Peter Mohylsky, Let me help you find your path to the beach.  (PrimeSouth Properties)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,239,291
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

In California ALL HOMES are sold as-is.  It's in the state contracts.  Repairs can be requested but the owner is under no obligation to do anything.  I've also represented buyers on countless "as-is, where-is" purchases with no inspections and you're lucky if you can drive by it.

Sep 09, 2019 07:51 AM
Rainmaker
769,471
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

I've sold a few properties As Is Where Is with All Faults. ANd have priced the property appropriately. The Buyers were aware and accepting of the conditions. 

Sep 09, 2019 08:00 AM
Rainmaker
3,018,004
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

"As us" is a legal term, and the contract we are required to use is an "As is" contract.  That does not stop a buyer for asking for repairs and a seller has the option to agree or not.

Sep 09, 2019 07:44 AM
Rainmaker
533,491
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

In central florida all listing agents want an "as is" contract so the repair clause contracts are no longer popular.

I always have a contingency in the contract for inspections and anything else that may be pertinent to the property...like the survey, appraisal, insurance etc.  That allows a disatisfied buyer to either renegotiate the contract or walk away.  I find that most sellers do not want the buyer to walk.

For the most part, I do not want the seller to fix problems.  Sellers will either cheap out, fix only part, and many times do a crap job...so I prefer a buyer credit.

It is very rare that the buyer dos not ask for something after inspections, but that has also happened.

"As is" contracts do not turn off my buyers, because I have already informed them about how RE is sold in this area. 

Eve

Sep 09, 2019 07:31 AM
Rainmaker
403,479
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

We sold a lot of "as is" properties during the recession with many being foreclosures.  For some buyers, they may consider it a deal. They still have the right to do an inspection and discover any issues.

Sep 09, 2019 07:16 AM
Rainmaker
1,543,485
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Geneva Financial, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Yup. Motivated sellers will negotiate repairs/credits after the inspection regardless of the AS-IS Contract

Sep 09, 2019 08:19 AM
Rainmaker
705,588
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Oh God YES. MANY over the years. We've had to retool deals on occasion with REOs and non-distressed sellers, but yeah. As-Is = 'the condition the property was in at the time of the deal'.

It is ON THE BUYER/BUYER'S AGENT to determine as much as possible about the property PRIOR TO deal and during DD period.
I used to have this conversation during the 'big bada boom' with investors who wanted to 'tie up the property then renegotiate the deal later'  . . . let's operate on the premise that seller knows NOTHING or WON'T tell us ALL and find out for ourselves, make a fair deal and proceed.
If something truly arises unforeseen, then yeah. Even if it's a bank we can try to work it out. And sometimes, we can.

Otherwise, as-is is as-is till it's not.
I just went through this over the past week. Do the math before you go in!

Sep 09, 2019 08:01 AM
Rainmaker
3,337,620
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

As my my fellow Californians know the "as is" purchase agreement has been around our state for a number of years.  No transaction is created exactly equal it seems when it comes to interpretation of this contract.  Some buyers are "freaked" by things that others see as "normal".  

Sep 09, 2019 08:35 AM
Rainmaker
1,606,860
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor

Anytime a Seller tells me to list it "as is" I explain why that can only happen with a cash buyer and then I ask them if they want to sit around that long and wait for one Peter Mohylsky .

Sep 09, 2019 08:17 AM
Rainmaker
746,050
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Yes, some buyers were builders or contractors and were capable of determining what the houses needed on their own. They were usually buying them as investments and to rent out to their employees. All auction properties are sold as is.

Sep 09, 2019 07:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,322,599
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

What Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA said.  In my experience "as is" usually meant the seller couldn't afford to or wouldn't pay for any repairs, whether disclosed or not. It didn't mean they were hiding anything or that they refused to allow an inspection at the buyers expense.  The property needs to be priced accordingly. 

Sep 09, 2019 10:54 AM
Ambassador
2,861,987
Anna Banana Kruchten CRB, CRS 602-380-4886
Phoenix Property Shoppe - Phoenix, AZ
Arizona's Top Banana!

Yes we have in particular during the down market of 08 to 11. Most bank owned homes were sold 'as is' with no repairs period! -Many buyers were investors and understood the risks plus, holy smokes the prices were ridiculously low. Super buys at that period in time.

Sep 09, 2019 10:46 AM
Rainmaker
2,791,480
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

YES. In my market in California ... ALL are sold "as is". 

I cannot recall a seller ever being asked to correct issues and if they were asked the seller declined. 

No. Buyers expect it here. 

Some might. Buyers getting their own inspections might help resolve any concerns a buyer may have. 

Sep 09, 2019 09:39 AM
Ambassador
3,990,644
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I've had several homes where buyers did not ask for any repairs. I've only had 1 where there was no inspection (buyer was a developer).

Sep 09, 2019 07:17 AM
Rainmaker
548,798
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

Every short sale or foreclosure I represented clients in were sold As Is. It's the standard on those type deals. It's up to the buyer to do their due diligence before committing. 

Sep 09, 2019 10:27 AM
Rainmaker
4,450,047
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Peter,

It is the California way, as both Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA and Michael Jacobs expressed.  A

Sep 09, 2019 09:27 AM
Rainmaker
3,097,293
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Sure I have... short sales and foreclosure sales are strictly as is. Beyond that, our contract states that the property is being sold as is -- that's not an option. What's an option is for the seller to agree to certain repairs.

Sep 09, 2019 08:52 AM
Rainmaker
1,834,153
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

I have seen Sellers make repairs on an AS-IS Sale when the repair was an expense/ serious one that might have forced the Buyer to walk.

Sep 09, 2019 08:16 AM
Rainmaker
1,122,861
Valeria Mola
SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty

Sometimes we could get some money after inspection. 

Again, sometimes. Not very often. 

Sep 09, 2019 01:59 PM
Rainmaker
653,264
Paul Antonelli
Antonelli Realty - Saint Cloud, FL
Broker Owner; Antonelli Realty

I have sold plenty that way and actually bought one that way too. 

Sep 09, 2019 12:17 PM
Rainmaker
1,535,036
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

yes & no. I've had foreclosures fix things if they got bad enough.

I do think that the phrase 'as is' paints a stain over the house in most people's minds. 

Buyers usually think all the crazy stuff they want. I try to put a stop to it. You can 'what if' a house to death if you want.

Sep 09, 2019 11:05 AM
Rainmaker
5,384,626
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Many. Investors tend to be the best prospects.

Sep 09, 2019 08:58 AM
Rainmaker
4,997,540
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

the majority of the time, an "as is" property is due to the seller's poor financial state.... if there's no money for repairs, it's "as is".... 

Sep 09, 2019 08:07 AM
Rainmaker
1,558,051
Evelina Tsigelnitskaya
SIB Realty - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
www.SIBRealty.org 305-931-6931

Most of them AS IS

Sep 11, 2019 06:12 AM
Ambassador
3,315,375
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

All homes in NC are sold 'as-is' per the Contract. It's up to the sellers if they want to remedy any issues found on an inspection. If they don't want to make repairs, it is then up to the buyer as to whether they want to move forward or not.

Sep 09, 2019 11:35 AM
Rainmaker
2,455,814
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

AS-IS is a representative conditional state of sale. To make it hold up in litigation add: AS-DISCLOSED to it. Now, we are clearer & nearer to sale or no sale which is what is intended by seller to the public. AS-IS AS- DISCLOSED

Sep 09, 2019 10:41 AM
Rainmaker
1,015,187
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

100% of properties I sold here have been AS IS for years.   Unless the agent is not skilled we never deal with concession. Last closing, I told the buyer agent that there are no inspection done yet. Can complete one but expect no issues. Owner looked at the lists of items done said that is fine. When pointed at defets it is already factored in the price. 

Sep 09, 2019 09:31 AM
Rainmaker
623,610
Carla Freund
Keller Williams Preferred Realty - Raleigh, NC
Raleigh - Cary Triangle Real Estate 919-602-8489

Not always. Our contract state buyers can get inspections but, sellers are not required to make any repairs. It is negotiable and if a buyer is getting a good dear or if there are tons of offers, a seller may refuse to do repairs. Perfectly acceptable. Buyer has the option then to move forward, walk away or try to convince the seller to do some repairs. 

Sep 10, 2019 05:55 AM
Rainmaker
761,266
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

The problem with "As Is' is agents don't know what 'As Is' means.

The agent with an 'AS IS' listing should advise buyer to complete inspection before submitting offer. Don't even want to hear about the content of the inspection. PERIOD!  That is what 'AS IS' means.

Agents, however, violate the intent with ''keep the deal together" or limit seller obligations.

Sep 10, 2019 05:28 AM
Ambassador
1,974,101
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

The majority of our contracts are "as is" with inspection/cancellation clauses to protect buyer.  

Sep 10, 2019 04:58 AM
Rainmaker
3,278,456
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

"As is" means no repairs! Let the negotiations begin!

Sep 10, 2019 04:32 AM
Ambassador
3,103,752
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
RE/MAX Northwest. - Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Washington Agent/Broker & Market Authority!

I have never had a problem addressing this...

Sep 09, 2019 10:36 PM
Ambassador
1,641,860
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Never have.

Sep 09, 2019 06:43 PM
Rainmaker
1,305,044
Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl
Samsel & Associates - Clark, NJ
The Last Names You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

Short sales are always sold as is in NJ.

Sep 09, 2019 01:32 PM
Rainmaker
3,171,781
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Some sellers are just cheap and do not want to fix anything in a seller market.

 

Sep 15, 2019 08:30 AM
Rainmaker
680,384
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

Depends on the dynamics of the market. In the recent multi-offer, up moving market, many properties sole "as-is" with NO contingencies because that was the only was the buyers could prevail over other buyers.

Now, we are seeing many more negotiations in which seller make repairs, concessions or credits in order to hold transactions together.

Sep 13, 2019 10:37 PM