19, 2017 11:25 AM
Rainmaker
1,513,521
Beth Atalay
Cam Realty and Property Management - Clermont, FL
Cam Realty of Clermont FL

Sorry you wasted your hard earned money, don't look back, just move on do not pay them another penny or any company that promises you leads in the future. Spend your money on marketing.
If you want to get into REO business, start doing BPO's for reputable companies, remember, there are no promises but they will get used to seeing your name on the reports.

Oct 19, 2017 09:22 AM
Rainmaker
1,371,144
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Cut your losses and run!

Oct 19, 2017 08:18 AM
Rainmaker
4,797,884
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Run and do not look back.

Oct 19, 2017 06:54 AM
Rainmaker
1,384,627
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Pat Mueller I think you have gotten a better ROI elsewhere.

Oct 19, 2017 06:39 AM
Rainmaker
3,370,941
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Do not throw more good money after bad. 

Oct 19, 2017 06:29 AM
Rainmaker
206,420
Chuck Mixon
The Keyes Company - Cutler Bay, FL
Cutler Bay Specialist, GRI, CDPE, BPOR

I did a few years back and had the same results. I stopped and the subscription, and moved on.

Oct 19, 2017 05:43 AM
Rainmaker
1,958,570
Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573
MOOERS REALTY - Houlton, ME
Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker

Barbara Todaro is right. That is a big hole in your purse and a poor ROI.

Oct 19, 2017 05:37 AM
Rainmaker
569,610
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

That's an expensive lead and I think your moeny could be better spent somewhere else.

Oct 19, 2017 05:17 AM
Rainmaker
1,558,894
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

You have a valid contract with that seller not with res.net. I'd tell them to shove it. They don't have a leg to stand on in my state.

Oct 19, 2017 05:15 AM
Rainmaker
648,820
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

Opinion?  RUN!  Spend your hard earned $$ on more effective ways of generating future income.   It's interesting that many of us throw money at strangers but don't invest much in relationships right in front of us....  Take someone to coffee, book a lunch, schedule a dinner, host a client appreciation event...  & embrace Barbara Todaro's tried and true marketing initiatives.  

Oct 19, 2017 05:04 AM
Rainmaker
1,847,404
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Crooks!

Oct 19, 2017 04:21 AM
Ambassador
1,656,841
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Remember the definition of insanity.

Oct 19, 2017 04:00 AM
Rainmaker
4,432,467
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Good luck.

Oct 19, 2017 02:35 AM
Rainmaker
1,501,042
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

It depends what the commission on that one single listing. Will it be enough to cover your investment in them+ marketing+ IRS and get some money home?

Oct 18, 2017 10:55 PM